SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 31, 2011, 02:31 PM
Registered User
Goofy23's Avatar
Hamburg, Germany
Joined Jan 2011
1,075 Posts
Discussion
Flyduino Mega , a Multiwii/Ardupirates/Aeroquad based aerial video platform FC

The Flyduino,
is avaiable at www.flyduino.com

http://multiwii.googlecode.com/svn/t...20Flyduino.png

Most actual shematic for the Flyduino!
Thanks Berkely

Pinout for Multiwii showen here (many thanks Alex):
https://spreadsheets0.google.com/pub...EE&output=html

Based on the fantastic work of Alex and Oleg.
Alex famous www.multiwii.com
Oleg aka Syberian also did a fantastic job in improving the Ardupirates code and supporting the Flyduino.

With a Arduino Pro, you can only drive a quad and a regular receiver.
For the use of a Hexa or some Cam stabilisation you have to use a ppm reciever to free some ins.
With the Flyduino this problems are solved, you can fly all configurations avaiable and dont have to worry about too few ins and outs.
This also true if one day the Multiwii Soft will support a octo config, which will be only possible with a Mega board and you then can still use your regular RX and handle some servos on it.

Org WMP and BMA020 on 100hz

FFIMU on 400HZ






Oleg made a quick drawing for the Megapirate
http://static.rcgroups.net/forums/at...g?d=1306981431

Thanks to Hogster a shematic for the Flyduino 1.1


this shows the serial change for Flyduino V 2.0







A redesigned Arduino Mega, which suits more our needs.
It is only 5x5cm with the MK standard holes.
You dont need a Breakout anymore for the cpu Board, cause you can stick everything directly, like ESC, RC,GPS (JPS connectors missing right now, have to order).

-I brought out all PWM which are avaiable for Octos, Servos, whatever.

-All serials (2 have pinheaders, one have a JST Connector) are brought out for GPS, LCD, wireless Data.

-Analog In 8-15 are for remote controller with a 3 row pinheader.

-D30-D33 are digital out for whatever you need it.

This picture is taken without connected Sensors.


its proved see the kinderkram post
MultiMega FlyduinoMega Freeflight IMU - Outdoor Maiden Flight (2 min 55 sec)

The Pinheaders should be soldered by the customer, but the pinheaders ARE delivered with the Flyduino.
It a relatively easy solder job.
To make it clear you will get a Flyduino KIT with pinheaders but you have to solder yourself those supplied pinheaders.
You will need a FTDI for using it with the Arduino IDE.
I use a FTDI Basic myself, i think its the best, cause he will reset automatically.

Thanks to Jussi, there is a very good size comparsion
http://static.rcgroups.net/forums/at...g?d=1298106491

Berkelys very good diagramms are very helpfull when connecting the flyduino
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1340771
http://multiwii.googlecode.com/svn/t...hox%20edit.png
The Flyduino is prelimary ATM!!
Ther diagramm shows the changes in soft warthox did for a ppm receiver


A great video from Norf
FlyduSpider with Flyduino FC (2 min 43 sec)

Ardupirates Flyduino Evening Flight (3 min 10 sec)


FlyduSpider Fun Fly (3 min 22 sec)

Another Video which deserves the first page, thanks Warthox.
mwc hexa - flyduspider aerobatics (2 min 50 sec)

mwc mini hexa - flyduino + ff imu+ wind (2 min 43 sec)

mwc mini hexa - flyduino + ff imu 1.22 (3 min 48 sec)


Also a great Demo, thanks Jussi.
MWC level test part2 (1 min 6 sec)


To complete the Flyduino i did a Power distribution board and a Sensor BOB for it.
The Sensor BOB have a LLC onboard.


Top of the BOB for the FFIMU from Jussi


Bottom of the BOB for WMP+ and BMA020


And new, the GPSBOB for the FMP04 GPS Module , PirateGPS.
All adapted for our needs.


Shop page
is www.flyduino.com

This is a cheap BMA020 and WMP+ mounted.

This is a tower showen as example.

Here you can see a Jumper if you want to use the 5V from the ESC.





This the link to a modified Multiwii 1.7, which have the Cam Gimbal on Pin 44-46, the momentary dev. version allready have this feature.
http://www.file-upload.net/download-...dMEGA.zip.html
(outdated, new version of Alex contains the pinout)

Divide et Impera manual here
http://www.file-upload.net/download-...PERA2.pdf.html

Great Video Tutorial for the MWC and WMP+
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=IRfEnhzPkJ8
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=BwL076avrH0
USB UART on Bottom of the Flyduino Mega
Goofy23 is offline Find More Posts by Goofy23
Last edited by Goofy23; Jan 06, 2012 at 02:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 31, 2011, 02:41 PM
Friend is a 4 letter word...
JussiH's Avatar
3rd stone from the sun
Joined May 2007
2,671 Posts
Thumbs up! Looking good in real life....!

Jussi
JussiH is offline Find More Posts by JussiH
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 31, 2011, 02:46 PM
Registered User
Goofy23's Avatar
Hamburg, Germany
Joined Jan 2011
1,075 Posts
Thanks Jussi, will ad better pictures (didnt want to change the optic) and more explanation later.
I am proud it seems to work on the first try, at least i can program it, but have driver problems now...............

As you can see pin12 on the I2C is now 3,3V, which is good for Wii Sensors and good enough to give a high signal to your voltage regulator
Goofy23 is offline Find More Posts by Goofy23
Last edited by Goofy23; Jan 31, 2011 at 02:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2011, 02:51 PM
SILURIA / UK
Shikra's Avatar
United Kingdom
Joined Jun 2009
2,444 Posts
V nice! Seriously
Shikra is offline Find More Posts by Shikra
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: MultiWii OSD - MWOSD NG
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2011, 02:57 PM
xxxxxxxxxxxxx
JUERGEN_'s Avatar
Deutschland
Joined Nov 2009
660 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goofy23 View Post


This is my newest Projekt, a redesigned Arduino Mega, which suits more our needs.
It is only 5x5cm.
You dont need a Breakout, cause you can stick everything directly, like ESC, Remote,GPS (There are most of the pinheaders and JPS connectors missing right now, dont have all parts here).

Pin 12 goes directly in in the 3.3V voltage regulaqtor for using wii sensors but i plan to use it with the I2C Jussi Board.
Will say more later.
At the moment i can say i can programm it with AVRStudio but have to check some things, f.e. have some problems now with the FTDI and also the Jango Drivers.
ich hätte lieber einen ATXMEGA gesehen ?
aber man kann nicht alles haben.

approximately translated ;
I would rather have seen a ATXMEGA?
but you can not have it all.
JUERGEN_ is offline Find More Posts by JUERGEN_
Last edited by JUERGEN_; Jan 31, 2011 at 03:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2011, 03:00 PM
Registered User
Goofy23's Avatar
Hamburg, Germany
Joined Jan 2011
1,075 Posts
I asked for a 2560 before i planned this, but at the moment we can not use the aditional memory we are stuck at 128kb.
So the 2560 wont bring anything to us and in the end its no problem, cause he is pin compatible, so i only have to press a buy button.
But why, it is the same chip exept the memory which we cant use and it really not that problematic to lay a2560 on board before reflow soldering, dont ya?.

Sorry overead you mean the ATXMega, it a good chip, but a bit too far away from the established route, Alex can not write his code for every chip.
That explains it a bit, sorry its german
Quote:
Der Xmega hat ein paar nette Features, aber ich weiß nicht, ob du diese für dein Projekt überhaupt benötigst. Im Vergleich zu Atmega: 12Bit ADC, 12Bit DAC (bei beiden musst du Offset und Gain kalibrieren, damit du 12bit erreichtst), jede Menge USARTs, mehrere SPI und TWI, DMA, komplexeres Interruptsystem, das Clocksystem ist komplizierter aber flexibler als bei Atmega (bis 32MHz), Konfiguration der Portpins ist flexibler (pullup, pulldown, tristate, bus-keeper...), jede Menge 16 Bit Timer, soweit was mir gerade dazu einfällt. Programmiert wird nicht mehr über ISP, sondern über PDI oder JTAG.
Goofy23 is offline Find More Posts by Goofy23
Last edited by Goofy23; Feb 01, 2011 at 11:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2011, 03:09 PM
Registered User
Goofy23's Avatar
Hamburg, Germany
Joined Jan 2011
1,075 Posts
Hmm ican programm him over the ICSP Header no problem, but have to read about the fuse settings, maybe thats the problem why my FTDI dont work.
Are here any Arduino specialist?
I did a lot circuits before, also dealt with some MPU´s and their circuits but the arduino world is new to me so may someone can help out a bit?
Goofy23 is offline Find More Posts by Goofy23
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2011, 04:35 PM
Fabio Varesano
fax8's Avatar
Torino, Italy
Joined Jan 2011
419 Posts
For Femtoduino, I used ArduinoISP to burn the bootloader and then I simply connected it to a Duemilanove without the uC to upload the programs. The video linked above show it at the end.

Note that you have to connect also the reset/dst of the FTDI.
fax8 is offline Find More Posts by fax8
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2011, 04:37 PM
OS Sponsor
kinderkram's Avatar
Germany, NRW, Dusseldorf
Joined Jun 2010
5,251 Posts
Looks like we have a candidate...

... to take care of our new baby. I mean Jussi's baby.

Concerning your problem: you should have integrated a mini usb like I told ya.
Nu ham mer den Schlamassel....
kinderkram is offline Find More Posts by kinderkram
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2011, 05:55 PM
Registered User
Goofy23's Avatar
Hamburg, Germany
Joined Jan 2011
1,075 Posts
ne nix schlamassel, wie bist du denn druf

No no real problem, i have just figure out some things, maybe more a driver problem on my side (microsoft factor).
I also have problems with my nano and my mega clone which have usb, so give me a few hours.

My problem a.t, is i am a bit over , didnt slept much last night.
So i dont know how much my brain will realize anymore.

The final solution will be a light and small cable going outside the copter to the ftdi, i am thinking of plain old Futaba/Graupner Servo connectors.
dont like mini USB, cause its hard to reach when its mounted on a pcb inside a copter, but may it works good with your great (really) frame Norbert, dont know?
I really had too much broken mini-usb plugs in my life, a real good thing will be something like a mini xlr.
One original Arduino Nano arrived straight with a broken mini-USB, no joke, was no fun to solder some wires there instead, believe me.
Hi Fab
I tried a ArduinoISP but this not worked for me, pls have in mind i have to learn here, thats why i asked.
The Arduino World is good documentated, but lots to read and many possible aproaches.
First thing i have to decide for a programming systen Arduino, AVR Studio, or this third i forgot.
I can take a nano a mega or a AVRISP MKII clone, many many choices.
I would be niche if someone can look on the pinout posted above, thanks.
Goofy23 is offline Find More Posts by Goofy23
Last edited by Goofy23; Jan 31, 2011 at 06:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2011, 07:01 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Dec 2010
11,764 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goofy23 View Post
One original Arduino Nano arrived straight with a broken mini-USB, no joke, was no fun to solder some wires there instead, believe me.
People need to realize smt mini-usb plugs suck and just use through-hole ones.
timecop is offline Find More Posts by timecop
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Jan 31, 2011, 08:49 PM
Registered User
Goofy23's Avatar
Hamburg, Germany
Joined Jan 2011
1,075 Posts
my windows on my laptop seems to be ****** up.
I resinstall and will figure out the rest tomorrow it seems to be only my stupdness and little bit windows xp, thats all.
I am not able to burn with the ArduinoIDE and my AVRISP MKII, failure.
allready deinstalled the AVRSTUDIO and Jango driver, but still no sucess.
I mena this is no problem with especially my board i also have a nano and a mega here which is the same.
After the reinstall i may try AVRdude, ca tomorrow, really tired now.
Goofy23 is offline Find More Posts by Goofy23
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2011, 01:25 AM
multicrasher
toshirotamigi's Avatar
Rome, Italy
Joined Dec 2010
39 Posts
You can always try to program the device directly using ISP, bypassing the bootloader.
To do this you only need to change the
upload.using=bootloader
option in the arduino preference.txt file and put the name of the programmer you are using.
In this way just connect the ISP cable and do upload from the arduino ide.
i used this for some tests on a 644 board i'm working on and it works very well.
At least in osx the file is located in <home>/library/Arduino/preferences.txt
in the arduino program folder there is a "programmer.txt" file that lists all the isp programmer configured with arduino.
toshirotamigi is offline Find More Posts by toshirotamigi
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2011, 09:59 AM
Registered User
Goofy23's Avatar
Hamburg, Germany
Joined Jan 2011
1,075 Posts
Back again.
Thanks toshirotamigi, will try to edit that.
I am able to burn with AVR Studio, but didnt figured the right fuse settings out, so i went back to ArduinoIDE cause he will do fuse settings automatically but it has problems with the jungo driver.
I now have a fresh reinstall on my testing laptop, i will avoid using AVRStudio and will try your hint first.
Goofy23 is offline Find More Posts by Goofy23
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2011, 10:12 AM
Fabio Varesano
fax8's Avatar
Torino, Italy
Joined Jan 2011
419 Posts
Paul, did you burn the bootloader into the ATMEGA? you need that to use the Arduino IDE through the FTDI.
fax8 is offline Find More Posts by fax8
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Please let me introduce myself jimaquo Dock Talk 7 Oct 27, 2010 02:27 AM
Let me introduce the DEMON!!!! (Transparent covering and eliptical wing!!!) modest-master Sport Planes 7 Aug 25, 2002 11:46 PM
Let me introduce Angelis 280/400, Benjamin, Zombi (ARFs) modest-master Parkflyers 17 Mar 14, 2002 01:20 PM
Let me introduce the "NIKE" modest-master Electric Sailplanes 3 Mar 07, 2002 05:20 AM