SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 14, 2013, 07:09 PM
Team 3DHS / Team JR
Bivens's Avatar
United States, TN, Knoxville
Joined Apr 2010
4,470 Posts
Don't worry though...on low rates or if you just take it easy on the sticks...this Bype tracks VERY well!! It's only scary tumbly on high rates
Bivens is offline Find More Posts by Bivens
RCG Plus Member
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 14, 2013, 07:40 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,187 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bivens View Post
Don't worry though...on low rates or if you just take it easy on the sticks...this Bype tracks VERY well!! It's only scary tumbly on high rates
No schnitt!!! But my problem was I thought I "was" on low rate!!... To nail the tail down when taxiing back from our runway to the start-up area, I always hold full up elevator on high rates, then switch to low. I forgot to switch to low, even though I thought I had...and, as noted, even though I could have sworn, I had set my aileron rates, I had not.......scared me but good!!

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by SteveT.; Jan 15, 2013 at 01:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2013, 10:45 AM
Team Twisted!
hone1er's Avatar
United States, CA, Hercules
Joined Dec 2011
4,278 Posts
Bype in the classifieds
hone1er is online now Find More Posts by hone1er
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2013, 04:24 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,187 Posts
You sure like to sell your 3DHS plane Joe!!....

SteveT.
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by SteveT.; Jan 18, 2013 at 04:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 08:32 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,187 Posts
Ok....got the battery box redesigned, and laser cut, and it works fine. I haven't actually installed it permanently, but I did insert it in, and it fits, and will now work as designed.

As noted, I ave not screwed/glued it in yet, so the photos from the inside show it just sitting there, and are as you can see not straight. Quite truthfully, I don't know if there is a real need to glue it in, as I designed it with plenty of screw holes in it, so it can just be screwed to the existing battery tray.

And, yes, if folks are interested, I can have a batch made up. The second set I have is for "Inverted-I-fly"...

SteveT.
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 08:42 PM
inverted-i-fly
3drcparts's Avatar
United States, CA, Petaluma
Joined Mar 2011
4,418 Posts
Steve that looks great, really nicely done. PM coming your way so I can pay you for the one you made for me
3drcparts is online now Find More Posts by 3drcparts
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 08:57 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,187 Posts
Thanks my friend....I think it will make a good plane even better!!

SteveT.
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 10:40 PM
Well, now that you know ...
Bigster's Avatar
Grafton, Massachusetts, United States
Joined Sep 2004
5,740 Posts
That's great, Steve! Nicely done. I'm in.
Bigster is online now Find More Posts by Bigster
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 10:47 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,187 Posts
Ok.... To get any kind of a break on them, I need to order six of them, so, with Priority shipping to you guys, I need to get $20.00 for them...That sound ok?

SteveT.
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2013, 11:57 PM
What?!? I didn't do that!
gremlin's Avatar
Orchard Park, NY
Joined Dec 2002
267 Posts
Looks good Steve. Do you have the inside dimensions? Not sure how my Gens Ace 4S 2500s compare in size to the Thunder Power packs.
gremlin is offline Find More Posts by gremlin
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 12:11 AM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,187 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gremlin View Post
Looks good Steve. Do you have the inside dimensions? Not sure how my Gens Ace 4S 2500s compare in size to the Thunder Power packs.
I built this around Thunder Power 4S 45C 2700mAH packs...however, I also made the box portion a about an 1/8" higher than the TP pack, and also about 3/16" wider...and, due to the angle I put in the top, you can just out a little bit of foam at the front and due to the angle there will be more clearance. Give me a few minutes to get on my desktop computer and I will give you comparison specs....

SteveT.
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 12:30 AM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,187 Posts
The TP packs are....29mm high x 39mm wide x 127 long, or 1.185" high X 1.568" wide X 5,130" long, and the Gens Ace packs are...24.35mm high X 42.84mm wide X 137.77mm long, it would be snug, but it should fit. And since I have to have a new batch made, I can widen them, just a bit, so, no problems at all.

But man...they made those packs wide for a 2500mAH pack!!!

Ok...redesigned the unit to be 1/16" wider.. so inside width now 44.45mm, and this is as wide as I can go, and still be able to insert the box through the front of the plane, which is the only way to install it.

So,,,if you guys want them let me know....sounds like two so far. Four more to go....

SteveT
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by SteveT.; Jan 26, 2013 at 01:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2013, 07:26 AM
What?!? I didn't do that!
gremlin's Avatar
Orchard Park, NY
Joined Dec 2002
267 Posts
Thanks for the update Steve. Yep, those Gens Ace are wide and thin, more so than most other packs for the size but they work great. Sounds like with the width adjustment the box will work fine so put me down for one.
gremlin is offline Find More Posts by gremlin
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 06:34 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,187 Posts
Ok....got my battery box installed, and it works perfectly. And as positioned, the CG is at 5.125" as suggested in the manual. I just drilled straight through the laser cut holes in the bottom of the battery box, into the battery tray and used three servo mounting screws to hold it in place...

And as I have big hands, I think I am going to use a couple of the things shown in the third photo to hold the battery in...(this one is my wife's, so, don't "flame" me for the color... )

SteveT.
SteveT. is offline Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by SteveT.; Jan 30, 2013 at 01:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2013, 09:17 PM
Team Twisted!
hone1er's Avatar
United States, CA, Hercules
Joined Dec 2011
4,278 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveT. View Post
You sure like to sell your 3DHS plane Joe!!....

SteveT.
Ahaha I've noticed that i do tend to sell them quick. Too bad the only offer i had was $150 RTF

I'll just keep it for now so i might be needing one of those trays!
hone1er is online now Find More Posts by hone1er
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Unofficial 3DHS-Bipe thread. Buzzkill2 3D Flying 139 Jul 07, 2011 12:13 AM
Question 3DHS Bipe? PinkYakRC 3D Flying 127 Jul 03, 2011 10:11 AM
Question Crashed my 3DHS Edge 55 need new planes any advice? bhoges17 3D Flying 11 Jan 26, 2010 12:19 PM
Any news of new GWS P-40??? CryHavoc Parkflyers 5 Sep 05, 2004 10:41 AM