HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 02, 2012, 11:36 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
24,950 Posts
I've had both...Didn't care for the EF plane as much as the 3DHS plane...just my opinion...

SteveT
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 03, 2012, 01:26 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, London
Joined Jul 2011
2,243 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveT. View Post
3DHS 48" as it's 3S...EF 48"= 4S...needs to fly faster...

SteveT
but on the other hand, 3dhs shines on low and slow but EF is so much better in fast stuff...so both companies should be in any fleet... (cant speak about byper,vyper or osyris)
rimaarts is offline Find More Posts by rimaarts
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 03, 2012, 07:07 AM
Team Aztech Aeromodels!
zmonster97's Avatar
United States, PA, Allentown
Joined May 2011
2,931 Posts
My bipe is almost ready! Just need my motrolfly 3615 and to finish building it!
zmonster97 is online now Find More Posts by zmonster97
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: 3DHS 72" Extra flight
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 03, 2012, 09:01 AM
VOLTS > AMPS
stgdz's Avatar
United States, MN, Buffalo
Joined Jul 2011
3,854 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zmonster97 View Post
My bipe is almost ready! Just need my motrolfly 3615 and to finish building it!
If you're on the back order then its going to be a longer wait. They sent the wrong bearing tubes to ken.
stgdz is offline Find More Posts by stgdz
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 03, 2012, 03:06 PM
Team Aztech Aeromodels!
zmonster97's Avatar
United States, PA, Allentown
Joined May 2011
2,931 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by stgdz View Post
If you're on the back order then its going to be a longer wait. They sent the wrong bearing tubes to ken.
Oh great, even longer to wait. I guess my bipe won't be ready for a little while.
zmonster97 is online now Find More Posts by zmonster97
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: 3DHS 72" Extra flight
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 03, 2012, 03:10 PM
I don't want to "Switch Now"
pmackenzie's Avatar
Toronto (Don Mills), Canada
Joined Dec 2002
15,929 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zmonster97 View Post
My bipe is almost ready! Just need my motrolfly 3615 and to finish building it!
Which Kv are you guys using for this?
Don't have the bipe yet, but might order the motor just in case

Thanks,

Pat MacKenzie
pmackenzie is offline Find More Posts by pmackenzie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 03, 2012, 03:19 PM
Team Aztech Aeromodels!
zmonster97's Avatar
United States, PA, Allentown
Joined May 2011
2,931 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmackenzie View Post
Which Kv are you guys using for this?
Don't have the bipe yet, but might order the motor just in case

Thanks,

Pat MacKenzie
Motrolfly 3615-750kv.
zmonster97 is online now Find More Posts by zmonster97
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: 3DHS 72" Extra flight
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 04, 2012, 08:40 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
24,950 Posts
Just as a matter of mentioning.... I hate "easy connectors", and this plane has a schnit load of them....That is all!!

SteveT
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2012, 12:52 AM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
24,950 Posts
Just out of curiosity, what Spektrum or JR receivers are you guy using in this plane? I have an AR6000, but all the the rest of my spare receivers are AR7000's or larger....

SteveT
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2012, 06:41 AM
What?!? I didn't do that!
gremlin's Avatar
Orchard Park, NY
Joined Dec 2002
267 Posts
I'm trying to stick with DSMX on my balsa planes so I'm using an AR6210. It was fun finding a spot for the receiver and satellite but it all worked out..
gremlin is offline Find More Posts by gremlin
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2012, 07:01 AM
doh!
ryan_m's Avatar
United States, AR, Little Rock
Joined May 2006
4,024 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveT. View Post
Just out of curiosity, what Spektrum or JR receivers are you guy using in this plane? I have an AR6000, but all the the rest of my spare receivers are AR7000's or larger....

SteveT
Running a 7010, the dsmx version of the 7000.
ryan_m is offline Find More Posts by ryan_m
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2012, 09:52 AM
Registered User
Reef_rc's Avatar
Joined May 2011
621 Posts
Looks like I will be setting up the little red beauty starting this evening and hoping for maiden flight this coming weekend. Going with:
  • Hacker A30-12XL motor
  • Castle Creations ICE 75 Lite ESC
  • Hitec digital HS-5085MG servos all around
  • Dubro servo arms

btw - anyone know what size the standard wheels are? Thinking I may be a larger one to help avoid chipping the prop. I am not at home to know so thought I ask since I plan on using the larger 15x6 prop and looking to order some today in preparation for this coming weekend maiden flight. thx
Reef_rc is offline Find More Posts by Reef_rc
Last edited by Reef_rc; Nov 05, 2012 at 10:38 AM. Reason: chg prop size
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2012, 10:06 AM
What?!? I didn't do that!
gremlin's Avatar
Orchard Park, NY
Joined Dec 2002
267 Posts
Great setup, that's the same items I have in mine and it flies great. I'm running a 15x6 Xoar and flying off of a grass field and have no clearance issues with the stock wheels. I don't recall the size but the stock wheels work fine and fit the wheel pants
gremlin is offline Find More Posts by gremlin
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2012, 10:08 AM
Team Aztech Aeromodels!
zmonster97's Avatar
United States, PA, Allentown
Joined May 2011
2,931 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveT. View Post
Just out of curiosity, what Spektrum or JR receivers are you guy using in this plane? I have an AR6000, but all the the rest of my spare receivers are AR7000's or larger....

SteveT
I'm going to be using an ar600.
zmonster97 is online now Find More Posts by zmonster97
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: 3DHS 72" Extra flight
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2012, 12:54 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
24,950 Posts
Thanks guys....

Yeah...finding a plane for an AR7000 or AR7010 and satellite appears to be a real challenge...I would prefer to use one...so, we'll see....

SteveT
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Unofficial 3DHS-Bipe thread. Buzzkill2 3D Flying 139 Jul 07, 2011 12:13 AM
Question 3DHS Bipe? PinkYakRC 3D Flying 127 Jul 03, 2011 10:11 AM
Question Crashed my 3DHS Edge 55 need new planes any advice? bhoges17 3D Flying 11 Jan 26, 2010 12:19 PM
Any news of new GWS P-40??? CryHavoc Parkflyers 5 Sep 05, 2004 10:41 AM