Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 12, 2013, 06:46 PM
WIFE HAND LAUNCHED MY PLANES!
Spyro37's Avatar
Joined Jun 2009
2,130 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diesel6401 View Post
Apc 12x8 or 12x10. I'm running a 12x10 but mine is loaded pretty heavy with r retracts lighting mods and repair weight. I fly around at mostly 1/2 to 3/4 throttle and she moves nicely. I've done cooling mods though including a new one yesterday that works BEAUTIFULLY by making the exhaust stacks functional for esc cooling and tested it today and she's awesome. I also made the the scoop at the bottom functional.

I had to drill the opening out of the apc to get it to fit. No big deal.
Have you tried both sizes?

Do you use the 3200mAh
I do have the Gens Ace 3200 & 3300-mAh 3S.

Thanks.,
Spyro
Spyro37 is offline Find More Posts by Spyro37
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Spyro37; Feb 12, 2013 at 08:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 12, 2013, 07:06 PM
Soli Deo Gloria
GhostStone's Avatar
United States, IN, Fort Wayne
Joined Jan 2012
171 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tclaridge View Post
With the price reduction on the Hurricane, I thought I would collect my setup for folks just starting out. I have attached a document of all the settings, dual rates, and tips that helped me. Many of them come from this thread.
Here's the post with the PDF file. Hope this helps.
GhostStone is offline Find More Posts by GhostStone
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 07:08 PM
Soli Deo Gloria
GhostStone's Avatar
United States, IN, Fort Wayne
Joined Jan 2012
171 Posts
Sorry let me try again.

It's post 3527 and it is on page 236. Sorry for the confusion.
GhostStone is offline Find More Posts by GhostStone
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 08:27 PM
Memento Mori
Diesel6401's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined Sep 2009
2,969 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyro37 View Post
Have you tried both sizes?

Do you use the 3200mAh
I do have the Gens Ace 3200 & 3300-mAh 3S.

Thanks.,
Spyro
I'm using 12x10 my buddy is using 12x7. I bought the 12x8 and used in a different plane and snapped it on a tip-landing in 20mph on a crosswind landing. I have no doubt it will be good. I'm using 3300 and 3200. I have eflite, zippy & turnigy. The packs you have should be just fine. Gens ace are excellent packs.
Diesel6401 is online now Find More Posts by Diesel6401
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 08:41 PM
my Head is Spinning!!!
Helldiver's Avatar
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Aug 2012
936 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tclaridge View Post
With the price reduction on the Hurricane, I thought I would collect my setup for folks just starting out. I have attached a document of all the settings, dual rates, and tips that helped me. Many of them come from this thread.
thanks for this!

I hope no more nose overs this weekend!
Helldiver is offline Find More Posts by Helldiver
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 12, 2013, 09:11 PM
Registered User
Loukhan's Avatar
United States, CA, Oceanside
Joined Apr 2012
986 Posts
Coot- thanks for the clarity.
Spyro-happy to hear about your maiden!
Tom- I'm not a speeder. I like it scale. I do not want to do 100mph (too old, too bad of eyes). Plus, I find my flying improves w/practice at slower speeds. As my flight instructor told me-if you can fly slow you can fly anything.
Diesel- thanks for the information.
Loukhan is offline Find More Posts by Loukhan
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Fleet
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 12:01 AM
352nd FG Association
Moonbeam's Avatar
United States, GA, Decatur
Joined Mar 2004
4,093 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diesel6401 View Post
Apc 12x8 or 12x10. I'm running a 12x10 but mine is loaded pretty heavy with r retracts lighting mods and repair weight. I fly around at mostly 1/2 to 3/4 throttle and she moves nicely. I've done cooling mods though including a new one yesterday that works BEAUTIFULLY by making the exhaust stacks functional for esc cooling and tested it today and she's awesome. I also made the the scoop at the bottom functional.

I had to drill the opening out of the apc to get it to fit. No big deal.
Hey Diesel!!
Since the weather sucks giant monkey butts for the next few days, I'll have time to do the exhaust stacks. Can you tell me, or point me to the post on how you mod the stacks for air flow? Thinking of doing the scoop too. One idea for those thinking about which plane to paint theirs as, choose a Tropic version. They had an intake right under the nose that would be an awesome mod for cooling!
Moonbeam is offline Find More Posts by Moonbeam
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 06:57 AM
Memento Mori
Diesel6401's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined Sep 2009
2,969 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moonbeam View Post
Hey Diesel!!
Since the weather sucks giant monkey butts for the next few days, I'll have time to do the exhaust stacks. Can you tell me, or point me to the post on how you mod the stacks for air flow?
I should have taking pics as I went along, but I'll describe best I can.

*I took a old unused soldering iron and put an x-acto blade tip on it and heated the iron up.
*while the iron was heating I removed the stacks
*I used the iron to notch into the front of the stack up to where it starts to curve
* pulled the esc out of its stock location
*I cut a 1/4 x 1/4 square into the plane under the stacks about 3/4 of the way back of the stack area .
*I then made a angled cut forward of that so air flows smoothly into the hole
*I drilled a hole into the rear of the last stack
*reinstalled the esc and verified I could see it through the holes I cut.
*hot glued the stack back on

I really wish I would have taken pics, but it was a spurt of the moment.
Diesel6401 is online now Find More Posts by Diesel6401
Last edited by Diesel6401; Feb 13, 2013 at 07:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2013, 08:42 AM
Registered User
Loukhan's Avatar
United States, CA, Oceanside
Joined Apr 2012
986 Posts
That sand scoop would do the trick I think. Looks like it would be fairly easy to stretch the intake.
Loukhan is offline Find More Posts by Loukhan
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Fleet
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 12:09 AM
DFC~ We Do Flyin' Right
bsbauman's Avatar
USA, GA, Atlanta
Joined Nov 2008
14,157 Posts
Anyone using a 2p3s2650mAh setup?
bsbauman is offline Find More Posts by bsbauman
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My New Workshop
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 04:19 PM
Joined Dec 2009
1,723 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsbauman View Post
Anyone using a 2p3s2650mAh setup?
Do you mean two separate 3s 2650 mAh packs in parallel ?

... or a 'single' 2p3s pack?

Plane Chaos is offline Find More Posts by Plane Chaos
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 04:46 PM
DFC~ We Do Flyin' Right
bsbauman's Avatar
USA, GA, Atlanta
Joined Nov 2008
14,157 Posts
I fudged that
Yes two seperate 3s 2650 packs in parallel
bsbauman is offline Find More Posts by bsbauman
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My New Workshop
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2013, 05:09 PM
Joined Dec 2009
1,723 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsbauman View Post
I fudged that
Yes two seperate 3s 2650 packs in parallel
... there was some discussion back around page 240 (e.g. post #3593, by "sdossett").

.... I don't recall reading outcomes, but it ought to be do-able; just make sure you maintain C-of-G in the 'squares"..

Plane Chaos is offline Find More Posts by Plane Chaos
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 04:37 AM
Registered User
United States, IL, Urbana
Joined Jan 2005
7 Posts
Multple 3S batteries

First one goes in well into slot. Second one needs more work to attach.

I just bought a couple more 4000mah 3S batteries.

Once the winds here die down a bit and I can get in some flight time, I may experiment with the 1800-2200mah packs I have. For now I'm playing it straight.
sdossett is offline Find More Posts by sdossett
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 02:54 PM
AMA 52726
Edge767's Avatar
United States, TX, Spring
Joined Jun 2005
1,493 Posts
Flew three packs through it yesterday. The more I fly it, the more I love this plane. The only down side is that I used to think that my P-47 and Corsair were fast until I flew this one. Now, after flying the Hurricane, the P-47 and Corsair (F4U1A) are nice and still great flying planes, but the Hurricane just rips through the air with such command and steadiness.

I made 13 landings, and all except the first were greasers (the first was good enough, but was a little bumpier than I'd like). I think I finally have the throttle timing down with the descent. It also helps to have the plane trimmed for landing using programming on the DX8 so that you can literally land the plane using throttle and rudder/aileron with just a touch of elevator at the very end. Quite satisfying. Like ryramZ said in his video with the Hurricane, it does prefer a good approach, and if you do it right, you're rewarded with some of the most spectacular and beautiful landings.

Here's a picture of it on the table at the field yesterday with my Jug and F4U1A.

Edge767 is offline Find More Posts by Edge767
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion NEW!!!! E-Flite Carbon-Z Yak 54 BNF/PNP!!! DFflyer 3D Foamies 3887 Jul 04, 2014 06:57 AM
Discussion E-flite Carbon-Z Yak 54 shoeler Sport Planes 4 Aug 13, 2013 04:47 PM
Cool New E-flite Carbon-Z Yak 54 miksta115 Electric Plane Talk 39 Oct 11, 2011 10:05 AM
New Product E-Flite Carbon-Z Yak 54 (48'' Wingspan 940 Watts!) Get Real 3D Foamies 1066 Feb 22, 2011 10:21 PM
Idea Parkzone's Next Z-Foam Warbird.... and thoughts,feelings, etc. SmoothCruizer Electric Warbirds 3836 Feb 03, 2011 11:17 AM