HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 19, 2011, 06:54 PM
Vancouver, BC
Joined Jan 2011
189 Posts
Question
Want to Build A Trainer, And More...

Hello folks,

I've never flown RC but have some modelling experience from years gone by. Have flown control line and free flight gliders launched off a tow line, and all but one aircraft was entirely built on the kitchen table when I was a teenager mostly kits but also some simple scratch built planes too. Reading the threads here has certainly reminded me just how much fun I had working on these flying models with my dad and on my own.

This was quite some time ago and I see that much has changed both in technology and in the range of craft one can get airborne with. The tech stuff I get and appreciate, but although I'm a techno geek by trade I know bits and bytes aren't everything. I'm feeling nostalgic for balsa and glue but even the glue has changed it seems.

I've been looking at the numerous recommendations for RTF trainers and am duly impressed at what can be accomplished with some of these RTF packages. It's hard to escape a HobbyZone Champ or SuperCub recommendation or video.

But... I'd like to go another route and hopefully am not crazy in doing so. I'd like to build every craft, from a starter trainer on up. At least one of my two boys if not both will also be interested in one aspect or another of this hobby.

So, I'm looking for recommendations for nice looking, even nicer flying, fun to build craft. Most everything at this point should be park flyer in scale as I'd rather not hit the road for a long drive just to fly. There are plenty of spaces in this urban area within walking, riding or short drive distance.