HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 16, 2011, 03:02 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2004
3 Posts
Help!
How to make a magnetic actuator

Hi All,

I am trying to find plans or instructions to make a micro magnetic actuator. Can some one help me please? I know that these can be bought, but I want to make one myself.
Javis is offline Find More Posts by Javis
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 16, 2011, 03:19 PM
Registered User
Staffs, UK
Joined Nov 2003
10,433 Posts
An actuator is just a coil with a magnet centred in the coil.

Making them has been discussed often in the Indoor and Micro forum though less so recently. E.g.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1121822
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=894580

Steve
slipstick is online now Find More Posts by slipstick
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2011, 11:04 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2004
3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by slipstick View Post
An actuator is just a coil with a magnet centred in the coil.

Making them has been discussed often in the Indoor and Micro forum though less so recently. E.g.
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1121822
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=894580

Steve
Thank you for the information. I really appreciate it.
Javis is offline Find More Posts by Javis
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2011, 04:36 AM
Registered User
MGeo's Avatar
New York
Joined Nov 2003
509 Posts
This old thread also has much how-to info in it: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...light=actuator
MGeo is offline Find More Posts by MGeo
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2011, 03:20 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2011
28 Posts
check this video out this is how i learnd... SUPER EASY!!

Actuator Servo Home-built video (very Cheap) (6 min 31 sec)
nickwasp is offline Find More Posts by nickwasp
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2011, 06:01 AM
I love HAM
Joined Nov 2005
725 Posts
Hi all,

I am trying to make a 25 Ohm coil and found some wire inside an old brushed motor. There were three windings in it; took one off and ended up with a 1.75m (5.8') piece of wire that looks to be about 0.2mm thick (including insulation)

The resistance of this length stretched out is ~3 Ohm. I then wound it up in a coil and measured resistance again, and it is still 3 Ohm. I never was very good in physics class (too busy chasing the girls) but I thought the resistance would be higher when the wire is wound up in a coil?

Will I be needing 14.5m (48') of wire to achieve my desired resistance of 25 Ohm? I was hoping to make something very small to put on one of those X-Twin planes but with such a big coil I wonder if it's going to be able to take off at all

Please help out this electronically challenged old fart; I promise I'll pay attention this time
Schermvlieger is offline Find More Posts by Schermvlieger
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2011, 06:23 AM
Registered User
Ohio
Joined Nov 2003
1,655 Posts
The resistance will not change due to winding a coil. What changes is the inductance! This is very important for a coil. It causes the current to ramp
up, and be limited as long as the core is not saturated. With no core,
you have an air core inductor. Not sure about the dynamics of a magnet core, but there is more than resistance at play here. The L of your coil will cause it to draw less current than the straight wire. The magnetic force on the magnet is proportional to the current.
jglenn is offline Find More Posts by jglenn
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2011, 07:23 AM
I love HAM
Joined Nov 2005
725 Posts
Thanks jglenn!

Does that mean that - using this wire I mentioned - I would really need about 48' to reach the desired resistance? It seems like an awful lot to me. Do I need to use thinner wire for the application that I have in mind?
Schermvlieger is offline Find More Posts by Schermvlieger
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2011, 07:25 AM
Registered User
Staffs, UK
Joined Nov 2003
10,433 Posts
Resistance is basically defined by the length (and size) of wire. Winding into a coil has no effect at all on the resistance.

So yes, you either need much thinner wire or a much greater length.

Steve
slipstick is online now Find More Posts by slipstick
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2011, 07:29 AM
I love HAM
Joined Nov 2005
725 Posts
Thanks Steve!
Schermvlieger is offline Find More Posts by Schermvlieger
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2011, 05:45 PM
Registered User
Ohio
Joined Nov 2003
1,655 Posts
Scherm:

I don't know where you got your specs from. There are a lot of tradeoffs between wire gauge, R, current, field intensity, etc. That much wire will
take a huge bobbin, unless as fine as hair. That fine is hard to strip,
taking the enamel off the ends. They have polythermaleze wire that you
just solder, and it goes thru. Here are some links to help:

http://www.tpub.com/neets/book2/1b.htm

http://www.pa.msu.edu/courses/2000fa.../solenoid.html

http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu.../solenoid.html

THis last one has a calculator spreadsheet thing.
jglenn is offline Find More Posts by jglenn
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! how do u make esc waterproof tekin rx8 combo etc and more sytem to make waterproof stampede vxl Off-road Cars 7 Dec 24, 2010 09:32 PM
How to make an actuator ( step by step ) Paul Penney Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 209 Apr 20, 2009 03:42 PM
Question How connect "magnetic actuator" to receiver ueliisa Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 3 Nov 17, 2006 12:53 PM
Hello, new to the forum. How do you make a coil actuator flap? FlipperSail Ornithopters 13 Aug 06, 2004 07:31 AM
Alert how to make actuator coils for micro models youth must fly Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 3 Jun 14, 2004 01:19 PM