HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 14, 2011, 08:23 PM
William from Windham NH USA
United States, NH, Windham
Joined Apr 2005
160 Posts
Discussion
Help me decide on the right charger!!

Greetings from the North East I relize that this Question gets asked all the time But I need the Help?

Not the sharpest tool in the shed!

Yes I have spent hours reading all the charger threads!

I am new to electric flight but not new to the hobby, I typicaly fly 1/5 scale planes. And am currently building a 1/5 scale Cub and receved for Xmas the Twin Otter.

So my charging needs would be 3s to 5s packs lipo in the 3000Mah to 5000mah range.

I also run Electric boats with 12 to 14 cell nicads.

I have the first and second version of the Tritons but they are not balance chargers and are not Quiet up to snuff compaired to the 2 choices of chargers I have narrowed it down to , after all the reading, and research.

So that being said My choice. would be 2 I chargers model 206b or 1 hyperion EOS 0615i DUO3.

I like the fact of having 2 chargers in case of a failer If the coice was the I charger as aposed to the Hyperion.

Both chargers are a considerabel investment. and Im sure they would be good for all my needs for the near future.

Not sure where to get the best price and service for the Duo 3. The I charger would be purchased from EP Buddy.

http://epbuddy.com/

Now the Question about power supplys. I presently have a SunPower 350W 12V 30A Power Supply. And would be willing to purchase another one for the 2 I charger set up.

Or would I need maybe 2 larger meanwell power supplys

I would like to use EP Buddy for my power supply source. What would be the sugestion for a supply, for ether the Hyperion or the I charger?