HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 12, 2011, 01:53 AM
Registered User
cannondale1974's Avatar
Lexington, KY
Joined Oct 2009
701 Posts
Discussion
Will a Spektrum (air) receiver work on (surface) radios?

For instance, I have a few AR6100 park flyer receivers. Will they bind up with say a Spektrum DX3S car radio?

Thanks!
cannondale1974 is offline Find More Posts by cannondale1974
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 12, 2011, 10:00 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
25,215 Posts
No. Surface receivers (SRxxxx) only work with Surface transmitters.

Marine receivers (MRxxxx) work with Marine-compatible surface transmitters (they'll have a boat logo on them), plus they'll work with aircraft transmitters.

Aircraft receivers (ARxxxx) work only with air transmitters.

Andy
AndyKunz is online now Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2011, 10:12 AM
Don't lie to my dog.
Gregg28's Avatar
United States, DE, Wilmington
Joined Jun 2005
3,078 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
No. Surface receivers (SRxxxx) only work with Surface transmitters.

Marine receivers (MRxxxx) work with Marine-compatible surface transmitters (they'll have a boat logo on them), plus they'll work with aircraft transmitters.

Aircraft receivers (ARxxxx) work only with air transmitters.

Andy
Why?
Gregg28 is offline Find More Posts by Gregg28
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2011, 10:25 AM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
24,588 Posts
Because HH wants you to buy more stuff and it works. Its not just them but other and not just in the hobby.
freechip is offline Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2011, 10:50 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
25,215 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregg28 View Post
Why?
At the lowest level, the communication is done differently for each.

Surface radios need to be able to have a super-low response time - we have surface radios with a 5.5ms refresh rate. The communication was optimized to be able to do that.

The aircraft radios need to be able to support up to 12 channels (JR 12X). You can't have high-channel-count and low-refresh-rate both, so they are optimized appropriately.

Marine is different still. It needs the diversity of the aircraft radios but not a high channel count.

Andy
AndyKunz is online now Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2011, 11:30 AM
Don't lie to my dog.
Gregg28's Avatar
United States, DE, Wilmington
Joined Jun 2005
3,078 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
At the lowest level, the communication is done differently for each.

Surface radios need to be able to have a super-low response time - we have surface radios with a 5.5ms refresh rate. The communication was optimized to be able to do that.

The aircraft radios need to be able to support up to 12 channels (JR 12X). You can't have high-channel-count and low-refresh-rate both, so they are optimized appropriately.

Marine is different still. It needs the diversity of the aircraft radios but not a high channel count.

Andy
Makes sense, Thanks.

But there is no real or legal issue with using a Dx6i on a boat, correct?
Gregg28 is offline Find More Posts by Gregg28
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2011, 02:07 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
25,215 Posts
Correct, that was only with 72/75MHz.

Andy
AndyKunz is online now Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2011, 05:10 PM
Don't lie to my dog.
Gregg28's Avatar
United States, DE, Wilmington
Joined Jun 2005
3,078 Posts
I know that this is off topic, but another Spektrum question:

I have an old Ace radio. I would like to convert it to 2.4mHz. Can I use any Spektrum module and plug it into the Ace encoder board? Is the difference between modules mostly just the plug and case or are there other differences? Probably need a Hitec/Futaba for the correct shift, I am guessing.
Gregg28 is offline Find More Posts by Gregg28
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2011, 09:13 PM
60 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Feb 2006
16,949 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregg28 View Post
I know that this is off topic, but another Spektrum question:

I have an old Ace radio. I would like to convert it to 2.4mHz. Can I use any Spektrum module and plug it into the Ace encoder board? Is the difference between modules mostly just the plug and case or are there other differences? Probably need a Hitec/Futaba for the correct shift, I am guessing.
You probably can adapt a module to the Ace encoder, but it's not as simple as plugging it in. First, it depends what Ace radio. Second, you have to find the PPM signal and make sure it has suitable level. You may also need to determine the polarity (shift has nothing to do with this, as it's an FM concept). You also need to determine whether you should use a JR-type of Futaba-type Spektrum module. And, of course, you'll have to do some soldering and adapting. So you need to know what you are doing.

You need to get exact information about your transmitter and ask a specific question. You should start a new thread when you have an unrelated topic like this and give it a clear title that will attract people who might know. Something like "How to adapt an Ace XXXX to Spektrum 2.4?"
Daedalus66 is offline Find More Posts by Daedalus66
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2011, 05:04 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
25,215 Posts
The DIY Electronics forum is definitely a better place to ask. There are several who have done similar conversions there.

Andy
AndyKunz is online now Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold DSM 3-Ch Pro Series Surface Module/Rx: AIR M8/M11 by Spektrum <Price drop> Treeline Cars - Accessories (FS/W) 4 Nov 18, 2010 09:02 AM
Discussion Will a 5 ch receiver work with a 6ch transmitter? hellsrage619 Radios 3 Nov 06, 2010 09:22 AM
Discussion first 2.4 non spektrum....will this work with spektrum rstein9 Electric Plane Talk 1 Oct 18, 2010 05:08 PM
Question Spektrum air module work in Futaba surface TX? village_idiot Radios 10 Apr 28, 2009 10:20 PM
Will a JR/Air Z hitec receiver work with hitec flash receiver? taekwondo Radios 8 Aug 08, 2005 05:15 AM