Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 05, 2012, 02:41 PM
Fly Low-Crash-Rebuild-Repeat !
RotorJockey's Avatar
Jackson, MO
Joined May 2009
3,226 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rthorne View Post
I'm putting the final touches on my buddies 104 that I built for him.

I have a question about the aluminum line up pins on the front of the wings. When the wings are installed the hole that's drilled in the line up pin only shows about half of itself, pic attached.

I am thinking about just drilling the hole bigger so the pin will fit. I don't think this is a big deal since the pin is providing some lateral strength.

Anyone have other ideas before I go to drilling?

Thanks

Rich
Nooo Rich!

Don't drill it!

Start the pin at an angle in, then press it flat against the wood and press it in place.

The tension will pull the wing up nice and tight against the fuse.

Fred
RotorJockey is offline Find More Posts by RotorJockey
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 05, 2012, 02:44 PM
Quit Chucking My Wood
rthorne's Avatar
USA, TX, Amarillo
Joined Dec 2003
1,263 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RotorJockey View Post
Nooo Rich!

Don't drill it!

Start the pin at an angle in, then press it flat against the wood and press it in place.

The tension will pull the wing up nice and tight against the fuse.

Fred
Thanks Fred, I'll give it a shot and report back.

Rich
rthorne is online now Find More Posts by rthorne
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 02:46 PM
Fly Low-Crash-Rebuild-Repeat !
RotorJockey's Avatar
Jackson, MO
Joined May 2009
3,226 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rthorne View Post
Thanks Fred, I'll give it a shot and report back.

Rich
I use my own homemade pins, but the stock pins go in a lot easier with a big pair of hemostats or needle-nose plyers.

And mine are drilled EXACTLY where yours are.

Fred
RotorJockey is offline Find More Posts by RotorJockey
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 02:49 PM
Quit Chucking My Wood
rthorne's Avatar
USA, TX, Amarillo
Joined Dec 2003
1,263 Posts
Your the man Fred.

Remind me to give you one of Eddies drinks while we're at Hucktoberfest

I'll come up with the music wire pin next, that will be easier to install.

Rich
rthorne is online now Find More Posts by rthorne
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 03:14 PM
3D Legion: "for we are many"
aerosheldon's Avatar
United States, CO, Highlands Ranch
Joined Sep 2003
2,866 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RotorJockey View Post
With the SmartFly EQ6 Turbo Plus, can you connect individual servos and program them separately through the SmartFly board then plug them all into the same channel and have them work on their independent programming? Or are you actually just programming that channel and every servo follows the last program on that channel?

Does that make sense?
You plug each area such as three aileron servos into one channel for say "left" aileron, and then you can program each of the three separately as far as center and end points, but it only takes one channel on the rx…. make sense?
aerosheldon is offline Find More Posts by aerosheldon
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 03:15 PM
3D Legion: "for we are many"
aerosheldon's Avatar
United States, CO, Highlands Ranch
Joined Sep 2003
2,866 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rthorne View Post
Your the man Fred.

Remind me to give you one of Eddies drinks while we're at Hucktoberfest

I'll come up with the music wire pin next, that will be easier to install.

Rich
YO Bivens, show him your method (I saw it on another site) and it is perfect….. I will be doing it soon.
aerosheldon is offline Find More Posts by aerosheldon
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 03:19 PM
Fly Low-Crash-Rebuild-Repeat !
RotorJockey's Avatar
Jackson, MO
Joined May 2009
3,226 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerosheldon View Post
You plug each area such as three aileron servos into one channel for say "left" aileron, and then you can program each of the three separately as far as center and end points, but it only takes one channel on the rx…. make sense?
Yes, I understand how that works, but if you plug all 3 left aileron servos in, how do you program centers and endpoints separetely with the EQ6?
RotorJockey is offline Find More Posts by RotorJockey
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 03:23 PM
Team Hillbilly 🐘💨
bullittjeff's Avatar
United States, OH, Canal Winchester
Joined Feb 2010
948 Posts
It has little dials on the smart fly board and the instructions walk you through it. Once you program the centers and endpoints you need to make sure you plug in the servos in the same slot every time. Mark them..
bullittjeff is offline Find More Posts by bullittjeff
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 03:25 PM
Fly Low-Crash-Rebuild-Repeat !
RotorJockey's Avatar
Jackson, MO
Joined May 2009
3,226 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerosheldon View Post
YO Bivens, show him your method (I saw it on another site) and it is perfect….. I will be doing it soon.
I kinda revised Mike's design, Mine key into a groove in the wood frame to lock in place.

Fred
RotorJockey is offline Find More Posts by RotorJockey
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 03:28 PM
3D Legion: "for we are many"
aerosheldon's Avatar
United States, CO, Highlands Ranch
Joined Sep 2003
2,866 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bullittjeff View Post
It has little dials on the smart fly board and the instructions walk you through it. Once you program the centers and endpoints you need to make sure you plug in the servos in the same slot every time. Mark them..
Yep….
aerosheldon is offline Find More Posts by aerosheldon
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 04:03 PM
Team 3DHS / Team JR
Bivens's Avatar
United States, TN, Knoxville
Joined Apr 2010
4,383 Posts
Mine too...but they aren't as pretty as yours Fred, with the little "tips" on em...
Bivens is offline Find More Posts by Bivens
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Bivens; Aug 05, 2012 at 04:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 04:22 PM
Fly Low-Crash-Rebuild-Repeat !
RotorJockey's Avatar
Jackson, MO
Joined May 2009
3,226 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bivens View Post
Mine too...but they aren't as pretty as yours Fred, with the little "tips" on em...
That's right! yours do!

Definitely Mike's great idea, I just changed the angles and added the grips.

Fred
RotorJockey is offline Find More Posts by RotorJockey
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 04:23 PM
Registered User
USA, NH, Bedford
Joined Oct 2009
424 Posts
[QUOTE=RotorJockey;22360980]With the SmartFly EQ6 Turbo Plus, can you connect individual servos and program them separately through the SmartFly board then plug them all into the same channel and have them work on their independent programming? Or are you actually just programming that channel and every servo follows the last program on that channel?

Does that make sense? [/QUOTE
There are 3 ports for each channel, and each port is separately programmable. So, as you program each aileron servo in the EQ6, for say the right wing, you need to plug the servos into the same port each time once you are done. I just color code them.
ghoffman is offline Find More Posts by ghoffman
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 05, 2012, 04:24 PM
Fly Low-Crash-Rebuild-Repeat !
RotorJockey's Avatar
Jackson, MO
Joined May 2009
3,226 Posts
[QUOTE=ghoffman;22364032]
Quote:
Originally Posted by RotorJockey View Post
With the SmartFly EQ6 Turbo Plus, can you connect individual servos and program them separately through the SmartFly board then plug them all into the same channel and have them work on their independent programming? Or are you actually just programming that channel and every servo follows the last program on that channel?

Does that make sense? [/QUOTE
There are 3 ports for each channel, and each port is separately programmable. So, as you program each aileron servo in the EQ6, for say the right wing, you need to plug the servos into the same port each time once you are done. I just color code them.
Very cool! Thanks, I definitely understand now!

Fred
RotorJockey is offline Find More Posts by RotorJockey
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 07, 2012, 03:55 PM
Fly Low or you'll never know!
RC4x4's Avatar
Thornton, Colorado
Joined Jul 2002
3,814 Posts
Thought I would share this. We had our annual Rocky Mountain 3D Throw down on the 27-29th of July. We had 4 girls out to model with the planes. This is Sandy and Jenny which are sisters. They loved the look of the Slick and were always lending me hand when I was firing up the Slick!
Got alot of compliments on the look of the Slick and a few said it was the best looking plane they've seen.

Cory
RC4x4 is offline Find More Posts by RC4x4
Last edited by RC4x4; Aug 07, 2012 at 11:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product 3DHS 42" AJ Slick Gear Fix jake48 3D Flying 25 Nov 26, 2010 01:01 PM
Sold NEU 1512 2.5D w/6.7 GB & Castle 80 AMP, Perfect for 3DHS AJ SLICK 70" / 72" Extra Alkaline Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 Nov 07, 2010 08:34 AM
Question 3DHS 41" Edge and 42" AJ Slick RC_Feen 3D Flying 26 Oct 12, 2010 01:29 AM
Found 3DHS 51" AJ Slick BNF ShoGinn Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 8 Sep 05, 2010 05:19 PM