Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Oct 10, 2001, 01:06 PM
San Fransisco,Ca,Usa
Joined Aug 2001
86 Posts
Mini-Max lives!

My girlfriend got me a mini-max a week ago and I love her-both of them. I have flown and crashed 4 balsa kit planes and got really sick of tearing off covering to fix them(I'm a newbie and crash alot). Enter the mini-max built her in 3-4 hours total, $34 w/ motor gearbox prop what a deal. Walked the 3 block to my park and kept her up for 5 min, then the usual crash. No big deal just have to glue the motor mount back on and get some #4 3/4" pan head screws-I'm in the air the next day. On this day I fly for another 5 min and then watch the wing fold at 30' and plummet to good ol Earth.
So now is where ezone comes in- I searched the mini-max posts and found a pluthera(sp) of good info. Thanks guys. I glued cf that I split out of arrow shafts on the LE and epoxyed the wing section together-the instruction have you use 2 sided tape which blows- and took off the landing gear and glued(epoxyed) half of a arrow shaft on the bottom of the fuse. Hope I'm not to heavy now.
As a new guy I have to say that the min-max is a good plane to learn on.
Thomas vogel is offline Find More Posts by Thomas vogel
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 10, 2001, 03:38 PM
Plane hugging cat
Mackay Queensland Australia
Joined Sep 2001
1,355 Posts
I never trusted the 2 sided tape idea from the start. I epoxyed everything up, probably making it a bit heavier but have had 39 good flights with it now.

I'm not a newbie to electrics but this is my first "slow fly" plane and I think it's great. This is the first plane I've been able to fly in my backyard without the trees eating it... so far hehheh

Just curiious, what battery pack do you use? I use 6x650 mah NIMH and 7x650 NIMH and get somewhere between 15 to 30 min depending on my flying.

Kevin.
Vonbaron is offline Find More Posts by Vonbaron
Old Oct 10, 2001, 05:59 PM
pushing both extremes
San Jose, California, United States