Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 12, 2012, 11:22 PM
Registered User
DerekB's Avatar
Cape Coral, FL
Joined Nov 2001
1,898 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug W View Post
I'm running a Catle 10A BEC, programmed to 4.8V as all my servos are 4.8V (as opposed to 6V)
I'm using the venerable Hextronix HXT900 9 gram servos, since I have a box of them. Guys say they are fine at 6 Volts, but the data is stated at 4.8V. The 8 amp Exceed-RC UBEC says it can be set for 5 or 6 volts, so I'll set it for 5.

Any idea what the retracts need for volts and amps? Have to figure 5 other servos could be moving while the gear goes up or down (presuming flaps are done at a different time than the gear).

Here's some guys test data on the HXT900 servos
4.8v 160ma/290ma/690ma/0.14 sec per 60 degrees
6.0v 190ma/370ma/690ma/0.11 sec per 60 degrees

I don't know why there are 3 different mA numbers. But if we take worst case of 690 ma x 9 servos = 6.2 amps (assumes fighting massive turbulence on all controls while flaps coming down). I think I'm good with 8 amps. I guess with flaps extended, that puts constant load on 4 servos.

On the real bird, for landing, do you put flaps down first or gear down first? Likewise on takeoff, which comes up first, gear or flaps? As a passenger, I never paid much attention. Now I need to learn so I can look really scale
DerekB is offline Find More Posts by DerekB
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 13, 2012, 08:28 AM
6 months to finish a rtf
pulsery2k1's Avatar
upstate ny
Joined Jun 2003
1,832 Posts
DerekB

flying the real the 737 the gear is retracted first and then the flaps

on landing the flap are lowered in stages and the gear usally

at the outer marker approx 5 miles from the runway

also the slats and flaps are coupled on the flap lever
pulsery2k1 is online now Find More Posts by pulsery2k1
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 08:41 AM
Fly it like you STOL it!
Keenan smith's Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Dec 2010
6,821 Posts
^^ditto

same on FSX im at the 5 mile marker from the airport they use the housing estate three blocks down as the marker so i see the gear coming down all the time
Keenan smith is offline Find More Posts by Keenan smith
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 10:42 AM
Registered User
DerekB's Avatar
Cape Coral, FL
Joined Nov 2001
1,898 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pulsery2k1 View Post
DerekB

flying the real the 737 the gear is retracted first and then the flaps

on landing the flap are lowered in stages and the gear usally

at the outer marker approx 5 miles from the runway

also the slats and flaps are coupled on the flap lever
Thanks.

I think I will remember this by "the gear is first up and last down".

So on takeoff, the first switch to hit is the gear. I have a 600 foot runway at the club. With flaps, I'll only need about the first 50 feet, so the gear can be coming up as it passes the main pit area, but flaps still down. That will be cool . Everybody likes to see the gear come up.

It makes sense on takeoff, they want the gear up fast as possible to reduce drag and build airspeed, while still getting good lift from the flaps.

On landing, no sense putting them down until landing is for sure. For landing at the club, it'll be cool to do a low speed flyby with full flaps hanging down and put the gear down while passing the pits. Then loop around for landing.

I gotta get building!!
DerekB is offline Find More Posts by DerekB
Last edited by DerekB; Feb 13, 2012 at 11:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 10:55 AM
Don't Move I've Dropped My Nut
bamaguy's Avatar
United States, AL, Huntsville
Joined Feb 2009
1,641 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekB View Post
For landing at the club, it'll be cool to do a low speed flyby with full flaps hanging down and put the gear down while passing the pits. Then loop around for landing.

I gotta get building!!
Be careful on that "loop around for landing"! You may really excite the crowd by auguring that baby in. If you're low, slow and dirty and turn too tight it WILL stop flying
bamaguy is offline Find More Posts by bamaguy
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 11:58 AM
Registered User
DerekB's Avatar
Cape Coral, FL
Joined Nov 2001
1,898 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bamaguy View Post
Be careful on that "loop around for landing"! You may really excite the crowd by auguring that baby in. If you're low, slow and dirty and turn too tight it WILL stop flying
Yah, I hear ya!! I need to remember this is not 3D ship - not going to punch throttle and knife edge out of it. I will of course practice carefully to get to know the stall character before trying to show off for the crowd .
DerekB is offline Find More Posts by DerekB
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 12:10 PM
Registered User
N437D's Avatar
Houston, TX
Joined Feb 2006
27 Posts
I'm looking into getting one of these kits. I just have a few questions from the members here.
1) Where did everyone get their kits from? ( I've found 2-3 others beside windrider that carry WR's 737)
2) Do the kits come with the 10-11 blade fans as stock? (photos show 4 blade fans)
3) Any thing else needed to know?

Thanks.
N437D is offline Find More Posts by N437D
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 12:14 PM
6 months to finish a rtf
pulsery2k1's Avatar
upstate ny
Joined Jun 2003
1,832 Posts
DerekB

the fly bye is a good thing ,I do it with all my retract models

to assure that all have extended and look to be all the way down.

on real aircraft there are lights to show that the gear is down and
locked or fully retracted with a model its visual

also my transmitter alows for the speed control of the flap servos
so that the flap's extend and retract slowly ,this makes the model
less likly to pitch up or down , the transmitter also is programed
to add some up with flap extension

I use a Hitec aurora 9 but hobby king sells a servo speed controler
pulsery2k1 is online now Find More Posts by pulsery2k1
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 12:29 PM
6 months to finish a rtf
pulsery2k1's Avatar
upstate ny
Joined Jun 2003
1,832 Posts
N437D

depending where you get this ,the fans may or may not be included
as of now I belive they only come with the 4 blade units ,which
with a good motor will fly this with no problem I used ming's
setup and the model has more than enough power.

the 10 blade 70mm fans sound good but I'm not inpressed with
them .
basicly it a easy to fly great model very scale except for the
cockpit window which can be easily fixed
pulsery2k1 is online now Find More Posts by pulsery2k1
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 01:59 PM
Registered User
carrerars's Avatar
Joined Aug 2008
199 Posts
???
what's wrong with the cockpit window ????

Markus
carrerars is offline Find More Posts by carrerars
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 02:02 PM
Fly it like you STOL it!
Keenan smith's Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Dec 2010
6,821 Posts
probably that theres no eyebrows ?
Keenan smith is offline Find More Posts by Keenan smith
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 04:20 PM
Stay Thirsty My Friends
swarick's Avatar
USA, AZ, Gilbert
Joined Mar 2005
2,299 Posts
New 737-700 aircraft coming off the assembly line no longer have eyebrow windows. The carrier I fly for (Southwest) has also removed the windows and replaced them with a plug. Apparently it saves money on maintenance.

Rick
swarick is offline Find More Posts by swarick
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 04:30 PM
Fly it like you STOL it!
Keenan smith's Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Dec 2010
6,821 Posts
what was the point o the eyebrows ??
Keenan smith is offline Find More Posts by Keenan smith
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 06:55 PM
Ming's Avatar
Hong Kong
Joined Jun 2002
4,525 Posts
Yes, we strongly suggest to use 4 blades EDF for 737.

Ming Lou
Ming is offline Find More Posts by Ming
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2012, 07:48 PM
Registered User
Doug W's Avatar
United States, WA, Seattle
Joined Jul 2010
427 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ming View Post
Yes, we strongly suggest to use 4 blades EDF for 737.

Ming Lou
Eyebrow windows= chicks. Chicks dig eyebrow windows, it's a scientific fact.

No eyebrow windows? You better at least have flaps, maybe spoilers or no chicks.

Now, that having been said, they deleted them on production series some time ago, which is a shame really, because now all the Boeing Renton employees are without chicks.

In reality, the only thing they were good for is baking the crew at the gate and blinding them enroute...

(We really do have the nerdiest hobby, I must admit...still, I love it!)
Doug W is offline Find More Posts by Doug W
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Windrider Boeing 737 Ming Scale Kit/Scratch Built 628 Mar 30, 2013 07:20 PM
New Product Boeing 737 philipcmf Foamy EDFs 83 Jan 16, 2011 09:03 AM
Discussion Windrider Boeing 737-700 could be a good glider Ming Slope 44 Jan 06, 2011 07:47 PM
Boeing 737 jermaine Foamies (Kits) 6 Apr 08, 2002 11:21 PM