HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 13, 2013, 08:58 PM
2012 NZ Speedcup - 231 MPH
DownUnderPilot's Avatar
New Zealand, Tasman, Richmond
Joined Mar 2006
2,086 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlowBarless View Post
Voodoo. I have a potentially silly question for you

But what size spinner are you running on your Swist? I need to know shaft size, spinner diameter and prop shaft size.

Do the majority of these outrunner setups use the same sized spinners? Im a newbie with these outrunners.

Thanks man,
Ben
Ben, it depends on the motor - if you're like Voodoo and running a mini pyro, I think he's buried his half way into the fuse? Shaft size varies as well, depending on the motor. Scorpions in that size range are 5mm, the mini pyro is 6mm I think.

If you're working with folders then pretty much the ones suitable for this size range are 8mm, i.e. the centre hub goes onto an 8mm shaft adapter, so you can swap to a fixed prop with an 8mm hole.

Voodoo will have to chip in here...
DownUnderPilot is offline Find More Posts by DownUnderPilot
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 14, 2013, 01:37 AM
The Prop is Where its At!
blitzu's Avatar
New Zealand, Bay Of Plenty, Omokoroa
Joined Dec 2012
875 Posts
If you set up the mini pyro in reverse like my myself and voo doo,the end can dia is 40.5mm...so a 40mm spinner,sharft size is 5mm.
Like DUP says aeronaut folding hub spinners or graupner too..



heya D....hows that 6.25 x11 coming along? I'm keen please :-)
blitzu is online now Find More Posts by blitzu
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 03:14 AM
2012 NZ Speedcup - 231 MPH
DownUnderPilot's Avatar
New Zealand, Tasman, Richmond
Joined Mar 2006
2,086 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blitzu View Post
heya D....hows that 6.25 x11 coming along? I'm keen please :-)
You want a set? No worries.... there are a few ppl ahead of you, hopefully you don't have to wait too long, I've gotten a bit more organised now!
DownUnderPilot is offline Find More Posts by DownUnderPilot
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 03:46 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2008
490 Posts
One of my D60 is stripped. They're brand new so Im not sure whats caused this.
Its glued in with 5min epoxy. Can someone tell me how to get it out without damaging the wing?
Im not concerned about damaging the servo.
The other option is I glue the flaps closed but ideally I'd like to keep the flaps.
Any advice please.
War Machine is offline Find More Posts by War Machine
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 03:53 AM
Chillaxin dude!
BulletMaster's Avatar
Newcastle, NSW, Australia
Joined Apr 2003
4,813 Posts
grind it out with a dremel (ie grind the servo away from the wing). I wrap my wing servos in masking tape before gluing, then if I need to remove the servo, just slice the tape and gently peel from the tape.
BulletMaster is offline Find More Posts by BulletMaster
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 04:48 AM
The Prop is Where its At!
blitzu's Avatar
New Zealand, Bay Of Plenty, Omokoroa
Joined Dec 2012
875 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DownUnderPilot View Post
You want a set? No worries.... there are a few ppl ahead of you, hopefully you don't have to wait too long, I've gotten a bit more organised now!
Yip 4sure I'll put same amount of $ as last time into your account and then you can send when done,no rush cheif...
blitzu is online now Find More Posts by blitzu
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 06:14 AM
I am actually really slow
SlowBarless's Avatar
Brisbane
Joined Jun 2008
976 Posts
Alright thanks guys. I can work with different shaft sizes, it's really the spinner size I need to know. Reason being is instead of moding the 7x10 im doing to have a larger hub. Im just going to mould the spinner integral to the prop. Similar to alot of F3D props out there. Will look real cool and you wont have to buy a spiner to suit.

So im just trying to get a good idea of the most popular spinner diameters before I go mould something
SlowBarless is offline Find More Posts by SlowBarless
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Carbon Fiber up close
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2013, 03:50 PM
You down with EPP?
johnnyrocco123's Avatar
Houston, Tx
Joined May 2009
6,854 Posts
NiMh pack

Hey guys, I am looking for a NiMh battery that I can fit in my Viper.

I have been using a tiny lipo, but the BEC crapped out just before flight.

I tried my EneLoop pack but it's a little too wide (44/21/21mm)

It really doesnt matter how long it is, but I need it no more than 15-16mm wide

I would like to stick with a 4.8V NiMh now.

Any suggestions?
johnnyrocco123 is offline Find More Posts by johnnyrocco123
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 12:09 AM
Registered User
savneo's Avatar
Cyprus
Joined Mar 2012
182 Posts
You could try this, get one of those 9v rectangle batteries inside you will find 6x1.5v small AAA type size batteries wired in
series. Re-configure to how you want.
savneo is online now Find More Posts by savneo
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 01:47 AM
Sure it'll work
Flyextreme's Avatar
United States, CA, Torrance
Joined Nov 2005
4,279 Posts
Make a custom pack http://www.cheapbatterypacks.com/cus...ks.aspx?mid=20

These guys are great!
Flyextreme is offline Find More Posts by Flyextreme
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 01:58 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2008
490 Posts
I managed to grind the servo out with only slight damage to the wing. I put a carbon patch in the servo well to reinforce it.
As if it couldn't get any worse when I was setting up my elevator servo my wiring harness shorted on one of the wing bolts and burned out my receiver.
Hopefully I have better luck flying than building

Quote:
Originally Posted by BulletMaster View Post
grind it out with a dremel (ie grind the servo away from the wing). I wrap my wing servos in masking tape before gluing, then if I need to remove the servo, just slice the tape and gently peel from the tape.
War Machine is offline Find More Posts by War Machine
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 11:58 AM
You down with EPP?
johnnyrocco123's Avatar
Houston, Tx
Joined May 2009
6,854 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyextreme View Post
Make a custom pack http://www.cheapbatterypacks.com/cus...ks.aspx?mid=20

These guys are great!
That's what I was thinking. Do you know which cells are the best? I don't know much about NiMh
johnnyrocco123 is offline Find More Posts by johnnyrocco123
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 01:29 PM
Sure it'll work
Flyextreme's Avatar
United States, CA, Torrance
Joined Nov 2005
4,279 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyrocco123 View Post
That's what I was thinking. Do you know which cells are the best? I don't know much about NiMh
Generally, the price is an indicator of how good. As far as I know, non of there cells are junk.

Each cell has the dimesions listed. Decide on the smallest capacity (mah) your willing to use, and the configuration, it will give you the finished dimesions and approx weight after you've built the pack.

How many servos.
Digi or analog.
One or two flights.....or all day flying between charges.
Weight (CoG).
Where's it going to fit in the fuse.

More than one thing to consider

My Excite runs 3 analogs, and came from Skip Miller with a 150mah pack. To me, that's crazy.

I have DLGs that have 4 digis that I can fly for an hour easy with 350mah packs. And they are very small.

Where I can, I go more mah than needed, just for peace of mind. That's just me.

You can get away with a very small pack (if needed) and charge it before each flight.

Give them a call, they have been very helpful to me.

Bill
Flyextreme is offline Find More Posts by Flyextreme
Last edited by Flyextreme; Jan 15, 2013 at 01:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 02:56 PM
The Prop is Where its At!
blitzu's Avatar
New Zealand, Bay Of Plenty, Omokoroa
Joined Dec 2012
875 Posts
WarMachine
As if it couldn't get any worse when I was setting up my elevator servo my wiring harness shorted on one of the wing bolts and burned out my receiver.
Hopefully I have better luck flying than building [/QUOTE]

True man! Gutt'd...Working while youre too cut aye
How much does the strecker unit weigh?
blitzu is online now Find More Posts by blitzu
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2013, 05:30 PM
You down with EPP?
johnnyrocco123's Avatar
Houston, Tx
Joined May 2009
6,854 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyextreme View Post
Generally, the price is an indicator of how good. As far as I know, non of there cells are junk.

Each cell has the dimesions listed. Decide on the smallest capacity (mah) your willing to use, and the configuration, it will give you the finished dimesions and approx weight after you've built the pack.

How many servos.
Digi or analog.
One or two flights.....or all day flying between charges.
Weight (CoG).
Where's it going to fit in the fuse.

More than one thing to consider

My Excite runs 3 analogs, and came from Skip Miller with a 150mah pack. To me, that's crazy.

I have DLGs that have 4 digis that I can fly for an hour easy with 350mah packs. And they are very small.

Where I can, I go more mah than needed, just for peace of mind. That's just me.

You can get away with a very small pack (if needed) and charge it before each flight.

Give them a call, they have been very helpful to me.

Bill
Ok, I will look into it.

I am looking for the smallest pack I can get between the elevator servo and the side of the fuse (just behind the wing). If I can only get two flights with it, I am fine with that. I am more concerned with saving room. I can't fit everything in this bird. I am running 2 Hyperion DS-09's and 1 MKS 6100
johnnyrocco123 is offline Find More Posts by johnnyrocco123
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools