SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 24, 2011, 04:32 PM
How do I change this text?
Darth_Elevator's Avatar
The Beautiful Mountains of Utah
Joined Oct 2006
6,231 Posts
Still zigzagging, but the zigzagging tapered off quite a bit to the point where you could hardly tell. That's a good improvement from the video I posted last week, where the plane kept zigzagging at about the same rate all the way home.

PPG 25
PDG 25
TPL 20
TPG 50
TIG 55
TDG 55

Next time, I'm thinking about turning Turn Prop Limit down from default 20 to about 15 or so to see if that helps. The manual says that the Prop Limit "controls the maximum error that the heading controller will accept as input." I expect when I turn the value down, it will accept a smaller amount of error and hopefully track on the home position a little tighter. In other words, make the zig zags smaller.

RTH test (0 min 36 sec)
Darth_Elevator is offline Find More Posts by Darth_Elevator
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 24, 2011, 04:55 PM
Blu-Core is my friend
Gundy's Avatar
La Crosse, WI
Joined Apr 2006
812 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth_Elevator View Post
......
PPG 25
PDG 25
TPL 20
TPG 50
TIG 55
TDG 55
...... ......
Did you use full rudder when you did the wizard?

Later,
Gundy
Gundy is offline Find More Posts by Gundy
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2011, 06:51 PM
How do I change this text?
Darth_Elevator's Avatar
The Beautiful Mountains of Utah
Joined Oct 2006
6,231 Posts
I set up low rates for running the safety wizard, and I think I put rudder at about 25%, maybe about 30%, I'll have to check.
Darth_Elevator is offline Find More Posts by Darth_Elevator
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2011, 01:02 AM
Registered User
crashtested's Avatar
USA, RI, East Providence
Joined Jun 2010
418 Posts
Hi All,
My brain is crunching trying to fully understand the switch-on method for RTH on my futaba 9c.

I have it set to trigger the RTH when full throttle is down and switch activates the throttle down %38.
9c is set at 1/4 stick throttle for failsafe.
endpoints are both 100

safety wizard setup:
half throttle for level flight
turn off
turn on
full left rudder
full back elevator


... i run the sim and it seems that the throttle never reaches a positive position after RTH engages. I dont see the plane flying back to me very well with no throttle input.

I also have a rate gyro setup on my roll axis to keep the plane level while turning with the rudder, and for general stability while flying through goggles. bad idea?

please let me know you see where im going wrong.
or if im not giving enough info.

BTW the plane is a easyglider pro with the tail cut, and reattached with a carbon fiber boom ,and custom pusher mount made by a fellow rcgroup member. No maiden since i have owned the plane, but she is balanced and ready. Just waiting for this damn snow to go away. (im in rhode island ...arg)
crashtested is offline Find More Posts by crashtested
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 28, 2011, 09:40 AM
How do I change this text?
Darth_Elevator's Avatar
The Beautiful Mountains of Utah
Joined Oct 2006
6,231 Posts
What is your simulated altitude when you activate RTH? If you're above your cruise altitude, throttle won't engage until you get down to your cruise altitude. Or if you have low altitude RTH disabled, and you're below that level, throttle won't engage.
Darth_Elevator is offline Find More Posts by Darth_Elevator
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2011, 10:25 AM
Blu-Core is my friend
Gundy's Avatar
La Crosse, WI
Joined Apr 2006
812 Posts
Darth beat me to it.

Later,
Gundy
Gundy is offline Find More Posts by Gundy
Last edited by Gundy; Jan 28, 2011 at 10:27 AM. Reason: Darth beat me to it.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2011, 10:53 PM
Registered User
crashtested's Avatar
USA, RI, East Providence
Joined Jun 2010
418 Posts
Aaaaaaha. I'm away on a long work weekend, so I can't wait to confirm this.
Still have tons of snow to wait out until I can fly...

Any thoughts on the elevator gyro setup?

-crashtested
crashtested is offline Find More Posts by crashtested
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by crashtested; Jan 30, 2011 at 11:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2011, 11:11 PM
How do I change this text?
Darth_Elevator's Avatar
The Beautiful Mountains of Utah
Joined Oct 2006
6,231 Posts
I hope someone else will chime in on the gyro question. I've never used a gyro.
Darth_Elevator is offline Find More Posts by Darth_Elevator
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2011, 11:12 PM
Postcards From The Purple Edge
tuppertn's Avatar
United States, OK, Sand Springs
Joined May 2007
3,919 Posts
Another great thread with excellent timing. I'm setting mine up now and having a couple of issues on the bench. I posted over on ET's thread in the Vendor Forums and waiting on Bill to have a chance to respond. I'd appreciate any help you guys could give as well.

Posts 208 & 209 here.

kendall
tuppertn is offline Find More Posts by tuppertn
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2011, 08:00 AM
Registered User
Thint1's Avatar
Austria / Vienna
Joined Feb 2007
1,303 Posts
settings for skywalker without stabilizer?

hi,
i´m building on my skywalker, maybe the maiden will be in march (temperature should be > 15°C).
i use the fma sensor for rth. anybody here with proven settings for the skywalker without any autopilots/stabilizers?

@ralf: you wrote all at 20 ??? .... pls. post the single values

Thomas
Thint1 is offline Find More Posts by Thint1
Last edited by Thint1; Jan 31, 2011 at 08:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 31, 2011, 08:16 AM
Registered User
Thint1's Avatar
Austria / Vienna
Joined Feb 2007
1,303 Posts
hi cashtested,

i use the cheap turnigy gyros in some of my gliders. this gyro have no "heading hold" like the gyros used in helis. that means the gyro only make a compensation against an interference from an external source. a gain of 25% is o.k. in most cases.

why not use the gyro on the ailerons - the elevator should not need a gyro, if the c.g. and the down thrust of the motor is o.k.

Thomas
Thint1 is offline Find More Posts by Thint1
Last edited by Thint1; Jan 31, 2011 at 08:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2011, 10:17 AM
Registered User
crashtested's Avatar
USA, RI, East Providence
Joined Jun 2010
418 Posts
gy401 on rate seems to be working well !

any guesses to why my altitude ladder isnt moving during simulator?
crashtested is offline Find More Posts by crashtested
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 02, 2011, 10:36 AM
Registered User
blively's Avatar
USA, GA, Atlanta
Joined Jun 2008
207 Posts
Anyone have there settings for RTH on an Easy Star?

For setup is it better to run the RTH wizard without my FY-20A stabilization hooked up? Or does it matter?
blively is offline Find More Posts by blively
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2011, 10:58 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
130 Posts
I bought Ritewing Zephyr, somebody have configuration of RTH for it ?
Thanks for all
felipesalomao is offline Find More Posts by felipesalomao
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2011, 12:38 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
130 Posts
Rsrs, i forgot to say, i already have OSD, my osd is OSDPRO from Eagle tree, some body have RTH config for ritewing zephyr ? Thanks for all
felipesalomao is offline Find More Posts by felipesalomao
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted Eagle Tree OSD Pro w/ GPS 100A elogger, Eagle Eyes , Diversity set Up patrick21x FPV Equipment (FS/W) 1 Dec 22, 2010 07:32 PM
Help! Eagle Tree OSD Pro, No Aileron Output i-dru Eagle Tree Systems 6 Nov 01, 2010 04:12 PM
Discussion Futaba 9c, Dragon Link, Eagle Tree OSD Pro. Gundy FPV Talk 2 Oct 12, 2010 09:21 AM
Discussion Where can I find RTH Manual Eagle Tree OSD pro? rapghsi FPV Talk 3 Oct 04, 2010 02:11 PM
Discussion Eagle Tree OSD pro package deal dbramley FPV Talk 1 Oct 03, 2010 11:37 PM