HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 29, 2010, 07:22 PM
Joined Dec 2010
8 Posts
Discussion
Please help newbie start Savage X, flooded and now cannot start

Hello, my first time here and I'm a newbie to the hobby.

I cannot get my engine started today. It worked fine several times yesterday.

My rotostart is stopping and resetting, and the engine was flooded pretty bad but I've removed the plug and cleared it properly several times, and it does not seem to be flooded any more. But the rotostart still struggles.

The odd thing is if I prime the engine the rotostart has no trouble usually (but sometimes will not be able to do this either), but as soon as I touch it with my glow plug starter the rotostart can no longer turn over the engine, and then the red reset switch pops out after a couple seconds.

At one point the truck made a strange gurgling sound for a second, possible there is fuel up in the air filter area or something?
All settings are flush and default.
My glow plug lights up fine.

Thanks for any help, can't wait to run this thing some more.
Jasonrj is offline Find More Posts by Jasonrj
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 29, 2010, 11:45 PM
Kowalski !.....Options
USA, MI, Hastings
Joined Jan 2007
2,390 Posts
It sounds like you are getting to much fuel. If the engine has been broke in lean it .You should be getting a constant tone and a steady blue plume of smoke. You should need just a small shot with the primmer. don't over do it. It sounds like the engine is locking up from to much fuel in the cylinder.
mredzadventure is offline Find More Posts by mredzadventure
Old Dec 30, 2010, 12:06 AM
Joined Dec 2010
8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mredzadventure View Post