Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Dec 23, 2010, 09:20 AM
SW Fla.
Joined Dec 2010
34 Posts
Discussion
New to RC with Propel Gyrocopter

Not sure if this is the right forum but lets try. I purchased a Propel W6625 helo from BJ's to play with, have been looking at small ones for a while and dropped $39.95 for it. They even offer a 2 year replacement policy for $6.95!
Its 3.5 channel and after a little practice I am hooked...LOL
Since I am new to this, I do have a few questions
I guess that this helo is similar or a clone of others..any ideas. I read that the battery should be cool before charging and then kept charged? How long do these batteries last..not running time but total life?
Thanks in advance and I am sure I will have more questions.
Tom
Nimble1 is offline Find More Posts by Nimble1
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 23, 2010, 09:32 AM
2011 - Year of the clones!!!
Australia, SA, Adelaide
Joined Nov 2010
2,759 Posts
LiPo batteries are temperamental little suckers.

Some tips:
  • Always allow a 5-10 minute cool down period after charging.
  • Always allow a 5-10 minute cool down period after use/flying and before charging.
  • Do not run the battery all the way down! This is crucial to its survival. Many people accomplish this by timing their flights and not exceeding the 5 minute mark.
  • When not in use, store the battery at approximately 75% charge. Just charge it for 10 minutes or so.

The ones I have don't seem to last very long. Some die completely and some show obvious signs of performance degradation. I'd say a few months is a reasonable life expectancy given constant daily use. Others will swear that their LiPo's last for years but I haven't been so fortunate.
Frank_fjs is offline Find More Posts by Frank_fjs
Old Dec 23, 2010, 09:32 AM
USA, TX, Diboll
Joined Aug 2007
224 Posts
Hi Tom,