Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Dec 22, 2010, 06:02 PM
Joined Sep 2001
151 Posts
Question
How to repair balsa sheeted foam wing?

Hi,

I have just acquired a 1.5 meter glider (Gerasis Bella VE sold by Hobby Lobby) with a damaged balsa sheeted foam wing.

The sheeting on the top is creased along a line (left picture) and the bottom sheeting does not appear damaged (right picture; the broken covering is over the servo bay). The crease is on the opposite side of the servo bay opening. When I check inside the bay, the foam in the bay area is buckled, but the foam in surrounding area seems fine.

Can anyone suggest how I should fix it?

By the way, I am new to sheeted wings and they seems to be much heavier than build-up wings. Are sheeted wings much stronger than build-up ones?

Thanks.
smau1 is offline Find More Posts by smau1
Last edited by smau1; Dec 22, 2010 at 06:55 PM. Reason: clarifications
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 23, 2010, 12:02 PM
k2k
United States, CA, Oceanside
Joined May 2003
430 Posts
I would cut two 3" long span-wise 1/8" slots from the bottom, one infront of the servo box at the maximum thickness of the wing and one behind the servo box. Cut down to the top sheeting but not through it. Cut two 1/8" lite ply pieces to fit in the slots and glue them in with the wing straight. My preference would be to use polyurethane glue (Gorilla glue), but epoxy or other glues will work. Make sure whatever glue you use does not melt foam (Goop, regular CA).