Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Dec 21, 2010, 08:39 PM
Read My Blog!
Northern California
Joined Jan 2009
1,845 Posts
Discussion
*Funbuild 4* Caravan

About two weeks ago I started drawing plans for a Cessna Caravan. I had been flying it a lot in Flight Simulator X and though it would make a cool RC airplane.

After reading Pat Tritle's Pilatus Porter build thread I was rearing to go on a similar size Caravan. After locating some 3 views I enlarged them and started the long drawing process. I had JUST started gluing sticks together on Saturday when John announced that there could be a scratch-build addition to the Fun-Build so I decided to give it a go.

So far designing my own airplane has had it's ups and downs but I am REALLY liking the result so far.

Fun build thread: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1344856

HT
HawkerTyphoon is offline Find More Posts by HawkerTyphoon
Last edited by HawkerTyphoon; Feb 09, 2011 at 08:06 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 22, 2010, 11:30 AM
Read My Blog!
Northern California
Joined Jan 2009
1,845 Posts
Since I have already started my model, I will continue updating it here until I reach the point to where I am at.

Here I have finished framing up one of the two sides. I built this one and then laid a piece of wax paper over top, and built the seccond directly over top of the first to ensure that they were exactly the same.

HT
Old Dec 22, 2010, 12:25 PM
Airliner Builder
United States, WA, Seattle
Joined Feb 2010
1,943 Posts
Sweet a Caravan! I also like to fly this bird in FS

Watching with interest!
WAGliderGuy is offline Find More Posts by WAGliderGuy
Old Dec 22, 2010, 03:06 PM
Read My Blog!
Northern California
Joined Jan 2009
1,845 Posts
Here is a picture of the sides completed. I then started by gluing in the wing formers. These are solid 1/8th balsa.

HT
Old Dec 22, 2010, 04:22 PM
Read My Blog!
Northern California
Joined Jan 2009
1,845 Posts