Old Dec 16, 2010, 08:23 PM
yyz
USA, CA, Paso Robles
Joined Dec 2004
2,401 Posts
Help!
XFLR5 Wing Design Help Needed

Greetings All,

I am attempting to design a scale sailplane wing with XFLR5 and am having some issues that I could use some help with.

The wing is for a 1:3 scale Schempp-Hirth Discus 2c. The wing is flapless which, counterintuitively, makes the design a little more challenging.

I am using the tutorial written by Francesco Mescia (http://www.rcsoaringdigest.com/pdfs/...SD-2008-02.pdf), plugging in my values where appropriate.

The problem I'm having is with the spanwise lift distribution. Can someone explain the downward "spikes" I'm getting around the quarter span?

Thanks in advance,

Mike
yyz is offline Find More Posts by yyz
Last edited by yyz; Dec 16, 2010 at 11:17 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 17, 2010, 12:21 AM
Master of the Wind
United States, CA, San Jose
Joined Sep 2008
1,168 Posts
I'm not an expert but I will play around with it if I have any time to goof off tomorrow.
G Norsworthy is offline Find More Posts by G Norsworthy
Old Dec 17, 2010, 03:40 AM
flying monkey
Europe
Joined Sep 2008
123 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by yyz View Post
The problem I'm having is with the spanwise lift distribution. Can someone explain the downward "spikes" I'm getting around the quarter span?
You have 12 y-panels on the inner portion of the wing but only 1 for each of the other sections. Try increasing the number of y-panels for these sections first.
About the airfoil choice: I don't think you will get away with a foil that only has 8% thickness. I'd recommend 11% at the root and between 9 an 10% for the rest of the wing.

Friedmar
frichte is offline Find More Posts by frichte
Old Dec 17, 2010, 01:28 PM
Master of the Wind
Joined Sep 2008
1,168 Posts
My XC wing was done with 11 y panels per division.