New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by IBCrazy, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Feb 01, 2013, 08:52 PM
onefastxp is offline
Find More Posts by onefastxp
crashing build's character.
United States, AL, Dora
Joined Mar 2008
573 Posts
will it hurt to paint my bluebeam ant? it a 900mhz fpv
onefastxp is offline Find More Posts by onefastxp
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 01, 2013, 09:03 PM
Wettfeat is offline
Find More Posts by Wettfeat
"FPV"er not a "LOS"er
Wettfeat's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined Feb 2012
360 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by onefastxp View Post
will it hurt to paint my bluebeam ant? it a 900mhz fpv
Probably a little bit. I would guess not much, but anything in the way of the signal will distort it to some degree, even air.
Wettfeat is offline Find More Posts by Wettfeat
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2013, 11:40 PM
onefastxp is offline
Find More Posts by onefastxp
crashing build's character.
United States, AL, Dora
Joined Mar 2008
573 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wettfeat View Post
Probably a little bit. I would guess not much, but anything in the way of the signal will distort it to some degree, even air.
i guess i better start scraping it off it has two coats.
onefastxp is offline Find More Posts by onefastxp
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2013, 11:42 PM
ucandoit is offline
Find More Posts by ucandoit
Registered User
Joined Oct 2005
111 Posts
Tv

I was looking at this TV it looks like a lot have good success with it. Just wanted to get some input and see what you guys think.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00..._ya_os_product


Or would I wise to go with (below) but I do like the bigger screen

http://www.readymaderc.com/store/ind...oducts_id=1192
ucandoit is offline Find More Posts by ucandoit
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 07:05 AM
Wettfeat is offline
Find More Posts by Wettfeat
"FPV"er not a "LOS"er
Wettfeat's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined Feb 2012
360 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by onefastxp View Post
i guess i better start scraping it off it has two coats.
Dunk it in acetone, (nailpolish remover) that will help to break up the paint.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ucandoit View Post
I was looking at this TV it looks like a lot have good success with it. Just wanted to get some input and see what you guys think.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00..._ya_os_product


Or would I wise to go with (below) but I do like the bigger screen

http://www.readymaderc.com/store/ind...oducts_id=1192
Or get a set of Fatsharks, they cost about the same, or a little more, than the big TV.
Wettfeat is offline Find More Posts by Wettfeat
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 10:57 AM
ucandoit is offline
Find More Posts by ucandoit
Registered User
Joined Oct 2005
111 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wettfeat View Post
Dunk it in acetone, (nailpolish remover) that will help to break up the paint.



Or get a set of Fatsharks, they cost about the same, or a little more, than the big TV.
Thanks but NO. I want a TV
ucandoit is offline Find More Posts by ucandoit
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 12:17 PM
Wettfeat is offline
Find More Posts by Wettfeat
"FPV"er not a "LOS"er
Wettfeat's Avatar
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined Feb 2012
360 Posts
Alright, alright! I had good luck today with my Fatshark's and the included vTX. I get good range and I'm more confident in my flying abilities. I need to get a mic and wire that in so I'll have even more peace of mind.
Wettfeat is offline Find More Posts by Wettfeat
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 01:20 PM
IBCrazy is offline
Find More Posts by IBCrazy
Engineer for Christ
IBCrazy's Avatar
Amherst, VA
Joined Jun 2006
10,965 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by onefastxp View Post
will it hurt to paint my bluebeam ant? it a 900mhz fpv
Nothing noticeable unless the paint exceeds 1/8" thick. Chances are you have less than that thickness so you are ok.

-Alex
IBCrazy is offline Find More Posts by IBCrazy
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 04:07 PM
williamjames is offline
Find More Posts by williamjames
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
765 Posts
I have a question regarding wiring harnesses. In the past, I have been using servo wire (which I believe is 24 or 26 awg). What I would like to know is what effect it would have on my video if I used a thinner wire gauge.... would I see a reduction in video quality? In contrast, would I get better quality if I used wires that were a little bit thicker?
williamjames is offline Find More Posts by williamjames
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 06:25 PM
Capt. Crunch is offline
Find More Posts by Capt. Crunch
It's all fun till Crunch!
Capt. Crunch's Avatar
InSane Diego
Joined Jan 2002
2,032 Posts
There should be no discernable diff in using larger gauge wire, servo wire is fine.

What may make a difference is using gold plated conns in the video circuit, they have less resisantance especiatly at low volts, like video signals. They also don't tarnish like tinned conns that are supplied with most equipmt.

I tend to replace all my conns with gold plated Deans and bullets, just to gain a little extra reliability.
I fyou don't solder well take an online course or even better check with you local Adult Ed or Vocational school for a possible hands on class, you'd be amazed in the Tips & Tricks dept.
Capt. Crunch is offline Find More Posts by Capt. Crunch
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 06:28 PM
onefastxp is offline
Find More Posts by onefastxp
crashing build's character.
United States, AL, Dora
Joined Mar 2008
573 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IBCrazy View Post
Nothing noticeable unless the paint exceeds 1/8" thick. Chances are you have less than that thickness so you are ok.

-Alex
thanks.
onefastxp is offline Find More Posts by onefastxp
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 07:12 PM
williamjames is offline
Find More Posts by williamjames
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
765 Posts
Thanks a bunch. I guess I'm a little paranoid because I just got some 1.25mm connectors that plug into my flight camera and the wires are pretty thin. I don't know what they would qualify as on the AWG scale but they are about 1/2 the thickness of your standard servo wires... is this cause for concern?



Quote:
Originally Posted by Capt. Crunch View Post
There should be no discernable diff in using larger gauge wire, servo wire is fine.

What may make a difference is using gold plated conns in the video circuit, they have less resisantance especiatly at low volts, like video signals. They also don't tarnish like tinned conns that are supplied with most equipmt.

I tend to replace all my conns with gold plated Deans and bullets, just to gain a little extra reliability.
I fyou don't solder well take an online course or even better check with you local Adult Ed or Vocational school for a possible hands on class, you'd be amazed in the Tips & Tricks dept.
williamjames is offline Find More Posts by williamjames
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 07:23 PM
Capt. Crunch is offline
Find More Posts by Capt. Crunch
It's all fun till Crunch!
Capt. Crunch's Avatar
InSane Diego
Joined Jan 2002
2,032 Posts
Wow, that seems a bit thin, esp for the power leads;Blk & Wht-Red, if you want to, go ahead & replace with reg heavy servo wire.
Capt. Crunch is offline Find More Posts by Capt. Crunch
Last edited by Capt. Crunch; Feb 02, 2013 at 07:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2013, 11:20 PM
Wingbreaker is offline
Find More Posts by Wingbreaker
Video Juggernaut
Wingbreaker's Avatar
United States, FL, Satellite Beach
Joined Nov 2003
2,812 Posts
Hi, I need some advice. I'm putting together a cheap fpv kit.

How is this set?

http://hobbywireless.com/index.php?m...84bdef18a1f73d

I own this monitor, will it work? What mods can I do to power it with my lipo batteries if any?

lilliput 668gl 70np/h/y 7

I plan to use either my go pro HD v1 or Gopro Black for the camera.

http://www.amazon.com/Lilliput-On-ca.../dp/B004VD7V54

Any advice would be helpful. TIA
Wingbreaker is offline Find More Posts by Wingbreaker
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 03, 2013, 09:57 AM
Wingbreaker is offline
Find More Posts by Wingbreaker
Video Juggernaut
Wingbreaker's Avatar
United States, FL, Satellite Beach
Joined Nov 2003
2,812 Posts
Well I blew a wad on a bunch of stuff. Hopefully I did well. I have no clue what I'm doing.

http://hobbywireless.com/index.php?m...roducts_id=883

http://hobbywireless.com/index.php?m...roducts_id=701

http://hobbywireless.com/index.php?m...roducts_id=389

http://hobbywireless.com/index.php?m...products_id=27

http://hobbywireless.com/index.php?m...roducts_id=340

http://www.ebay.com/itm/clear-up-1-2...item51a725298f

http://www.ebay.com/itm/ParkZone-Ico...item2323516e38

http://www.redrockethobbies.com/Park...shoppingengine

I also own a lilliput 668gl 70np/h/y 7" HD monitor. Good for a ground station monitor for second viewer?
Wingbreaker is offline Find More Posts by Wingbreaker
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion How to calculate flight time - guide ikorman Multirotor Talk 15 Feb 01, 2015 10:12 PM
Discussion How many FPV pilots in the world? rbmaze FPV Talk 10 Aug 03, 2011 06:16 AM
Poll Would you be interested in buying Ready to Fly FPV airplanes from a new FPV store? FPVNOW FPV Aircraft 36 Oct 06, 2010 08:56 PM
Discussion Can this cam be used for FPV ? SpookiePower FPV Talk 8 Sep 12, 2010 07:12 AM
Cool How cool would this be for FPV Kai_Shiden FPV Talk 2 May 11, 2009 07:41 PM