SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by IBCrazy, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Mar 01, 2011, 07:57 AM
"Chuck Yeager"
hotdog1's Avatar
Bradenton FL
Joined Apr 2010
842 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IBCrazy View Post
The Spektrum full range RX with satellite reciever isn't terrible, but the rest are. It is kind of scary that some people use a park flyer Spectrum RX for FPV.

Remember, it's not the radio that gives the range, it's the reciever.

-Alex
Maybe that was part of my problem I was using a AR600 it dosn't have a satellite but I was under the impression it is supposed to be a full range reciver
hotdog1 is offline Find More Posts by hotdog1
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 01, 2011, 01:29 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
29,078 Posts
While it is known to perform better than the AR6100 because it has
two receivers internally it is still considered a a Park Flyer receiver.
http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...ProdID=SPM6000

If folks are going to try to use Spektrum for FPV instead of one of the
more proven 2.4Ghz systems, then *at least* go for a decent full range
receiver, preferably with diversity, like the AR7000. Anything less is
asking for trouble, and just trying to mask the weaknesses of a
crappy receiver with mega power, is not the answer.

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Old Mar 01, 2011, 02:00 PM
Why is the Rum gone?
sim_io's Avatar
USA, GA, Savannah
Joined Mar 2008
1,668 Posts
What people can do is still risk it and use the same receiver and have a booster on the tx side to maybe help up things a bit. But range is more about the receiver than the transmitter. Unless you already have a 72/35mhz radio you can just go UHF on the spektrum. My friend got a dragon link working fine on his dx6i, its a good investment.
sim_io is offline Find More Posts by sim_io
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 01, 2011, 02:55 PM
Engineer for Christ
IBCrazy's Avatar
Amherst, VA
Joined Jun 2006
10,567 Posts
^^ +1 to each of the two above posts!
IBCrazy is offline Find More Posts by IBCrazy
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 01, 2011, 02:57 PM
Engineer for Christ
IBCrazy's Avatar
Amherst, VA
Joined Jun 2006
10,567 Posts
Antenna selection guide added

I added an antenna selection guide to help with the confusion that has been going around lately with the introduction of several new antennas.

I hope it helps you make a more educated decision.

-Alex
IBCrazy is offline Find More Posts by IBCrazy
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2011, 02:55 AM
Registered User
EhDolph's Avatar
Canada Eh
Joined Feb 2011
13 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IBCrazy View Post
I added an antenna selection guide to help with the confusion that has been going around lately with the introduction of several new antennas.

I hope it helps you make a more educated decision.

-Alex
Thanks for antenna guide.That helped out quite alot. Its going to be nice to swap out my stock one for your custom V antenna when it arrives.
EhDolph is offline Find More Posts by EhDolph
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2011, 12:42 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2009
104 Posts
Hello,
I bought an FPV kit from Spain (ElectronicaRC) and ok, they went like "I will send you everything connected and ready to fly" but then everything arrived with no instructions...
So I really hope for your help.
What I got is:
RCV922 kit (Fatshark goggles + 5db rx antenna)
500 mw video TX
EZosd with current sensor
X-gyro 1000 head-tracker
Sony HD camera with universal pan&tilt
1 1000 mA lipo for the tx

Let's start with the questions.
The kit arrived ready, connected already, but it looks like the only way to power everything is by the current sensor, as it has an out named "tx pwr" going straight to the tx of course.
I want to power the tx-camera and osd by the separate 3 cell lipo, so what i did so far was to disconnect the tx pwr wire from the current sensor and the video tx, and connect the lipo to the video tx power in.
There is some sort of transmission, as the goggle show a blank screen and no static, nut no image coming from the camera.
On the video tx there is a jumper which can be set for camera pwr: 2 settings: 1- "ext"(ernal) 2-"5V", tried both but no change in the situation.
Do you think I can try to connect the main lipo (the one i use for the plane) to the current sensor without connecting it to the esc(s) and see if some sort of power is sent to the camera?

What do you suggest in general?
I guess a step by step guide would be very useful...

Thank you very much
Fabrizio
fabmic is offline Find More Posts by fabmic
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2011, 01:00 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
29,078 Posts
I think it might be a 5V Tx so I hope you're not trying to power it directly from a 3S battery.
I see no mention of a BEC.
You also don't say anything about how your camera is connected to your Tx.
Generally if you see a clear black screen from the Rx output, then the Tx
is transmitting, and the problem is either with the camera, or the connection
between camera and Tx. The jumpers on the Tx are only if you plan to
power the camera from the Tx which I assume not not doing with an Sony HD camera.

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Daemon; Mar 02, 2011 at 01:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2011, 02:58 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2009
104 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
I think it might be a 5V Tx so I hope you're not trying to power it directly from a 3S battery.
I see no mention of a BEC.
You also don't say anything about how your camera is connected to your Tx.
Generally if you see a clear black screen from the Rx output, then the Tx
is transmitting, and the problem is either with the camera, or the connection
between camera and Tx. The jumpers on the Tx are only if you plan to
power the camera from the Tx which I assume not not doing with an Sony HD camera.
I am actually couple of steps ahead now.
Camera is connected to the tx via the osd (EZosd) which has a video IN.
The Video TX has its own lipo battery and yes accepts the 3 cell.
I managed to get video from the camera.
If I connect only the video tx to its own lipo, I get only the blank screen and no osd. When I connect the main lipo which is used to power the plane, I get video link from the camera and osd data.
This means the video tx will be powered on its own, and the camera will be powered by the main lipo via osd.
The jumper positions are EXT or 5V, and the only way the camera works is on EXT.
I wonder if there could be interference on the video with such set-up...
fabmic is offline Find More Posts by fabmic
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2011, 06:43 PM
Never trust laughing dolphins
Joined Feb 2011
2,098 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IBCrazy View Post
The Spektrum full range RX with satellite reciever isn't terrible, but the rest are. It is kind of scary that some people use a park flyer Spectrum RX for FPV.

Remember, it's not the radio that gives the range, it's the reciever.

-Alex
It's more likely simply because a lot of people own Spektrum transmitters.

I really think it's pretty stubborn to insist on using Spektrum for anything FPV over 500m range. It's just begging for the inevitable.

Not every receiver is the same, no doubt, but even the ones with a satellite receiver get these lock-outs.

The issue is a global Spektrum receiver issue because of their pretty bad out of band signal rejection. A satellite really won't help much, let alone the 'new' DSMX which only gives a true benefit when flying with dozens of Spektrum transmitters in the same area and does very little when it comes to range.
PHMX is offline Find More Posts by PHMX
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2011, 03:27 AM
bucket of prop wash
garrcass's Avatar
reddinng CA
Joined Dec 2007
950 Posts
I have a old nikkon coolpix 4600 is it possible to hack these cameras apart and use them for a FPV camera ?
garrcass is offline Find More Posts by garrcass
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 03, 2011, 06:20 AM
Never trust laughing dolphins
Joined Feb 2011
2,098 Posts
If it has any kind of video output you can make sense of then, yes you can.

Most video cameras or camcorders can be hacked, because they usually will have a nice video output you can mod.

Basically the camera will need two things to work for FPV, a video signal and power. Optional will be the audio signal.
PHMX is offline Find More Posts by PHMX
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 04, 2011, 02:28 PM
Registered User
USA, NJ, Union City
Joined Jul 2010
261 Posts
can someone tell me the range of a 2.4ghz radio? it's the flysky 6ch radio, I believe it's very short cause it's a very cheap radio!
RcNewbAddict is offline Find More Posts by RcNewbAddict
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 04, 2011, 02:37 PM
Engineer for Christ
IBCrazy's Avatar
Amherst, VA
Joined Jun 2006
10,567 Posts
Range is determined by the receiver, not the transmitter.

The FRSky will do 1 mile with ease. 2 miles is about the limit to where I would push it.

-Alex
IBCrazy is offline Find More Posts by IBCrazy
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 04, 2011, 02:40 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Lakewood, Colorado
Joined Aug 2002
29,078 Posts
He said FlySky not FrSky. Flysky is much cheaper gear, and I wouldn't trust it for FPV use.

ian
Daemon is offline Find More Posts by Daemon
RCG Plus Member
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion How to calculate flight time - guide ikorman Multirotor Talk 11 Dec 30, 2011 08:22 PM
Discussion How many FPV pilots in the world? rbmaze FPV Talk 10 Aug 03, 2011 07:16 AM
Poll Would you be interested in buying Ready to Fly FPV airplanes from a new FPV store? FPVNOW FPV Aircraft 36 Oct 06, 2010 09:56 PM
Discussion Can this cam be used for FPV ? SpookiePower FPV Talk 8 Sep 12, 2010 08:12 AM
Cool How cool would this be for FPV Kai_Shiden FPV Talk 2 May 11, 2009 08:41 PM