HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 06, 2010, 02:18 PM
USA, WA, Vancouver
Joined Oct 2010
43 Posts
Build Log
S.S. Escondido

I am in process of a scratch built towboat that is going very slowly and my kids frequently ask when it will be done so they can 'drive' it. So, because I'm not getting that project done anytime soon I decided to start another one!

I wanted something scale looking yet fairly straightforward so that it can be built without a huge time investment and also so my kids can help me.

I decided that Glynn Guest's plans fit the bill and so starts the S.S. Escondido.

This will not be a quick build, due to my work schedule, but I should be able to do a few minutes here and there and still get alot done.

I have 6 scale vessels in progress but this will be my first build log and I am still new at this so I'll be looking for help from you all as I go along.
Towing101 is offline Find More Posts by Towing101
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 06, 2010, 02:32 PM
USA, WA, Vancouver
Joined Oct 2010
43 Posts
All the main parts are cut from 1/4" balsa at the standard 4" width and then glued together.
I did this a few weeks ago and have not yet made any further progress.

I'm stuck at propulsion now and want to get that installed before continuing building and I need some help here. This is a fairly small, lightweight model (30" long x 4" beam) and I'd the plans call for it to be twin screw. I'd like to follow that if I can find motors/gears to keep the price down.

What do you guys think of having 2 of these micro gear motors to drive this thing?
http://www.robotshop.com/pololu-30-t...l-gear-hp.html

They would not be independently controlled but both running off one viper 15 marine esc.
(I can do that right...run 2 brushed motors in parallel off one esc?)
Anyone know of any other options?
Old Dec 06, 2010, 08:37 PM
Sea Dragon-Lover
PDX, OR
Joined Dec 2002
10,268 Posts