HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 05, 2010, 09:45 AM
Joined Jun 2008
275 Posts
Discussion
How to hang a plane from the ceiling???

OK, I'm just getting started in this hobby, and I only have a total of two planes now, but I will be adding to my fleet after Xmas. I know a lot of you hang your planes from the ceiling to keep them out of the way. I just need to know the various ways to do this. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks, guys,
Mike
aclinml is online now Find More Posts by aclinml
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 05, 2010, 11:13 AM
San Diego, California
Joined Dec 2004
3,538 Posts
I usually try to find a horizontal ceiling member, and screw a fairly long hook through the ceiling tile and into that. Then very strong string or stainless fishing leader for the suspension mechanism.

Les
LesUyeda is offline Find More Posts by LesUyeda
Old Dec 05, 2010, 03:28 PM
All under control, Grommit!
United Kingdom, Aberdeen
Joined Sep 2000
12,650 Posts
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...2&postcount=11
leccyflyer is offline Find More Posts by leccyflyer
Old Dec 05, 2010, 07:18 PM
United States, CA, Garden Grove
Joined Oct 2000
12,199 Posts
If you have drywall walls you can nail picture hooks to the wall and make a loop of wire to go in back of the landing gear and hang it on the hook so plane hangs against the wall. You can also lake a loop of wire and hang plane by the tail against the wall. You can make two loops of wire to go onto each wing and hang both loops on a single hook in the ceiling. You can make a "stacking rack" of PVC pipe fittings and pipe with a number of pieces sticking out for the planes wings to rest on. Make it movable or mounted on the wall.
E-Challenged is offline Find More Posts by E-Challenged
Old Dec 05, 2010, 08:27 PM
Joined Oct 2006
51 Posts
[PHP]leccyflyer http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...2&postcount=11[/PHP]