HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 02, 2010, 09:02 AM
Joined Nov 2010
548 Posts
Discussion
How do I know for how long I can fly?

Hi. I'm new to RC flying and I haven't got my plane yet, but I want to ask one question in advance.

I ordered a Zippy Flightmax 2200mAh lipo battery, so my main concern is that, if I fly for too long, emptying the lipo completely, will the lipo get damaged?

So my question is, should I take the time I fly? I mean, it's sometimes cold weather so the flight time cant be accurate... how do you know when to stop?

Any ideas?
raRaRa is offline Find More Posts by raRaRa
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 02, 2010, 09:18 AM
Fueled by Arabica Beans
United States, NY, Syracuse
Joined Oct 2008
3,825 Posts
After a while you can get a general feel for how long a certain plane will fly on how much battery pack it has. But, ultimately it will come down to trial and error. First thing you really need is a charger that tells you how much capacity has been "replaced" when charging. What I do is take a new plane out and fly for 5 minutes and then go charge it and see how much capacity it takes to get back up to full.

So say I had a 2200 mAh pack like yours and after 5 mins it took 1200 mAh to charge up... that means that there was 1000 mAh of capacity left.

You can probably safely take the pack down to about 10% of it's capacity, which would be 220 mAh

So you have 1000-220 = 780 mAh of safe capacity left in the pack after 5 mins.

If 1200 mAh = 5 mins, then 780 mAh = (780/1200)*5 mins = 3.25 mins, which gives you 8.25 mins of total flying time when combined with the initial 5 mins.

I might take the plane up for 7 mins the next few times and record the amount it takes to charge to get an average max flight time... I like to set my flight timer to a minute or two before that time is up so I have time to line up for a landing or two.