HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 30, 2010, 08:10 AM
BEAR-AvHistory's Avatar
RDRC NC USA
Joined Mar 2009
569 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by symdnn View Post
Thank you for that
Here is the charger I use http://www.hobbypartz.com/60p-dyc-1004.html
Yep, you are good to go. Just be sure to set it up according to the directions that came with it.
BEAR-AvHistory is offline Find More Posts by BEAR-AvHistory
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 30, 2010, 09:28 AM
Yeah, I can fly...
wyldkrd's Avatar
Mesa, Arizona
Joined Jun 2005
2,454 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyldkrd View Post
About 80% complete with mine. I ordered the smaller 3548 900kv...That's actually the motor it states in the manual

"The 3548-09 is a 5.8 ounce, 900KV direct drive outrunner brushless motor capable of producing 70 oz of thrust from a 3 cell Lipo battery and a 13 inch prop. It will also provide very nice performance with a 4-cell Lipo battery when using the TP 11x5.5E prop.

The 3548-09 is close in performance to a 40 size glow engine, and will power 40 class trainers very nicely. I installed the 3548-09 in a 40 size trainer, and I used the APC 13x6.5E prop and two Power Up 11.1v 2200 20C Lipos connected in parallel with a Parallel Battery Harness. This combination provided a very good rate of climb and I could fly for over 20 minutes doing touch and go landings".

I have it on the plane using Flightmax 30c 3300 3s, Hyperion 60a ESC with the APC 13X8E. I did not hook up the wattmeter yet but ran it up to full had tons of power and nothing seemed to overheat or even be warm. Gonna wattmeter it when I get home. I have other big motors if the numbers don't look good.
Wattmeter gave me about 39 amps peak at 413W. I think I'm going to go with this motor. I have a 4s batt I'm picking up tomorrow, that might be the absolute ticket.
wyldkrd is online now Find More Posts by wyldkrd
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2010, 12:45 PM
Team Wack-a-Mole
Melnic's Avatar
Maryland
Joined Oct 2008
8,437 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wyldkrd View Post
Wattmeter gave me about 39 amps peak at 413W. I think I'm going to go with this motor. I have a 4s batt I'm picking up tomorrow, that might be the absolute ticket.
ok, so you had:
3548-09
39A
13x8 e Prop
413W
Powerup 30C 2200mAh battery

Did you tach it when you had the 413W?
Tach it while it's getting the 39A/413W or if you can tach it and post the wattage/current your getting at the time of taching.
thx
Melnic is offline Find More Posts by Melnic
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2010, 05:27 PM
Dive now work later
symdnn's Avatar
Houston, Texas
Joined Dec 2010
44 Posts
Hey guys. I received the Arf today and thanks God everything is good and all the parts are in perfect shape.

I will start building it soon however I will have to buy a glue before I start so is there anyone who knows where can I buy ca glue locally?
symdnn is offline Find More Posts by symdnn
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2010, 06:22 PM
Yeah, I can fly...
wyldkrd's Avatar
Mesa, Arizona
Joined Jun 2005
2,454 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melnic View Post
ok, so you had:
3548-09
39A
13x8 e Prop
413W
Powerup 30C 2200mAh battery

Did you tach it when you had the 413W?
Tach it while it's getting the 39A/413W or if you can tach it and post the wattage/current your getting at the time of taching.
thx
No Tach until tomorrow, It's actually a Flightmax 3300 30C.
wyldkrd is online now Find More Posts by wyldkrd
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2010, 07:05 PM
Dive now work later
symdnn's Avatar
Houston, Texas
Joined Dec 2010
44 Posts
That's funny, I found out that the CA glue is the super glue that we use all the time. The CA is a chemical combination that makes the super glue. You can buy a pack of six at the dollar store. I thought that was funny
symdnn is offline Find More Posts by symdnn
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2010, 09:52 AM
Team Wack-a-Mole
Melnic's Avatar
Maryland
Joined Oct 2008
8,437 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by symdnn View Post
That's funny, I found out that the CA glue is the super glue that we use all the time. The CA is a chemical combination that makes the super glue. You can buy a pack of six at the dollar store. I thought that was funny
They blend them differently to get thin, medium, thick etc as well as foam safe to there are some differences but yup, Superglue is CA.
Melnic is offline Find More Posts by Melnic
Last edited by Melnic; Oct 07, 2011 at 06:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2010, 10:31 AM
Dive now work later
symdnn's Avatar
Houston, Texas
Joined Dec 2010
44 Posts
I started to build this morning and I broke the taile wing. yep I did.

Do you guys know where can I buy a replacement?
symdnn is offline Find More Posts by symdnn
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2010, 02:44 PM
Da' Cajun
Boogie_'s Avatar
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Joined Jun 2009
2,864 Posts
I don't think Nitro sells parts for these planes.

How bad is it? It would have to be really demolished not to be able to be repaired.
You may have to recover and paint it. Piece of cake.

Post a pic.
Boogie_ is offline Find More Posts by Boogie_
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2010, 04:36 PM
Team Wack-a-Mole
Melnic's Avatar
Maryland
Joined Oct 2008
8,437 Posts
You guys may be interested in this if you don't have a WATTMETER already:

My AEO P0 Wattmeter from Hobbypartz came in today. there are bare leads on it. Based on the instructions, you can't calibrate the P0. I tried it and you can get into the setup menu for the P0, but the voltage adjustment does not keep. No matter though, my Fluke DMM, Eagletree V3, AEO-P1 and AEO-P0 all aggreed with the voltage within .01V

The current is another matter. I did not have my Hall affect Fluke attachement but I'll assume the Eagltree was more accurate, the AEO-P1 read .3A higher at around 10A and the P0 was within .1A. At 40A, the P0 read about .6A higher and the P1 was within .1A.

All 3 of them in series drops the wattage down about 5% but when I ran them one at a time, the wattage agreed with each other within about 2% or less.

So my conclusion is that for $18, there's no reason not to have a wattmeter in your tool box. I put bullets on my P0 so I'd have one I could use without grabbing adaptors. My P1 and Eagletree have Deans on them.
Melnic is offline Find More Posts by Melnic
Last edited by Melnic; Oct 07, 2011 at 06:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2010, 06:51 PM
Dive now work later
symdnn's Avatar
Houston, Texas
Joined Dec 2010
44 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boogie_ View Post
I don't think Nitro sells parts for these planes.

How bad is it? It would have to be really demolished not to be able to be repaired.
You may have to recover and paint it. Piece of cake.

Post a pic.
Unfortunately I can't take a picture because after I broke it I had to take it out of the tail so I had to cut it in pieces. It is totally gone. It is actually the just the fin not the tail wing so I just need to buy a new fin but I have no idea where to find one.
symdnn is offline Find More Posts by symdnn
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2010, 10:08 PM
Dive now work later
symdnn's Avatar
Houston, Texas
Joined Dec 2010
44 Posts
Hey my dear hobby pros.

I found a very practical and super easy way to remove the tail wing from the canopy after I glued it with epoxy. Here is the miracle:

Get a floss thread (yes a floss thread)

Put your plane on its nose up right.

Run the floss thread through the opening at the end of the tail opening in the canopy behind the tail wing.

Hold the thread with two hands as if you are going to floss.

Keep wiggling it as you go down on top of the wing.

Once you are down at the end pull the thread back up and do the same thing at the bottom of the wing this time.

Once you are down at the end, the tail wing will detach and you will be able to pull it out.

WOW I must say, this is a super easy way with no single scratch.
symdnn is offline Find More Posts by symdnn
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2011, 06:13 AM
Da' Cajun
Boogie_'s Avatar
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Joined Jun 2009
2,864 Posts
Quote:
remove the tail wing from the canopy
I'm trying to understand what your referring to here.
A Cub really doesn't have a typical "canopy" and I'm guessing the tail wing is the stabilizer?

But it sounds like you sawed the stab off the end of the fuse with some floss.
Good job.

If you can't find a replacement fin, you'll probably have to buy some balsa and make one.
Boogie_ is offline Find More Posts by Boogie_
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2011, 12:06 PM
Dive now work later
symdnn's Avatar
Houston, Texas
Joined Dec 2010
44 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boogie_ View Post
I'm trying to understand what your referring to here.
A Cub really doesn't have a typical "canopy" and I'm guessing the tail wing is the stabilizer?

But it sounds like you sawed the stab off the end of the fuse with some floss.
Good job.

If you can't find a replacement fin, you'll probably have to buy some balsa and make one.

Thats exactly what I did and it worked so easy.

I contacted Nitroplanes and asked them for a tail set replacement and they will locate one and ship it to me by Tuesday or Wednesday so I am waiting to hear from them. I will keep you posted
symdnn is offline Find More Posts by symdnn
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 01, 2011, 01:57 PM
Team Wack-a-Mole
Melnic's Avatar
Maryland
Joined Oct 2008
8,437 Posts
I flew on the MP 32 and 13x10 prop with parallel 3S 2200 batteries. It's flyable but not the power of a 4S setup. I did 2 flights on 3S then put my 4S setup back in. 3S is not a bad stopgap measure but I highly advise 4400mah total 3S for it.( 2 parallel 3S 2200 packs)
Melnic is offline Find More Posts by Melnic
Last edited by Melnic; Oct 07, 2011 at 06:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion NitroPlanes Guanli 401 J3 Piper Cub gp1200x Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 3 Oct 10, 2010 11:46 AM
Discussion My Piper cub L4 conversion........... stuart warne Scale Kit/Scratch Built 19 Dec 30, 2008 07:00 PM
Climate Models L4 Piper Tailspin Ken Parkflyers 0 Aug 26, 2005 01:43 AM
Piper L4 conversion F1Tom Scale Kit/Scratch Built 1 Jan 14, 2005 03:59 AM