HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 20, 2010, 01:57 PM
United States, TX, McKinney
Joined Oct 2009
18 Posts
Discussion
Evolution Alpha engine not holding high throttle

Hi everyone. Newbie here, second post. Been flying my trainer all summer with no problems. However, since last week I have been having problems with the engine holding hi revs. It starts fine, accelerates ok up to 2/3 throttle but after that it struggles to keep high revs and then dies.

I have tightened the head screws, changed plug, all the plumbing, filters new fuel, and even new gas tank, ruling everything out but the engine itself. Nothing has helped so far.

To give you a better idea of how the engine runs, I have posted a short video at
Problems with Evolution alpha engine (4 min 24 sec)

The first two runs are with the engine all leaned up with the needle as far as the limiter will allow. For the 3rd run I enriched it 1/8th of a turn, which seemed to improve how it runs overall, but same problem in the end (I have done other runs enriching 1/4 and 1/3 turns to no avail). Any help would be greatly appreciated. And my apologies for the derriere shots... hope you don't go blind.. LOL

Thanks in advance

Moises
moisesh is online now Find More Posts by moisesh
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 20, 2010, 03:59 PM
United States, CA, Clovis
Joined Mar 2004
3,212 Posts
There could be some "micro-garb" lodged in the path to the engine somewhere. It does sound like its lean... but really only struggles when it should need everything the system can deliver.