Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Nov 19, 2010, 11:51 AM
The lunatic is on the grass
Joined Aug 2008
4,843 Posts
Discussion
Need some help....no dope,how about painting tissue.UPDATE:Tiger Moth is painted

Hi
I'm new at building and have built a dumas walnut scale de havilland tiger moth.
Followed the directions and glued the edges with elmers thinned 50% with water.
Lightly misted it to tighten up the tissue and it came out very nice.

Couple questions mabey some of you more exp guys....could help me out.

Has anyone ever painted there tissue covered plane with spray paint?

I have been told i could use dope,i don't have any,the model is already done and i'm not to keen on how the tissue looks as far as being slightly transparent.

Gave a test piece a light coating with a spray can clear coat.
It did come out good but it made the tissue kind of transparent and i would rather not be able to see through it so well..lol

I was thinking of painting it to seal it and at the same time change the color.

Has anyone done that...painted there tissue covered plane with spray paint?

Ridgewalker
ridgewalker is offline Find More Posts by ridgewalker
Last edited by ridgewalker; Nov 20, 2010 at 05:14 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 19, 2010, 12:05 PM
Or current resident
USA, FL, Tampa
Joined Jul 2002
4,706 Posts
Yep, but I seal the tissue first with a couple of coats of dope.
You might try a couple of light coats of the clear you experimented with to seal the tissue first.

Problem with spraying unsealed tissue is it absorbs the paint which makes the tissue go limp. Sometimes it will tighten back up as the paint dries, sometimes it won't, it depends on the paint. Also paint is heavy, the less you use the better.

Light mist coats of a lacquer type paint works best, it doesn't take much to achieve the opaque result you are looking for.

Got any pics of your completed model to share?

Glenn
glewis is online now Find More Posts by glewis
Old Nov 19, 2010, 12:27 PM