SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Nov 16, 2010, 12:53 PM
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Nov 2010
9 Posts
Discussion
Flying wing build, proportions, layout, etc.

Hello everyone, I'd very much like to build a flying wing but it has been put off due to lack of a foam cutter. However, right now I have access to a cnc cutter and just about an endless supply of bluecore. So I guess it's time to realize the project.

However I need help choosing design and parameters such as wing profile, chord length etc. since I'm no expert in these. Some rules of thumb would be duly appreciated.

I've drawn up a quick sketch of what I'm thinking of, but I guess this may be too complicated to cut? Maybe a Ritewing style airframe would be a better choice?

If so I can make an parametrized model of this and would be happy to share with you if it turns out A-ok.

Oh, and the maximum width of the cutter seems about 50cm, so this is quite limiting. My preferences are for carrying capacity and flight time, since I'd like to create a small fleet of fpv airframes.

Also, is bluecore (DOW) suited for direct use w/o glassing? Would be great if I can use it just adding reinforcements, equipment and paint.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
femer is offline Find More Posts by femer
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 17, 2010, 02:47 PM
internet gadfly
Colorado
Joined Aug 2006
2,165 Posts