Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 09, 2011, 11:20 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2010
3,479 Posts
No, you cannot turn the plug around. Probably the easiest solution is to turn the servos around, unless you have glued them in. (That is why I never glue servos.)
kaptondave is offline Find More Posts by kaptondave
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 09, 2011, 11:21 AM
Not a newbie anymore..
skyhawk newbie's Avatar
Ireland, Cork
Joined Oct 2010
2,027 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarnOwl View Post
Ok, didn't know that........
And I cann't turn the servo's around as I've Gorilla glued them in place
skyhawk newbie is offline Find More Posts by skyhawk newbie
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2011, 11:24 AM
Not a newbie anymore..
skyhawk newbie's Avatar
Ireland, Cork
Joined Oct 2010
2,027 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaptondave View Post
No, you cannot turn the plug around. Probably the easiest solution is to turn the servos around, unless you have glued them in. (That is why I never glue servos.)
I know why you build your little wooden box ,for the servo's...

So where can I get a Servo reversing module....
skyhawk newbie is offline Find More Posts by skyhawk newbie
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2011, 11:36 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2010
3,479 Posts
Reversing Module:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=8863

This is the only one I could find with a quick search. Unfortunately it is back-ordered. Do some Google searches.
kaptondave is offline Find More Posts by kaptondave
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2011, 11:40 AM
Sweden!!
AndreasXX's Avatar
Sverige, Gävleborgs Län, Gävle
Joined Mar 2011
18 Posts
hey!

ok then i`ll use all 4 screws then....the screw holes on the motor dont match the ones in the metal plate....

Skyhawk:

did you glass both in and outside of the firewall?

have you done a test flight yet? curius if your plane wants to loop on full throttle

// Andreas
AndreasXX is offline Find More Posts by AndreasXX
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2011, 12:16 PM
Not a newbie anymore..
skyhawk newbie's Avatar
Ireland, Cork
Joined Oct 2010
2,027 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndreasXX View Post
hey!

ok then i`ll use all 4 screws then....the screw holes on the motor dont match the ones in the metal plate....

Skyhawk:

did you glass both in and outside of the firewall?

have you done a test flight yet? curius if your plane wants to loop on full throttle

// Andreas
I had to use a dremmal on the metal plate to widen the holes so it would fit the Turnigy 2836 motor...
But then on my maided flight I tore the firewall,so it's now been fiberglassed reenforced inside and out, still using the metal plate on the out side...
( Firewall is now 4mm thick so had to use longer screws )
Never got to use WOT with the 10x6 prop as there is so much power there the phoenix climbed almost vertical on 3/4 throttle with some down elevator .
Have now changed down to a 9x5 prop...

Haven't test flown since the firewalls been fiberglassed and new prop fitted..


Sean
skyhawk newbie is offline Find More Posts by skyhawk newbie
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2011, 12:29 PM
Not a newbie anymore..
skyhawk newbie's Avatar
Ireland, Cork
Joined Oct 2010
2,027 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaptondave View Post
Reversing Module:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=8863

This is the only one I could find with a quick search. Unfortunately it is back-ordered. Do some Google searches.
Found one on E-Bay UK....
skyhawk newbie is offline Find More Posts by skyhawk newbie
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2011, 02:08 PM
Sweden!!
AndreasXX's Avatar
Sverige, Gävleborgs Län, Gävle
Joined Mar 2011
18 Posts
hello!

Just fitted the motor, and the firewall is as skyhawk said to weak....so now i have done this...
Name: IMG_0712.jpg
Views: 1007
Size: 44.2 KB
Description: Airintake ;)

now i´ll fit a JET Turbine instead

i´ll glass in and outsides and fit a Aluminium firewall instead....that will do the job i think

//Andreas
AndreasXX is offline Find More Posts by AndreasXX
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 09, 2011, 03:12 PM
Not a newbie anymore..
skyhawk newbie's Avatar
Ireland, Cork
Joined Oct 2010
2,027 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndreasXX View Post
hello!

Just fitted the motor, and the firewall is as skyhawk said to weak....so now i have done this...
Attachment 3855708

now i´ll fit a JET Turbine instead

i´ll glass in and outsides and fit a Aluminium firewall instead....that will do the job i think

//Andreas
Do you need a exit vent when using a Jet Turbine engine ??
skyhawk newbie is offline Find More Posts by skyhawk newbie
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2011, 12:59 AM
Sweden!!
AndreasXX's Avatar
Sverige, Gävleborgs Län, Gävle
Joined Mar 2011
18 Posts
hello!

you know i was joking right?

Anyway i hope it will hold together if i glass and make the firewall in Aiuminium..

The motor is a monster

i got my new propeller today...9x5 CAM Carbon....and a 13x8 to my FVK Bandit 147cm hotliner, 1580W with that propeller

//Andreas
AndreasXX is offline Find More Posts by AndreasXX
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2011, 03:40 AM
Not a newbie anymore..
skyhawk newbie's Avatar
Ireland, Cork
Joined Oct 2010
2,027 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndreasXX View Post
hello!

you know i was joking right? I wasn't to sure

Anyway i hope it will hold together if i glass and make the firewall in Aiuminium..

The motor is a monster

i got my new propeller today...9x5 CAM Carbon....and a 13x8 to my FVK Bandit 147cm hotliner, 1580W with that propeller

//Andreas
Yeah..The 10x6 is to much for the T2836 motor...if you wana use the motor for and length of time... Ok if just climbing
9x5 seems idea...
skyhawk newbie is offline Find More Posts by skyhawk newbie
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2011, 09:37 AM
Registered User
Wangerooger's Avatar
Deutschland
Joined Mar 2011
5 Posts
Just a quick report on my maiden flight with the Phoenix on Tuesday.

I did three flights with two more or less soft landings on the rough acre.
And then it happened when I tried the third landing with flaps and the motor shut off.

For my approach was too long, I wanted to try again and pushed the throttle forward half way. My Phoenix made such a sudden tight loop, that I couldn’t stop it. It resulted in a vertical crash just into the acre.

That was my first flight with an RC plane at all and obviously I was overburdened.

The motor shaft sheared clean just behind the prop. (Someone knows how to change the shaft?) Therefore the prop remained safe and sound, as well the fuselage. But the piece of ply that connects both wings broke just in the middle. And one screw hole has been ripped out, where to fix the wing to the fuse.

I bought a new motor nearly the same size 1100kv from the local dealer. I thing, I will get all repaired until Sunday and will try it again.

This time I’ll leave the flaps where they are and practice simple flying. Keep it simple!

Looking forward to staying much longer in the air this time!!!
Wangerooger is offline Find More Posts by Wangerooger
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2011, 11:25 AM
Not a newbie anymore..
skyhawk newbie's Avatar
Ireland, Cork
Joined Oct 2010
2,027 Posts
Sorted....
I've now got flaps that come down...

How do you reverse the landing gear switch on a DX5e?

#1 disconnect pushrods from the servo/wings
#2 flip the switch to a "flaps up" position
#3 trim the flaps level
#4 modify the pushrods to match the new positions
of the servo horn and a flaps ( you will have to make them shorter)
#5 install the pushrods back
Thanks to Dennis from the Ireland Model Forum
skyhawk newbie is offline Find More Posts by skyhawk newbie
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2011, 05:07 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2011
28 Posts
Hi guys I see some really great custom paint in the phoenix, Andreas,it looks beautiful.I as wondering, what kind pf paint could I use?Can the paint used for plastic static model do the trick, using an airbrush?

My respects to you all.
polarbear75 is offline Find More Posts by polarbear75
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2011, 08:53 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2010
3,479 Posts
Testor Universal Enamal works good and comes in a lot of good colors. It is expensive though, especially in the spray cans.

I do not have my Phoenix yet but have a Radian. The foam on it has a film that will take just about any kind of paint. Otherwise you can apply a foam-safe primer coat first and then use regular spray paint. I have tried two primers that I like; Zensser Bullseye Shellac and Minwax Polycrylic. My favorite paint is Rustoleum Painter's Choice. It costs about 1/4 what Testors does and has a good color pallet.

Remember that paint adds weight. Figure on about an ounce for a conservative pattern and two ounces or so for an elaborate one.

As always, test first.
kaptondave is offline Find More Posts by kaptondave
Last edited by kaptondave; Mar 12, 2011 at 10:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale HK Phoenix 2000 glider blk822 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 4 Aug 23, 2011 07:21 PM
Discussion Still having electric problems with my hobbyking Phoenix 2000, Crashvideo kyrkbymannen Electric Sailplanes 3 Jul 09, 2011 07:34 PM
Discussion Ohhh noo, 2nd flight on the HobbyKing Phoenix 2000 KillerCut Electric Sailplanes 14 Jun 06, 2011 09:57 AM
Discussion hobby king Phoenix 2000 EPO Composite R/C Glider doomracing Electric Sailplanes 3 May 31, 2011 10:09 PM