HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 14, 2012, 05:30 PM
Closed Account
Joined May 2012
1,792 Posts
CF105 - Really nice looking Cub you got.
.quietguy is offline Find More Posts by .quietguy
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 15, 2012, 02:42 PM
Registered User
jaksno's Avatar
Norwood, CO
Joined Jul 2009
624 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangephoner View Post
So I want to do a brushless upgrade here in the near future. I was looking thru the links at the beggining of this thread but notice that a lot of them were just showing off what they did but not to specific on how. Does anyone have a good esc/motor combo? And a little more detail on how I go about installing? Thank you:thumbup:
Go to HeadsUpRC.com - billet aluminum motor mount screws right in - motor, esc, batt, props, all harmonized with power stats to boot.

Recommend the batt box mod. where by you cut the box to fit a battery straight up in the front of the box. I use the HeadsUp 1800 mAh.

Jaksno
jaksno is offline Find More Posts by jaksno
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 03:42 PM
Registered User
jaksno's Avatar
Norwood, CO
Joined Jul 2009
624 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangephoner View Post
So I want to do a brushless upgrade here in the near future. I was looking thru the links at the beggining of this thread but notice that a lot of them were just showing off what they did but not to specific on how. Does anyone have a good esc/motor combo? And a little more detail on how I go about installing? Thank you:thumbup:
Here's more info from a previous post as an alternative to Heads Up:

Motor - $16 ea
http://www.hobbypartz.com/86ma08-2215-1150kv.html

ESC - $11,70 ea
http://www.hobbypartz.com/60p-dye-1003-30a-esc.html

Servos - $2.88 ea
http://www.hobbypartz.com/9gmiseexis1.html

Battery - $20.58 ea
http://www.hobbypartz.com/98p-25c-2600-3s1p.html

Super Cub Motor Mount for an E-flite Park 480 - $15.99
http://www.customrcparts.com/index.p...products_id=17

Horns, hinge, etc - $10 max.

Good flyin'

jaksno
jaksno is offline Find More Posts by jaksno
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 04:48 PM
Arrowhead
Joined Dec 2010
1,227 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbdukeboy View Post
That's the best looking supercub I've seen yet. Where did you get the camo mono coat. And is that decals in addition to the mono coat?
Thanks! This was a bit of a "winter project" last winter, experimenting with modding a plane, and also learning my way around Monokote.

The camo pattern is green shapes cut out & ironed on to the tan. Took a bit of the tan to Home Depot for colour-matching, so I could paint the plastic parts. I was happy with the results.

Decals: Roundels on the wing are from a decal set from Major Decals. Almost too big. The cockpit windows are from a Super Cub decal set. The rest I got made by an outfit call Sticker Shock, out of Utah. They are very durable vinyl. Highly recommend them!

Still need some nose art to complete the look

Thanks for the comments!
CF105 is offline Find More Posts by CF105
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 07:19 PM
Why so serious?
2500GENE's Avatar
United States, FL, Cape Coral
Joined Dec 2007
5,972 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaksno View Post
Go to HeadsUpRC.com - billet aluminum motor mount screws right in - motor, esc, batt, props, all harmonized with power stats to boot.

Recommend the batt box mod. where by you cut the box to fit a battery straight up in the front of the box. I use the HeadsUp 1800 mAh.

Jaksno
Oh yeah...
Battery box and other basic mods start here...
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1214571

E-Flite 450 with the aluminum mount and 25amp E-Flite Pro esc.
480 mounts the same...(I got both)
2500GENE is offline Find More Posts by 2500GENE
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2012, 10:12 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2007
1,958 Posts
aileron travel

How much aileron travel is too much for a cub?
Is there such a thing as too much?

Also for some reason i consider expo cheating.
Feel like i should just be more accurate with my inputs.

How much travel and how much expo you fellas running?

Ready to finally maiden an old cub with a new flattened wing.
At 100% travel they are 15" x 2" with about 5/8" travel up and down.
Havnt mixed in any differential yet. Was expecting to see more built
in differential. My aileron hinge point is high...not centered.

Happy to finally get this thing in the air. Prolly been over a year geez!
wopachop is offline Find More Posts by wopachop
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 12:57 AM
But often down to earth
Floater73's Avatar
Oklahoma, USA
Joined Sep 2010
736 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wopachop View Post
How much aileron travel is too much for a cub?
Is there such a thing as too much?

Also for some reason i consider expo cheating.
Feel like i should just be more accurate with my inputs.

How much travel and how much expo you fellas running?

Ready to finally maiden an old cub with a new flattened wing.
At 100% travel they are 15" x 2" with about 5/8" travel up and down.
Havnt mixed in any differential yet. Was expecting to see more built
in differential. My aileron hinge point is high...not centered.

Happy to finally get this thing in the air. Prolly been over a year geez!
I always max the aileron on any plane. I do tame it with dual rates and expo as needed. On the cub I use 40% DR on aileron, elevator and rudder at high rate.

Steve
Floater73 is offline Find More Posts by Floater73
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 07:12 AM
Look out below
mcnowhere's Avatar
United States, OR, McMinnville
Joined Aug 2011
1,248 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wopachop View Post
How much aileron travel is too much for a cub?
Is there such a thing as too much?

Also for some reason i consider expo cheating.
Feel like i should just be more accurate with my inputs.
90' might be too much.

Try using less amounts of expo each time you fly.
mcnowhere is offline Find More Posts by mcnowhere
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 12:30 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2007
1,958 Posts
Curious what everyone else is running. Thanks for replies so far!!!

Got a first flight in with my old SuperCub that now has a flattened wing.
Doesnt climb like i hoped. But i am heavier than S. My landing gear setup
survived its first test that was cool.
wopachop is offline Find More Posts by wopachop
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 03:13 PM
Y=C+I+G
cmdl's Avatar
United States, CA, Rosemead
Joined Jan 2012
7,716 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wopachop View Post
Curious what everyone else is running. Thanks for replies so far!!!

Got a first flight in with my old SuperCub that now has a flattened wing.
Doesnt climb like i hoped. But i am heavier than S. My landing gear setup
survived its first test that was cool.
park 370, 1080kv with 10x5. she has more nose weight added and her wing shimmed but she still climbs a lot. typically i fly her at 50-60% throttle. she seems to be faster than the brushed stock setup.
cmdl is online now Find More Posts by cmdl
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 03:54 PM
Arrowhead
Joined Dec 2010
1,227 Posts
E-Flite Park 450. Plenty of performance, despite the added weight of the monokote, fiberglassed wing and clay ballast in the cowling. And so far still just running with the basic 1300mAH batteries.
CF105 is offline Find More Posts by CF105
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 05:11 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2007
1,958 Posts
Right on!! Like hearing all stats. Mostly was asking how much expo and travel do you guys like to run?

Just about lost the plane in heavy winds. Im losing connection between tx and rx. My orange RX was blinking once on the ground.

I added a satellite rx last minute. Im i a big dummy for not rebinding?
wopachop is offline Find More Posts by wopachop
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 05:48 PM
Planes in flames,,,
jetpackninja's Avatar
Gravity Sucks
Joined Aug 2010
3,501 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wopachop View Post
Right on!! Like hearing all stats. Mostly was asking how much expo and travel do you guys like to run?

Just about lost the plane in heavy winds. Im losing connection between tx and rx. My orange RX was blinking once on the ground.

I added a satellite rx last minute. Im i a big dummy for not rebinding?
Nah- if the recevier was blinking, most likely you had a brownout.
Rebind wouldn't hurt, but most likely was not the cause of your issue.
jetpackninja is online now Find More Posts by jetpackninja
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 05:54 PM
Chop it, cut it, bash it
quitcherbitchen's Avatar
United States, CA, La Caņada Flintridge
Joined Jul 2011
5,488 Posts
Old batteries for one.
quitcherbitchen is online now Find More Posts by quitcherbitchen
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2012, 06:10 PM
Y=C+I+G
cmdl's Avatar
United States, CA, Rosemead
Joined Jan 2012
7,716 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wopachop View Post
Right on!! Like hearing all stats. Mostly was asking how much expo and travel do you guys like to run?

Just about lost the plane in heavy winds. Im losing connection between tx and rx. My orange RX was blinking once on the ground.

I added a satellite rx last minute. Im i a big dummy for not rebinding?
how heavy were the winds?

i fly linear at 100% rates - no expo. my ailerons are at 40 degree throws, elevator throw is maxed out.
cmdl is online now Find More Posts by cmdl
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Ultimate HobbyZone SuperCub Help Thread (part 3) ArsonDave Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 33164 Nov 14, 2010 11:35 PM
Discussion Ultimate HobbyZone SuperCub Help Thread (Part 2) guapoman2000 Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 1102 Jul 03, 2008 11:34 AM
Discussion Ultimate HobbyZone SuperCub Help Thread (part I) TheDustyPagan Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 8442 Apr 19, 2008 08:23 PM
The Ultimate Slow Stick Help Thread - Part 4 Martin Hunter Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 824 May 31, 2004 01:00 AM
The Ultimate Slow Stick Help Thread - Part 2 Martin Hunter Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 565 Feb 17, 2004 10:35 AM