HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 30, 2010, 01:40 AM
Registered User
radiocloclo's Avatar
Belgique, Région Wallonne, Sivry
Joined Mar 2009
9 Posts
reset turnigy with backlight.

[QUOTE=s_mack;16947797]I'm not sure what you mean by "constantly" but it is probably related to this problem. From what we can tell, some of the radios have a problem with their voltage regulators and can't handle the extra tiny draw for the EL backlight and it resets. There are some solutions suggested there. One thing to try (to confirm this is your problem)... plug the radio in with the USB and does the problem go away? Or at least it doesn't reboot as often? then go into the menu and turn OFF the light. Problem stops? If so, then you have the problem and should see the link above. If not, then it is something else... possibly a poor connection (but probably no if you were able to successfully flash the radio).


Hello,

I confirme with the cable usb (4,7 V) all is correct,no reboot.
Without the usb with the backlight ON, this is the reboot.
With the backlight OFF ,the radio work perfectly.
you were right perfectly.
Now, I will read the links with the solutions .
Have you a preference for a realization?
Still thank you for your assistance.

Greetings

Claude (sorry for my bad english)
radiocloclo is offline Find More Posts by radiocloclo
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 30, 2010, 01:45 AM
Registered User
erazz's Avatar
United States, NJ
Joined Jun 2004
1,746 Posts
A fix seems to be in the making. Keep in mind that this is not yet confirmed so you might want to hang back and wait to see the results:

erazz is offline Find More Posts by erazz
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2010, 04:47 AM
Registered User
radiocloclo's Avatar
Belgique, Région Wallonne, Sivry
Joined Mar 2009
9 Posts
Hello,
I have 22 or 27 Ohm, is very important 25 Ohm ?

Thanks
radiocloclo is offline Find More Posts by radiocloclo
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2010, 05:01 AM
Registered User
erazz's Avatar
United States, NJ
Joined Jun 2004
1,746 Posts
Not terribly important. Both should work.
erazz is offline Find More Posts by erazz
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2010, 07:55 AM
Registered User
radiocloclo's Avatar
Belgique, Région Wallonne, Sivry
Joined Mar 2009
9 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by erazz View Post
Not terribly important. Both should work.
hello,
Modification carried out with 27 ohm, all functions perfectly.
I am very happy and I thank you for your assistance.
I congratulate you for all work carried out.
Good happy new year.

My cordial handshakes.

Claude
radiocloclo is offline Find More Posts by radiocloclo
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2010, 11:52 AM
Registered Loser
Canada, BC, Central Okanagan H
Joined Jun 2010
3,251 Posts
I think that confirms it then Thanks Claude!

- Steven
s_mack is offline Find More Posts by s_mack
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2010, 12:22 PM
Registered User
erazz's Avatar
United States, NJ
Joined Jun 2004
1,746 Posts
I confirm as well.
It works!
erazz is offline Find More Posts by erazz
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2011, 12:32 AM
Registered User
Netherlands
Joined Dec 2010
1 Posts
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/attac...mentid=3693409

And what about this fix, is it a better fix?

Hans
glasbloazer is offline Find More Posts by glasbloazer
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2011, 01:19 AM
Registered User
erazz's Avatar
United States, NJ
Joined Jun 2004
1,746 Posts
Steven states that this is a "more correct" fix.
Both work.
erazz is offline Find More Posts by erazz
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 02, 2011, 12:31 PM
Registered Loser
Canada, BC, Central Okanagan H
Joined Jun 2010
3,251 Posts
Its only "more correct" in that it does not involve any guesswork as to the value of the resistor... although, that "guess" is pretty darned good and quite a wide range is suitable. So really either is fine.

The resistor fix reduces the input voltage, which therefore reduces the ripple when the unit is turned off that's causing the voltage regulator headaches. The other fix virtually eliminates the ripple because the driver is never turned off - only the light itself is.

Resistor fix increases the amount of current (slightly) when the light is ON and decreases brightness ever so slightly. Other fix increases the amount of current EVER so slightly when the light is OFF (but we're talking extremely little) and brightness is unaffected.

I say do whichever is more convenient. Resistor is easier but involves a resistor that you may not have. Other fix requires no extra components but is slightly more difficult to perform.

- Steven
s_mack is offline Find More Posts by s_mack
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2011, 05:06 AM
Registered User
Australia, New South Wales, Hobartville
Joined Jan 2011
150 Posts
eepe

Hi
Just new to this and have a V2 9x and smartieparts programmer EL kit ordered...question, been playing around in the eepe and set up a hex file to run my nitro 90 heli, how do I go about the update and what is the process to load my hex file?

Cheers
Darren
phantom1500 is offline Find More Posts by phantom1500
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2011, 05:59 AM
Registered User
Naperville, IL
Joined Mar 2009
832 Posts
See the "Quickstart" here
http://code.google.com/p/eepe/
gohsthb is offline Find More Posts by gohsthb
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2011, 06:39 AM
Registered User
Linn, Tx
Joined Sep 2008
30 Posts
Stressed

Tried that, but after an 2 hours, still not able to get it to work.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gohsthb View Post
See the "Quickstart" here
http://code.google.com/p/eepe/
GB Man is offline Find More Posts by GB Man
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2011, 06:53 AM
Registered User
Naperville, IL
Joined Mar 2009
832 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GB Man View Post
Tried that, but after an 2 hours, still not able to get it to work.
Did you set the programmer to "usbasp" and the port to "usb"? Do you get any error messages?
gohsthb is offline Find More Posts by gohsthb
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 04, 2011, 06:55 AM
Registered User
erazz's Avatar
United States, NJ
Joined Jun 2004
1,746 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by GB Man View Post
Tried that, but after an 2 hours, still not able to get it to work.
Can you elaborate? Do you receive errors? What are you trying to do?
erazz is offline Find More Posts by erazz
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Download RCDeskpilot Add-on Planes In Post #1 UPDATED MARCH 7 2011 Wilfor Simulators 197 Jul 23, 2014 09:01 AM
Sold RealFlight G3.5 With Controller and Vol. 3 Add-On Rob02Aggie Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 3 Nov 13, 2010 02:13 PM
Question Searching RC Car with transmitter having the pots NOT soldered directly on the board Nase Electric Power Cars 0 Nov 07, 2010 08:46 AM
Discussion Built-in-Balancer: Replace a 14.4 nihm pack with 5S LiFE leveraging original charger? coreyfro DIY Electronics 0 Nov 05, 2010 09:33 AM