HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jul 14, 2003, 09:34 PM
SF Bay Area, Ca
Joined Dec 2001
33 Posts
Graupner Speed 480 Race Break-In & Other Newbie Q's!

Well I posted this in the 'Training' forum, thinking that it would be the best place for newbie type questions, but obvioulsy it isn't, as I have had virtually no response. So I think I will stick to the Jets forum and tap all of the extensive knowledge that I know exists in here.

I am new to 'E' flight, but not new to RC as I have been flying glow planes for about three years now. I have always wanted to get into jets but did not want to spend the money required for Glow Ducted Fans or Turbines. So I have decided to give electric jets a go.

I am not totally new to the theory of electrics, as I was into electronics when I was younger, so know my way around a soldering iron and understand what Volts, Amps, Watts, Ohms etc. are and how they relate to each other.

Right now I have purchased an Alpha Jet EDF profile jet and all of the Hobby-Lobby recommended accessories.

So I have a Graupner 'Speed 480 Race' motor and want to know whether I should do any break-in for this motor? I have read the FAQ and see where it described break-in, but the instructions that came with the motor say no break-in is necessary. So what gives? Break-in or not? I want the best possible performance out of this thing!

Also I bought the recommended 10 Cell CP-1300 SCR Nicad Pack and it dosn't have any conectors on the leads. Do all batteries come without connectors?

I purchased a 'banana plug to Speed 400 connector' charge lead, so I can charge the pack with my Super Turbo charger, so I am guessing I should buy two sets of Speed 400 connectors to solder to the battery and the ESC leads. Is this right?