SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 15, 2010, 12:14 AM
Mikrokopter Australia ;-)
simonjardine's Avatar
Australia
Joined Apr 2008
1,443 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BLADEBREAKER View Post
It's an X and I just confirmed the mixing. Test battery was a little low. I put a fresh one on and it flys fine. I still think my MKUsb is toast. Could it have done any damage to the board? Any way to tell?

Tip
Good news Tip. Happy flying
Your board should be fine, when you plug in the MKusb, does the mkusb flash... even for a millisecond?
If not, it could be blown... However just double check that the drivers are working correctly. When you plug in the jumper, Win Seven wants to suddenly start using another .ini file...

Simon
simonjardine is offline Find More Posts by simonjardine
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 15, 2010, 12:59 AM
Registered User
Monterey
Joined Aug 2005
83 Posts
Thanks Simon. It does flash faintly red.
BLADEBREAKER is online now Find More Posts by BLADEBREAKER
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2010, 02:15 AM
Registered User
Randburg
Joined Jul 2008
343 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmsgodeep View Post
Ryan,
I had terrible results with GPS on both of my mk's with the stock battery. I replaced both with fresh batteries (not rechargable...but last a long time)...and I get sat fix in a new area in about 1 minute. Each additional power up in the area gets sat fix in about 10 seconds or less. Without changing anything else...even on a cloudy day like today...I get excellent gps results.

Note...I just soldered wires to the battery leads and then loop the wires at the other end with one on each respective side/pole of the battery...and then shrink wrap it. I find this MUCH easier to test/replace the battery (especially if the battery is a tad bigger than the stock mk battery). I can just stick the multimeter probes inside the shrink wrap to test battery anytime. I can also replace the battery this way without having to take the pcb stack apart.

Worth a try replacing with a brand new battery.

Brent
I think you might be onto somthing here, I will replace the battery and see
Ryan Thomas is online now Find More Posts by Ryan Thomas
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2010, 05:01 AM
My Goshawk is awesome :)
Sebbie's Avatar
United Kingdom, Stevenage
Joined Sep 2010
215 Posts
I saw this thougt it might help you over come a GPS battery problem

A GPS Fix is indicated by a flashing green LED on the MKGPS.

During the first start-up, the NaviCtrl will build a complete Almanac/Index. This contains satellite positions and paths. A complete cycle to build this Almanac takes 12.5 minutes.
Based on the last known position the fix will from then on be built up much quicker.

If the fix takes a longer time, it could be that the small battery on the GPS board is too weak. The battery is normally charged to about 3V. The battery is always charged when the GPS module is in operation. If the battery voltage is significantly lower than 3.0 V, it can be charged by providing power to the GPS module.
One way is through the Naviboard's USB port (with the MKGPS connected). The ribbon cable to the FC should be removed.

Another method is to power the MKGPS with 5V on one of the "5V-Pads" on the edge and 0V on ground (GND). Charging takes about 24 hours.

The purpose of the battery is to keep the ephemerides in RAM and the realtime clock running after power off to shorten the re-aquire time.


I hope it helps you and others
Sebbie is offline Find More Posts by Sebbie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2010, 05:15 AM
Mikrokopter Australia ;-)
simonjardine's Avatar
Australia
Joined Apr 2008
1,443 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Thomas View Post
I think you might be onto somthing here, I will replace the battery and see
grab a usb lead, remove the ribbon cables plug in the usb into the computer and the other end into the usb on the navi, the navi will supply the g.p.s with 5v, leave it for at least 12 hours..
Once you have done this, plug everything back together, leave the machine on and sitting outside for 30 - 45 minutes.

Simon
simonjardine is offline Find More Posts by simonjardine
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2010, 08:30 AM
Punishing the competition!
Area 52 MOSFETs's Avatar
USA, PA, Reading
Joined Nov 2010
452 Posts
Mk 1.3 Flight board for sale. PM me if interested.
Area 52 MOSFETs is offline Find More Posts by Area 52 MOSFETs
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2010, 11:21 AM
Registered User
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Copenhagen
Joined May 2010
1,163 Posts
While rebuilding my quad I wanted to be able to make my leds blink on low battery. Following a schematic from the MK Wiki I wired it up on a board using a transistor and resistor. Here's the result:
Mikrokopter SV2 transistor output (2 min 27 sec)


Guess I should rename it "BlinkyKopter"...
wizprod is online now Find More Posts by wizprod
Last edited by wizprod; Nov 15, 2010 at 11:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2010, 12:51 PM
Registered User
seagee's Avatar
New Zealand
Joined Jan 2010
26 Posts
MK3Mag no longer accessible after trying the .82 firmware update

1. Applied Flight-Ctrl_MEGA1284p_V0_82a.hex
- AOK

2. Applied Navi-Ctrl_STR9_V0_22a.hex
- AOK

3. Attempted to apply MK3MAG_Mega168_V0_23a_SVN72.hex
- update reaches ~53% transmitting data and then fails with error.

The MK3Mag now appears inaccessible (no connection)
NaviCtrl window comes up with ‘Bad Compass Value’
Jet-Box displays error but still shows other values.

Any ideas on how to resolve this would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Colin
seagee is offline Find More Posts by seagee
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2010, 02:11 PM
Registered User
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Copenhagen
Joined May 2010
1,163 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by seagee View Post
MK3Mag no longer accessible after trying the .82 firmware update

1. Applied Flight-Ctrl_MEGA1284p_V0_82a.hex
- AOK

2. Applied Navi-Ctrl_STR9_V0_22a.hex
- AOK

3. Attempted to apply MK3MAG_Mega168_V0_23a_SVN72.hex
- update reaches ~53% transmitting data and then fails with error.

The MK3Mag now appears inaccessible (no connection)
NaviCtrl window comes up with ‘Bad Compass Value’
Jet-Box displays error but still shows other values.

Any ideas on how to resolve this would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Colin
http://www.mikrokopter.de/ucwiki/en/...l_software_.3F

"If there are several successive Firmware updates to be made, the sequence plays a role. Program the devices in the following sequence:

1.

Navi-Ctrl_STR9_V0_14e.hex
2.

Flight-Ctrl_MEGA644_V0_72p.hex
3.

MK3Mag_MEGA168_V0_21b_SVN48.hex "
wizprod is online now Find More Posts by wizprod
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2010, 02:22 PM
FPV Freak :)
diem's Avatar
Radzionkow, Poland
Joined Sep 2008
594 Posts
Some scenes with mikrokopter. Quad + gopro + FPV. Have fun

http://www.vimeo.com/16853439
diem is offline Find More Posts by diem
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2010, 02:52 PM
Registered User
seagee's Avatar
New Zealand
Joined Jan 2010
26 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wizprod View Post
http://www.mikrokopter.de/ucwiki/en/...l_software_.3F

"If there are several successive Firmware updates to be made, the sequence plays a role. Program the devices in the following sequence:

1.

Navi-Ctrl_STR9_V0_14e.hex
2.

Flight-Ctrl_MEGA644_V0_72p.hex
3.

MK3Mag_MEGA168_V0_21b_SVN48.hex "
Re-applied the firmware in the order of Navi and then FC but still get the 'bad compass' errror. The MKTool software no longer seems able to communicate with the compass.
seagee is offline Find More Posts by seagee
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2010, 02:58 PM
multi spinner
Joined Jun 2010
80 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by diem View Post
Some scenes with mikrokopter. Quad + gopro + FPV. Have fun

http://www.vimeo.com/16853439
very nice and stable. is this stock quad? if not what is your setup
tattootroy is offline Find More Posts by tattootroy
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2010, 02:58 PM
Registered User
Itasca's Avatar
Upstate NY
Joined Aug 2009
138 Posts
Try recalibrating your compass. It should clear up the bad compass error message.

Worked for me with the same issue.

pete
Itasca is offline Find More Posts by Itasca
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2010, 03:07 PM
Registered User
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Copenhagen
Joined May 2010
1,163 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tattootroy View Post
very nice and stable. is this stock quad? if not what is your setup
I think you can do this with stock quad... What's needed isn't a special hardware setup, but knowing how to fly it It's like when you buy a camera.. you can buy a 9000 euro camera, but it won't automatically make your pictures better.
wizprod is online now Find More Posts by wizprod
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2010, 03:15 PM
FPV Freak :)
diem's Avatar
Radzionkow, Poland
Joined Sep 2008
594 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tattootroy View Post
very nice and stable. is this stock quad? if not what is your setup
34cm frame, cf2822 engines, gws hd8040 (3blade), hk15-18 i2c, mk 2.0 with idg/isz500 gyros. Cheapest setup ever


Wizprod
diem is offline Find More Posts by diem
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Mikrokopter Okto 2 build Roger_IIT Multirotor Talk 6 Feb 03, 2011 08:22 AM
Discussion Mikrokopter ME 2.0 Okto Build robin4 Multirotor Talk 16 Jan 12, 2011 02:07 PM
Discussion Mikrokopter / UAVP / quadrocopter / quadrotor build Arthur P. Multirotor Talk 16696 Nov 10, 2010 04:49 PM
Discussion X-3D Brushless Quadrocopter, general quadrocopter, x-ufo discussion PART 2 tend2it Multirotor Talk 2203 Nov 08, 2008 08:23 PM