HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 07, 2010, 12:55 AM
Registered User
will3kgt's Avatar
Grand Blanc, MI
Joined Jan 2007
481 Posts
Great flight. Wish I could've been there.
will3kgt is offline Find More Posts by will3kgt
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 08, 2010, 09:35 AM
we can take off without that
green_flyer's Avatar
London, UK
Joined Nov 2008
898 Posts
Found some really nice photos of the P51 on a Swiss website.
http://www.hebu-shop.ch/product_info...2e5e5c247cd0b0

it was too expensive on there though, so I ordered one form RC Castle.

I really hope FlyFly dont stop here, these planes look so fantstic, they should do a whole range, Messerschmit, Spitfire, Zero, P38 lightning, etc, I would get the whole lot!
green_flyer is offline Find More Posts by green_flyer
Reply With Quote
Old May 06, 2011, 09:10 PM
Registered User
will3kgt's Avatar
Grand Blanc, MI
Joined Jan 2007
481 Posts
Been flying my P-51 alot the last couple of weeks. I've got an 1hr 30min on this warbird.
http://www.youtube.com/user/will3kgt.../2/YuEEaI4j98c
will3kgt is offline Find More Posts by will3kgt
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2011, 01:50 PM
we can take off without that
green_flyer's Avatar
London, UK
Joined Nov 2008
898 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by will3kgt View Post
Been flying my P-51 alot the last couple of weeks. I've got an 1hr 30min on this warbird.
http://www.youtube.com/user/will3kgt.../2/YuEEaI4j98c
Very nice! very fast.

how do you manage to save the prop when landing without landing gear?
I have already broken one prop just static thrust testing, they are very brittle.
green_flyer is offline Find More Posts by green_flyer
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2011, 02:28 PM
Registered User
will3kgt's Avatar
Grand Blanc, MI
Joined Jan 2007
481 Posts
I took that prop off before I even flew it. I use a GWS prop
& an alloy spinner I got from Radical RC.
will3kgt is offline Find More Posts by will3kgt
Last edited by will3kgt; May 15, 2011 at 02:29 PM. Reason: Mistake
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2011, 04:12 PM
Weni, wedi, Java...
Brent Slensker's Avatar
Casper, Wyoming
Joined Nov 2009
1,100 Posts
I might have to get the P51 since it has my Mom's name on it....

The Corsair I bought has had 2 maiden attempts with ZERO airtime and 2 busted stock props... I took the weight out of the nose and hogged enough foam out to get a 1000 mAh 2S battery shoved in right behind the motor firewall and it weighs 230 grams all up...I have the cowl canted 4 degrees to the right and it STILL torques left and rolls over on take off attempts.
I'd rather build a Dumas Corsair than try and fly this rock anymore but I will try a different prop before I give it to the neighbor kid.
Brent Slensker is offline Find More Posts by Brent Slensker
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2011, 11:40 PM
Registered User
will3kgt's Avatar
Grand Blanc, MI
Joined Jan 2007
481 Posts
I'm going to suggest you wait on flying your plane. My friend has the Corsair. To get it to fly
he had to use (8) 7gm of lead in the nose. It flies
like a dream. I not sure where the CG is I'll get back to you on that.
will3kgt is offline Find More Posts by will3kgt
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2011, 11:47 PM
Weni, wedi, Java...
Brent Slensker's Avatar
Casper, Wyoming
Joined Nov 2009
1,100 Posts
The weight I took out weighed 50 grams...Now I have a 1300 shoved into it AUW is now 245 grams and the CG is at 53 mm from leading edge, which is a little less than HALF chord!...What a Pig!..I really don't see how 7 grams of lead is going to help.

Edit: I suppose I'll have to put 50 grams of lead right back into the nose. I have lead solder I can roll into a circle and put in front of the cowl.
Brent Slensker is offline Find More Posts by Brent Slensker
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2011, 01:19 AM
Registered User
will3kgt's Avatar
Grand Blanc, MI
Joined Jan 2007
481 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent Slensker View Post
The weight I took out weighed 50 grams...Now I have a 1300 shoved into it AUW is now 245 grams and the CG is at 53 mm from leading edge, which is a little less than HALF chord!...What a Pig!..I really don't see how 7 grams of lead is going to help.

Edit: I suppose I'll have to put 50 grams of lead right back into the nose. I have lead solder I can roll into a circle and put in front of the cowl.
No, it was 8 x 7gm lead bars for a total of 56gms. Sorry if I wasn't clear.
will3kgt is offline Find More Posts by will3kgt
Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2011, 09:11 PM
The effect is sadly temporary
Hippo's Avatar
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Joined Oct 2001
1,677 Posts
Just to clarify, it's my Corsair, and I ended up using only 6 squares of lead. (42g). But I do have it inside the cowl, so it's as far forward as it can get.

You might need more or less lead depending on how thick they layered the paint on there. 42g isn't a magic number. Just shoot for 25% root chord for a good starting CG.

Dan
Hippo is online now Find More Posts by Hippo
Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2011, 07:53 PM
me, right now.
hooligan russ's Avatar
United States, NC, Clayton
Joined Nov 2009
498 Posts
could any of these fly fly birds run on 3s? Maybe with a twenty amp esc?
hooligan russ is offline Find More Posts by hooligan russ
Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 2011, 08:09 PM
Registered User
will3kgt's Avatar
Grand Blanc, MI
Joined Jan 2007
481 Posts
Yes, you can. It's plenty fast on 2S though.
will3kgt is offline Find More Posts by will3kgt
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2011, 12:04 AM
The effect is sadly temporary
Hippo's Avatar
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Joined Oct 2001
1,677 Posts
Whoa there. You could run anything on 3-cells, but not with the stock motor or the stock prop.

You'd either need a smaller prop or a lower kv motor in order to keep the amp draw at a reasonable level.

Dan
Hippo is online now Find More Posts by Hippo
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2011, 12:33 AM
Registered User
will3kgt's Avatar
Grand Blanc, MI
Joined Jan 2007
481 Posts
Thanks Dan,
He would've destroyed his plane taking my advice
will3kgt is offline Find More Posts by will3kgt
Reply With Quote
Old May 26, 2011, 05:21 AM
me, right now.
hooligan russ's Avatar
United States, NC, Clayton
Joined Nov 2009
498 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hippo View Post
Whoa there. You could run anything on 3-cells, but not with the stock motor or the stock prop.

You'd either need a smaller prop or a lower kv motor in order to keep the amp draw at a reasonable level.

Dan
Cool,
thanks Dan.
hooligan russ is offline Find More Posts by hooligan russ
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log FlyFly Mirage2000 with NEW Inverted/Knife Edge/High Speed Videos! SkylineFlyer Foamy EDFs 105 Mar 06, 2011 12:26 AM
For Sale FlyFly 90mm F-4 ARTF SkylineFlyer Aircraft - Electric - Jets (FS/W) 0 Nov 08, 2010 01:00 PM
Rave Huge FlyFly Sale Mix and Match 2 for $299.99 SkylineFlyer Foamy EDFs 0 Aug 31, 2010 10:20 PM
Discussion Which is best to buy for his flying behaves between FLYFLY MIRAGE or FLYFLY RAPTOR ? FedericoA Foamy EDFs 3 Jan 24, 2009 10:48 PM