Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jul 13, 2003, 11:56 PM
SF Bay Area, Ca
Joined Dec 2001
33 Posts
Graupner Speed 480 Race Break-In & Other Newbie Q's!

Hi there! I am new to 'E' flight, but not new to RC as I have been flying glow planes for about three years now. I have always wanted to get into jets but did not want to spend the money required for Glow Ducted Fans or Turbines. So I have decided to give electrics a go.

I am not totally new to the theory of electrics, as I was into electronics when I was younger, so know my way around a soldering iron and understand what Volts, Amps, Watts, Ohms etc. are and how they relate to each other.

Right now I have purchased an Alpha Jet EDF profile jet and all of the Hobby-Lobby recommended accessories.

So I have a Graupner 'Speed 480 Race' motor and want to know whether I should do any break-in for this motor? I have read the FAQ and see where it described break-in, but the instructions that came with the motor say no break-in is necessary. So what gives? Break-in or not? I want the best possible performance out of this thing!

Also I bought the recommended 10 Cell CP-1300 SCR Nicad Pack and it dosn't have any conectors on the leads. Do all batteries come without connectors?

I purchased a 'banana plug to Speed 400 connector' charge lead, so I can charge the pack with my Super Turbo charger, so I am guessing I should buy two sets of Speed 400 connectors to solder to the battery and the ESC leads. Is this right?

I see the ESC I purchased and which was recommended, the Jeti 18 Microprocessor ESC is rated for up to 18 Amps, I also see from my research that the Speed 400 connectors are rated to 20 Amps, so I am guessing this is the way to go. Correct?