HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 05, 2010, 10:46 AM
Austria, Tir., Innsbruck
Joined Sep 2010
63 Posts
Cool
crikey, i feel stupid… (noob's first attempt at soldering)

[this is a newbie's random stream of thought, if this isn't desired, feel free to tell me]

well, i'm totally new to this electric flying lark. bought my first battery and charger this week. [i was good, i went to the LHS]. was given some EC3 connectors to go with the battery (for a parkzone plane). the charger is a single battery 2-3 cell charger thingy with integrated balancer (multiplex LN-3008). once i got home, i realised a few things:
  • i need a power supply for the charger (not mentioned in the LHS)
  • i have no clue of batteries and electric r/c
  • i know how to solder, but not well

first one was solved fairly easily – i work at uni, we have a load of power sources for banana plugs hanging around in the labs and electronic desks. i can borrow one until i've finished building my own from a PC power supply (components are ordered, but won't be delivered until next week).

second problem. hmm, i'm still working on that. i know what an mAh rating is, i more or less know the principle of LiPo batteries and why they need equalising, but that's about it. i'm still reading up on what all of the other numbers and letters mean, but RCG is a great source of infomation for that. i'll get there.