SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Nov 05, 2010, 09:54 AM
Possum Kingdom Lake, TX
Joined Oct 2008
460 Posts
Discussion
opinions: 1/16 Losi SCT vs. 1/18 SC18 Team Accosiated (RTR battle!)

I'm looking at a mini sized short course truck...mostly for playing around

Either way I go, it's RTR, and both are around the $200.00 price point. What would you go with

The SC18 is 4wd. The Losi is not.

I'm also concerned about parts support for the SC18, as I don't know that brand as well as Losi. (I'm quite new to trucks, so my brand knowledge is pretty limited)
Le Pirate is offline Find More Posts by Le Pirate
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 06, 2010, 04:11 AM
india
Joined May 2010
486 Posts
How about the traxxas slash 1/16 vxl?(If you're not looking for sc trucks strictly,try the merv vxl).I am not sure about the prices though.
iamahuman is offline Find More Posts by iamahuman
Old Nov 08, 2010, 07:27 PM
USA, WA, Bonney Lake
Joined Aug 2008
3,416 Posts
i'd go sc18, associated is an awesome brand, and there's a brushless version out to, and the 4wd will help handling. it's also low cg, so i'd go with that one if i was getting one.
jettrooper02 is offline Find More Posts by jettrooper02
Old Nov 09, 2010, 04:43 PM
Possum Kingdom Lake, TX
Joined Oct 2008
460 Posts
I ended up going wit the Associated SC18, and have been...well...dissapointed.

I got it saturday. Charged a couple batteries. Sunday morning, I put the first battery in and drive for about 3 minutes, and you can smell the motor cooking. I adjusted the mesh for the motor pinion....drove it another 3 minutes and the motor was cooking again.

the front drive belt is way too tight. I tried to loosen it as much as possible, and it's still too tight. Turns out if you call TA and ask what to do they send you a new front Diff. which is honorable, but kinda sucks that they don't just hand it to you when you buy it....I know how to replace the motor, i'm sure.