HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 05, 2011, 05:16 PM
Foamy Pilot
AJ5000's Avatar
United States, CA
Joined Jun 2011
457 Posts
What retracts do you guys recommend? Link?
AJ5000 is offline Find More Posts by AJ5000
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 06, 2011, 01:17 PM
Foamy Pilot
AJ5000's Avatar
United States, CA
Joined Jun 2011
457 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by robusp View Post
Just flew my today for the first time.
I was out with couple of other planes and the wind died to nice 5mph.
So I decided I'll give it a try. Didn't have much of a runway, narrow wet path, between banks of snow.
It flew good, but I got less than 4 min, when I heard noticeable difference in motors rpm.
I landed and changed my extension I made up for attaching two batteries instead of one. (I unsoldered the factory connection, added extensions and deans plugs. For one pack I use "y" cable, for two, each pack powers separate esc)
It was a little nose heavy, but flew faster and of course lot longer.
With one battery my elevator was slightly down, now with two it is level.
I am using 2200 mAh turnigy packs. First one was hot when I landed, next two were not even warm.

Rob
Did you use something like this http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...rodID=JSP98020 for the "Y" cable? Where did you get the extensions? I want to use two batteries as well.
AJ5000 is offline Find More Posts by AJ5000
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2011, 03:08 PM
Takeoff=Option Landing=Must
robusp's Avatar
USA, NY, Depew
Joined Jan 2009
826 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJ5000 View Post
Did you use something like this http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...rodID=JSP98020 for the "Y" cable? Where did you get the extensions? I want to use two batteries as well.
The link is for radio "Y" harness.
This is the way I made mine. First leave power to motors and Rx connections intact.
Next separate power wires to both esc's.
Extend the ends and put separate batt connectors on them.

I am also running external BEC, so I had to remove the red wire from both esc to Rx cables.

You have to be able to solder thick 12ga wire. If you can't do it ask hobby store.

Rob
robusp is offline Find More Posts by robusp
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Pulsar 3.2E Competition Pro
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2011, 09:36 PM
Foamy Pilot
AJ5000's Avatar
United States, CA
Joined Jun 2011
457 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by robusp View Post
The link is for radio "Y" harness.
This is the way I made mine. First leave power to motors and Rx connections intact.
Next separate power wires to both esc's.
Extend the ends and put separate batt connectors on them.

I am also running external BEC, so I had to remove the red wire from both esc to Rx cables.

You have to be able to solder thick 12ga wire. If you can't do it ask hobby store.

Rob
Thanks for the directions. What BEC are you using? I think I might need to add one as well because I plan to add flaps (2 servos). Retracts are going to be eflites elec.
AJ5000 is offline Find More Posts by AJ5000
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 06, 2011, 10:26 PM
Takeoff=Option Landing=Must
robusp's Avatar
USA, NY, Depew
Joined Jan 2009
826 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJ5000 View Post
Thanks for the directions. What BEC are you using? I think I might need to add one as well because I plan to add flaps (2 servos). Retracts are going to be eflites elec.
I am using turnigy $4 bec.
I only did it in case one of the packs dies I still have control surfaces to glide it home.
It is pulling 35-40A per motor. 4300kV and 2 or 3 bladed fan.

Rob
robusp is offline Find More Posts by robusp
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Pulsar 3.2E Competition Pro
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 07, 2011, 07:19 PM
Registered User
DerekB's Avatar
Cape Coral, FL
Joined Nov 2001
1,910 Posts
Shortest runway

I'm really liking this plane and want to order, but I have a really short runway. What's the shortest runway that could be used? Just a rough guess would be fine. Assume you hold the plane at wide open, then let go. After take-off, I have plenty of flat open space, so I don't need steep climb out, just short take off.

I'm not worried about landing, there's some tall soft grass at the end of the pavement to act as a "catch net".
DerekB is offline Find More Posts by DerekB
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2011, 02:43 AM
Foamy Pilot
AJ5000's Avatar
United States, CA
Joined Jun 2011
457 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekB View Post
I'm really liking this plane and want to order, but I have a really short runway. What's the shortest runway that could be used? Just a rough guess would be fine. Assume you hold the plane at wide open, then let go. After take-off, I have plenty of flat open space, so I don't need steep climb out, just short take off.

I'm not worried about landing, there's some tall soft grass at the end of the pavement to act as a "catch net".
Check out the nitoplanes video below. Hopefully that can give you an idea.
New Dynam Turbo Jet Twin Brushless EDF Review (7 min 11 sec)
AJ5000 is offline Find More Posts by AJ5000
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2011, 11:58 AM
Registered User
DerekB's Avatar
Cape Coral, FL
Joined Nov 2001
1,910 Posts
Shortest runway

AJ5000,
I watched that one, but he only does a gradual throttle up, then a long take-off run.

I'm hoping someone who already has this plane could do a little test and see just how short the runway could be.

Thanks.
DerekB is offline Find More Posts by DerekB
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2011, 01:24 PM
Takeoff=Option Landing=Must
robusp's Avatar
USA, NY, Depew
Joined Jan 2009
826 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DerekB View Post
AJ5000,
I watched that one, but he only does a gradual throttle up, then a long take-off run.

I'm hoping someone who already has this plane could do a little test and see just how short the runway could be.

Thanks.
You know I never measured my take off, I always worried about having enough room to land.
I think I posted this video before. I shows what you're looking for.
Dynam Turbo Jet Cessna Citation II.mpg (5 min 5 sec)


Rob
robusp is offline Find More Posts by robusp
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by robusp; Jul 08, 2011 at 01:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2011, 01:29 PM
Takeoff=Option Landing=Must
robusp's Avatar
USA, NY, Depew
Joined Jan 2009
826 Posts
Here is another one.
Citation 1 2blade 4500kv.mpg (8 min 48 sec)


Rob
robusp is offline Find More Posts by robusp
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Pulsar 3.2E Competition Pro
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2011, 07:44 PM
Registered User
birmingham Al.
Joined Aug 2005
1,187 Posts
maidened mine yesterday on a 4s 2200 .she flew great lotsa power easy as pie landings I love this one
killer vtwin is offline Find More Posts by killer vtwin
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 2011, 09:20 PM
Foamy Pilot
AJ5000's Avatar
United States, CA
Joined Jun 2011
457 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by killer vtwin View Post
maidened mine yesterday on a 4s 2200 .she flew great lotsa power easy as pie landings I love this one
How much flight time did you get out of the 4s?
AJ5000 is offline Find More Posts by AJ5000
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 12, 2011, 06:42 AM
Registered User
birmingham Al.
Joined Aug 2005
1,187 Posts
4.5 min. thats average and ,with 4s you get to speed fast and you dont need to be wot.
killer vtwin is offline Find More Posts by killer vtwin
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2011, 03:24 PM
Foamy Pilot
AJ5000's Avatar
United States, CA
Joined Jun 2011
457 Posts
Turned the fans by hand to see if they rubbed and they didnt. Then after 50% throttle I smelled something. Turns out that they do at 50% throttle. Now I have groves from the blades inside the housing. Is this normal?
AJ5000 is offline Find More Posts by AJ5000
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2011, 06:46 PM
Registered User
birmingham Al.
Joined Aug 2005
1,187 Posts
yea it happens when the blades spread out ,its not a welcomed thing but must stock fans do this ,sometimes they need to wear in and sometimes you can loosen the motor and center it better ,I will run em in with a three cell then pop in the 4s
killer vtwin is offline Find More Posts by killer vtwin
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lifelike Turbo Jet 2000 conversion budgetfly Foamies (Kits) 22 Feb 25, 2006 08:02 PM
TJ3D... (Wal-Mart Turbo Jet 2000 conversion) ScottChase Foamies (Kits) 10 Sep 11, 2003 03:27 AM
Turbo Jet 2000 EDF thelocust Foamies (Kits) 1 Mar 05, 2002 10:28 PM
Twin Jet and Permax turbo 450 setup geoff.sim Foamies (Kits) 3 Jun 08, 2001 01:25 AM