HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 26, 2012, 02:06 PM
Registered User
d_toolman's Avatar
Florida,USA
Joined Feb 2011
146 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhblock2002 View Post
Has anyone here flying the Dynam Turbojet 550 had any issues with too much wing flex at high speed loops or turns? Just my opinion, but it doesn't look very strong with just glue holding the wing together. Even my FMS 206T has a plastic rod through the whole wing and wing struts connected to the fuse. Let me know your experiences. Thanks!
I cut a slot from landing light to landing light just in front of the wheel wells and inserted a carbon fiber flat bar. The Carbon fiber measured about 3/8" x 1/16" and I put it on knife edge. On knife edge it will not bend. I did this after the first flight where I noticed stress marks in the wing just outside of the fuselage. Now there is no flex in the wing. Hope this helps.....Gene
d_toolman is offline Find More Posts by d_toolman
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 26, 2012, 02:12 PM
Registered User
d_toolman's Avatar
Florida,USA
Joined Feb 2011
146 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by griffin 27 View Post
Can anyone post the CG of this bird, I lost my manual ? Thanks

With a 3s 2650 40c sky lipo I get 4mins flight time on full throttle, which in my opinion is the only way to fly it because it isnt all that fast.
The manual states 55-60mm from leading edge. --Gene
d_toolman is offline Find More Posts by d_toolman
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2012, 02:18 PM
Registered User
d_toolman's Avatar
Florida,USA
Joined Feb 2011
146 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcneal View Post
A friend of mine has one of these turbo jets, but can only get a 2 minute flight even with a 4s 2650mah 40c battery and flying mostly at half power. He says it is drawing 62 amps statically with both motors running full power.

By my calculations he should ideally be getting 2.5 minutes at full power and ~ 4.5 minutes running about half power.

Do these numbers look about right to you all?
What are typically some running times you are getting with 3s-4s batteries?
Could the esc's timing be adjusted to give more flight time?

Thanks.



Bill
Hey Bill, I use the 3300 3cell battery and have my timer set for 4 minutes. When I land I take a reading of the battery and each cell reads around 3.80v. ---Gene
d_toolman is offline Find More Posts by d_toolman
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 26, 2012, 04:36 PM
AMA 125691
wmcneal's Avatar
Jacksonville Florida
Joined Jul 2002
2,240 Posts
I guess Rick didn't put any kind of additional spar in his because he folded the wing on his last weekend diving out of a fog bank. It's toast. He said he will get another one. I will advise him to add the spar like you did, Gene.
wmcneal is offline Find More Posts by wmcneal
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 06:26 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2008
215 Posts
how much runway is needed

Well I tried to maiden today ...my jet has the flaps and re-tracts and 3S-2200mah battery so it might be on the heavy side.


Anyhow I usually can take off in 50foot with other (prop) Dynam planes

But no luck on the TurboJet...I then tried 100 foot and still no luck even with full flaps...kept tryng longer and longer and could not get it done...i feels like it keeps pointing down and I get speed.


Any idea on how to get the bird to take off...I am about ready to try a hand throw,.
fbitz777 is offline Find More Posts by fbitz777
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 06:36 PM
6 months to finish a rtf
pulsery2k1's Avatar
upstate ny
Joined Jun 2003
1,834 Posts
fbitz777

Couple of thing to check , Cg a nose heavy model will require
more speed to ROG. next check model is sitting level or slightly
nose up . Flaps I use half to get off the grass field
but it get's up quickly .

lastly a EDF is far less efficent that a prop plane and you
don't have the propwash over the control surfaces so its
going to take more speed - runway

hand launching . be careful .

hand launch.wmv (2 min 45 sec)
pulsery2k1 is offline Find More Posts by pulsery2k1
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2012, 09:29 PM
It's watts for dinner
United States, GA, Marietta
Joined Oct 2011
944 Posts
fbitz777-

My turbojet is set up just like yours (flaps/retracts/GensAce 3S 2200) and it scoots off the ground and into the air. Comparatively low static thrust is not a problem on mine, even with stock fans/esc. Check:

1) CG
2) Throttle endpoints (are you getting full power? Reset using ESC setup if you need to)
3) Elevator throw - I noticed that the control rods like to bow, especially if they are impeded by stuffed wires, etc. Make sure that you have sufficient throw and that there's no binding. Note also that if well balanced the elevators don't NEED alot of throw, so don't overdo it. Mine was perfectly balanced out of the gate with the GensAce 2200 right in the pre-fab slot.

Best of luck! It's a fun little plane.
sjw985 is offline Find More Posts by sjw985
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2012, 08:36 PM
Take that runway!
jim12's Avatar
United States, AZ, Glendale
Joined May 2005
217 Posts
Had the same thing happen. Check internal resistance of the battery. Some chargers will compute. Mine showed fully charged but voltage fell like a rock under load resulting in limping into the air and stall. New battery made the difference. Should be snappy on 3-cell.
jim12 is online now Find More Posts by jim12
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 02, 2012, 01:37 PM
Registered User
xmech2k's Avatar
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Jun 2007
1,860 Posts
Another wing spar solution: I measured the cf rods molded into the wings through the slots along the lower leading edge, I forgot how big they are off hand, and got a piece of aluminum tubing with that size inside diameter. Cut it to length, bend in the middle to the desired dihedral angle, cut some access holes through the foam, then just pushed them on when I glued the wing halves together. I thought the aluminum rod would be relatively heavy, but it's very light.
xmech2k is offline Find More Posts by xmech2k
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 06, 2012, 03:05 PM
simplefly
United States, IL, Glen Ellyn
Joined Sep 2010
230 Posts
Need a favor, can one of you guys please post a esc programming that came with the plane (inside of the manual) my wide "accidentally" threw it away.

Thanks a lot.
- Dan
simplefly is offline Find More Posts by simplefly
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2012, 06:43 AM
simplefly
United States, IL, Glen Ellyn
Joined Sep 2010
230 Posts
Anyone?
simplefly is offline Find More Posts by simplefly
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2012, 11:40 AM
6 months to finish a rtf
pulsery2k1's Avatar
upstate ny
Joined Jun 2003
1,834 Posts
ESC:

I know you can program them with the radio , but I also know
and program mine with this.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...idProduct=2169

check the nitro site /electronics/ dyham/esc's and you will see this
controller ,.
pulsery2k1 is offline Find More Posts by pulsery2k1
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2012, 12:24 PM
simplefly
United States, IL, Glen Ellyn
Joined Sep 2010
230 Posts
There is a instruction inside of manual how to do this. My plane pulls to the right a bit so left motors are not running equally. I need to do this with a radio.

Thanks
simplefly is offline Find More Posts by simplefly
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2012, 01:39 PM
6 months to finish a rtf
pulsery2k1's Avatar
upstate ny
Joined Jun 2003
1,834 Posts
simplefly

No with the program card simply remove the esc plug from reciver
and attach it to program card(attach Battery) and the program the esc's with the
card - both will then be sycned . and your problems solved .

plus the card is super easy and you see what you have programed
in lights on the card
pulsery2k1 is offline Find More Posts by pulsery2k1
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 08, 2012, 04:21 PM
simplefly
United States, IL, Glen Ellyn
Joined Sep 2010
230 Posts
Pulsery, i dont have a card or battery for it . Thats the problem.
simplefly is offline Find More Posts by simplefly
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lifelike Turbo Jet 2000 conversion budgetfly Foamies (Kits) 22 Feb 25, 2006 07:02 PM
TJ3D... (Wal-Mart Turbo Jet 2000 conversion) ScottChase Foamies (Kits) 10 Sep 11, 2003 02:27 AM
Turbo Jet 2000 EDF thelocust Foamies (Kits) 1 Mar 05, 2002 09:28 PM
Twin Jet and Permax turbo 450 setup geoff.sim Foamies (Kits) 3 Jun 08, 2001 12:25 AM