HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 03, 2010, 08:07 PM
Columbus, Indiana
Joined Nov 2004
332 Posts
Build Log
Dumas Eindecker build log?

I have just started building my EIII Walnut scale by Dumas. I've been flying largish planes for 25 plus years. I currently enjoy 1/4 scale WW1. Recently I bought a HZ Champ and am having a ball flying it in the front yard. I recently went walking through my lhs and came across the EIII. The thought of it wooshing through my clubs indoor winter flying crossed my mind and I bought it on site. I used to build stick and tissue stuff before I was old enough to have a job to buy RC stuff. So I'm not a complete newb to the small ones. I was going to buy the AR6400 and bind it to the transmitter I had from the champ, then I went to the lhs and started getting all the components for the EIII. Long story short, I bought another Champ just as a donor for all radio, engine, tx, battery and charger. It was much cheaper that way. I love the way the Champ flies, so when I weighed it I felt pretty confident I can build the EIII at or under the weight of the champ. My everyday flying champ weighs in at 40g. I think I can get that EIII a lot less than that, so hopefully I should be good. I know the Champ has a few more inches of wing, but I'm not too concerned.

So, to all the micro Guru's out there...is this doable?

I would like to do a build thread on it, mostly for my own selfish reasons. I have already found some issues that will make me scratch my head. So, hopefully someone else can get some good info off this as well as me.
I'll post some pictures asap so everyone can give their critiques. Just be easy on me.
On a side note, it's much different building at this scale with tweezers and toothpicks than building on a wing stretched halfway across my garage. I do like having my entire build on a 4 x 24 piece of 1/2" balsa. Very easy to move it to the (warm) kitchen table that way. You micro guys may have just found a new member.