HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 07, 2001, 07:11 AM
Longueuil (Quebec) Canada
Joined Sep 2001
16 Posts
Dave's Aircraft Works TG-3 and 1-26 Foamie Gliders for beginner??

I am thinking of getting a Foamie Glider and I hear a lot of good things about Dave's Aircraft Works TG-3 and 1-26 Foamie Gliders, in the 2 channel Rudder/Elevator and Polyhedral wing versions.

I am a total beginner, and would like opinions about these choices, and about other/better choices.

Thanks

Pierre
Bellavance is offline Find More Posts by Bellavance
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 07, 2001, 09:49 AM
Atlanta, GA
Joined May 2000
602 Posts
I taught myself to fly with the DAW 1-26 glider. The EPP foam is key, as you *will* crash ten to twenty times if you are learning by yourself. It does not thermal terribly well, but it'll work well off of a high-start. Also look into the highlander EPP 2-meter glider at www.madaircraft.com .

Do you have an instructor? I very highly recommend that you have someone help you. It'll save you a lot of time when you don't have to unlearn bad habits.

Are you intending on going electric later on? If so, I'd look into Darwin Garrison's Push-E-Cat (search for threads on ezone). It's basically an EPP glider with speed 400 power. It's worthwhile to invest in a versatile speed 400 system early on.

One last word of advice: don't try to be too cheap on your initial investments, lest you find yourself buying the same thing again. I.e. get a solid radio system, charger, etc.

G'luck,
Lee
chlee is offline Find More Posts by chlee
Old Oct 07, 2001, 10:01 AM
Longueuil (Quebec) Canada
Joined Sep 2001
16 Posts
I will also go Electric.

Hi,

Thanks for your advice. The local club will give me instruction. In fact, I should try a glider tomorrow with a Double Controls system.

Do you know if the TG-3 or Highlander thermal better than the 1-26?

Yes, I will also go Electric. I've also read good things on the Push-E-Cat.