Old Oct 30, 2010, 11:10 PM
fix-it-up chappie
Valley Village, CA
Joined Jan 2002
2,262 Posts
Trader Rating: 9
Discussion
Looking for tips on preparing kits for shipping

I'm selling a lot of kits for my mother-in-law. I am a long time builder, but I'm not into buying and selling, meaning I am an amateur. I just got the job because I was the closest thing to an "expert" in the family.

Some of the kits are small, and light, most are probably in the 3-5 pound range. A few are 1/4 scale, meaning both large and heavy.

What I'm looking for is if any of you have found a good way to cheaply ship a kit box. Wrap them in craft paper, and send them out? Double box everything? Some kits are likely not worth more than $20-$30 so i don't want to spend a lot on shipping. Some are going to be more pricey collectables, so double boxing will be the way.

I live near a specialized box store, so types and sizes of boxes are easy for me to get, and relativity cheap. Shipping materials we have (the wife runs an online candle business).

I'd appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks in advance.

Eric
tolladay is offline Find More Posts by tolladay
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 31, 2010, 07:03 AM
Let slip the dogs of war!
United States, VA, Virginia Beach
Joined Jun 2005
1,697 Posts
Trader Rating: 35
Tolly,

I think it's mostly a judgment call on your part. Consider double-boxing anything that seems a bit too light or fragile. If it was me, I would probably double-box everything, but you could probably just use craft paper for a large kit that is densely packed in a sturdy box. For smaller, lighter, more delicate kits, I would use packing materials around the kit inside the outer box.

I received two Sterling balsa kits that were craft paper-wrapped and they were fine, but I wouldn't do it that way.

Good luck.

Ben
Park_Flyer is offline Find More Posts by Park_Flyer
Old Oct 31, 2010, 08:12 AM
In NY's beautifull hills
Binghamton Broome Cty, New York, United States
Joined Jun 2004