SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 28, 2010, 01:35 PM
Indianapolis, IN
Joined Oct 2010
1,864 Posts
Help!
Charger - Just starting out flexibility

Well as stated I am just starting out and wanted to know what your opinions were. I am currently flying the ultra micro planes with 1S batteries. However I would like the charger to be able to handle much larger batteries for the future. I am currently using a mix of Hyperions and E Flite batteries. The hyperions I know can be charged at 5C rates. Although faster charging could be overcome with charging multiple batteries at once.

Basically I would like to be able to cut down my charge time for my 1S batteries by either charging them faster or charging multiple batteries at once. The flexibiliy of having a bigger charger for the future would be nice but not absolutely necessary.

I was looking that FMA Direct Multi 4S and the Turnigy Accucell 6 chargers, not sure if either fit my need but looked like decent chargers.

Advice needed and thank you!
IndyMatt is offline Find More Posts by IndyMatt
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 28, 2010, 01:53 PM
Joined Feb 2008
2,701 Posts
Based on what you've said, I would say just about any charger would do for the moment.

Example: Lets say you want to charge 4 Hyperion 1S 160ma batteries in parallel at 5C. That's:

4 * 1 * 4.2 * .16 * 5 = ~14 watts.
(4 batteries * 1S times 4.2V per cell *.16a *5C)

Most of the smallest chargers on the market are 50 watts so you're fine with just about any choice.

On the other hand you want to go "much larger" in the future. So let's assume much larger is a T-rex 700E. So now the calculation to charge 4 of those at 5C is:

4 * 12 * 4.2 * 5 * 5 = ~5000 watts. To get that you need about 4 high-end chargers.