Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jul 11, 2003, 02:06 PM
Oliver BC Canada
Joined Nov 2002
189 Posts
Can't get it up!

My Hummingbird that is,,, and actually I can get it up, but just not for very long at a time.

I just got my Hummingbird put together with stock motors and separates and aluminium shaft collar.
Separate items are:
CSM HLG200 Gyro,,,, Pixie 7 ESC, GWS ICS-50, FMA M5 Receiver and 2 cell 1020 Li-poly battery pack. I had to install extensions and mount the battery pack well forward of the battery struts to get it to balance.
I'm a total novice to RC Helis of any kind, yet remarkably I got it trimmed and hovering (sort of) in a couple hours.
The problem is it seems to poop out rather fast and I am unable to keep it in the air for more then about 30 seconds at a time. Even with a fresh charge if I can hold it steady for long enough it will start to lose power and settle back into ground effect and gets tougher to control so I land right away. If I wait a while I'm able to get off the ground again and do the same sort of thing.
I'm guessing it's the batteries that aren't able to hold the current draw. I have yet to hook up my amp meter (will do that soon).
But I have heard there are people using the 1020 Li-poly batteries with good success, so I'm wondering if there might be some other problem????
Anybody with any ideas or suggestions???
Here are some pics of my Hummingbird set up. http://www.southokanagan.biz/hummingbird/