HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 25, 2010, 05:30 AM
Letchworth, Great Britain (UK)
Joined Jul 2004
11,142 Posts
Discussion
When do bearings wear out?

I've been flying my T-Rex 500 for 18 months or so, and have replaced the main shaft, feathering shaft, boom, main gears maybe 3 or 4 times due to crashes. But I've never replaced any bearings because I've had no suspicion that any bearing is going bad.

A couple of times now heli buddies at the flying field have suggested it's about time I changed my bearings. I know that putting new bearings in can't be a bad thing, but I don't want to do it unless it's absolutely necessary. They all feel smooth at the moment, and I don't feel any looseness in any of them.

The heli has had about 200 8-minute or 7-minute flights in its 18 months. What's the concensus about replacing bearings, please? Wait until they feel bad, or get noisy, or replace them after xx hours as a matter of course?
abenn is online now Find More Posts by abenn
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 25, 2010, 06:02 AM
Air, Ground & Water
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
22,300 Posts
Regular bearings I would replace when you can feel or hear them going bad. How ever with my brother's heli or one of them he had several crashes and then after replacing everything he stil lhad couple more crashes that were attributed to the oneway bearing. The LHS guys of fly heli said anytime the you get a crash where the rotor head will stike and the force is strong enough to stip the main gear and stuff like that then the oneway bearging should be inspected and or replace and of course the last two unexplained crashes were because of this.
freechip is offline Find More Posts by freechip
Old Oct 25, 2010, 08:19 AM
S.A.D. member
United States, TX, Round Rock
Joined Dec 2004
9,112 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by freechip View Post
. . .