HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 23, 2010, 04:01 AM
Cornwall UK
Joined Jun 2007
13 Posts
Discussion
Quad frame idea for safety

Hi Guys,
I am just about to build my first quad for aerial photography (maybe the x650 when some of you have reviewed it first!). I have 35 years rc experience with planes and hellis. Has anyone used aerofoils for the booms on their quad? My theory is the quad would "helicopter" down like a sycamore seed. I know the wind would affect it a little but if I am 400 ft up and everything fails, at least is will fall a bit slower! I see lots of talk about parachutes but this seems simpler. What do you guys think?
andrewonline is offline Find More Posts by andrewonline
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 23, 2010, 04:40 AM
WHEN IN DOUBT FLOOR IT!!!
AZ
Joined May 2006
4,746 Posts
wouldn't the air from the props make it want to spin in flight..
G-unit is offline Find More Posts by G-unit
Old Oct 23, 2010, 05:00 AM
Suspended Account
Long Island, New York
Joined Jun 2008
6,428 Posts
If you want to be safer, build a well thought out Octo using a good FCB. Not some cheap, unproven quad design.
Here is a link of my Octo with a UAVX FCB losing a motor in flight.
Fun Flying (1 min 54 sec)

This video was made in 15 plus mph winds, the Octo was very controllable once I realized what happened. I will be ready even quicker if it happens again.
Tarro is offline Find More Posts by Tarro
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Oct 23, 2010, 05:06 AM
Joined Aug 2007
4,099 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewonline View Post
Hi Guys,