SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 14, 2011, 09:34 AM
Registered User
United States, NC, Mebane
Joined Apr 2011
215 Posts
The HX9V does not appear to have aperture priority or RAW, specs further down the page:
http://www.dpreview.com/news/1102/11...hx100vhx9v.asp

Though canon sx220/230 does, but no RAW: http://www.dpreview.com/news/1102/11...sx220sx230.asp

Quote:
Originally Posted by topgearuk View Post
Thank you, wow that was literal just up the road from me! How long ago was it you lived there?
30 years or so!
Derrick T is offline Find More Posts by Derrick T
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 14, 2011, 10:20 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2011
6 Posts
ESC burns

Hello everybody!

After assembling my X650, I would like to test the motors .
(I wanted to check the rotation direction of the motors.)
I do this with a 4S Lipo and without blades.

For a view seconds the motors works well, but then then the Brushless ESC burns!!! (take a look at the attachment)
What’s going wrong?

I ‘ve an second X650 here for testing, so I can change easily the ESC to an new one. What do you think? Was it a defact on the ESC or can I made an error by assambling the electrinocs?
The next test I will do with a 3S-Lipo....

regards
copterfan
copterfan is offline Find More Posts by copterfan
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 10:22 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2011
319 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derrick T View Post
The HX9V does not appear to have aperture priority or RAW, specs further down the page:
http://www.dpreview.com/news/1102/11...hx100vhx9v.asp

Though canon sx220/230 does, but no RAW: http://www.dpreview.com/news/1102/11...sx220sx230.asp



30 years or so!
Does it have live view output??...out put for video Tx for FPV???
rfsalem is offline Find More Posts by rfsalem
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 11:02 AM
Registered User
Palmdale, Ca
Joined Mar 2010
392 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by copterfan View Post
Hello everybody!

After assembling my X650, I would like to test the motors .
(I wanted to check the rotation direction of the motors.)
I do this with a 4S Lipo and without blades.

For a view seconds the motors works well, but then then the Brushless ESC burns!!! (take a look at the attachment)
What’s going wrong?

I ‘ve an second X650 here for testing, so I can change easily the ESC to an new one. What do you think? Was it a defact on the ESC or can I made an error by assambling the electrinocs?
The next test I will do with a 3S-Lipo....

regards
copterfan
You might check the screws going through the motor support arms. If you accidentally thread them through two wires at once you can cause a short. Its not hard to do if you're not careful.
Arley is offline Find More Posts by Arley
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 11:06 AM
Multi-Rotor Mad
QuadcoptersUk's Avatar
UK
Joined Jul 2010
410 Posts
I would definately check you have not put a bolt through the arms into the motor wires before trying another esc , or you will just burn another one out .


Quote:
Originally Posted by copterfan View Post
Hello everybody!

After assembling my X650, I would like to test the motors .
(I wanted to check the rotation direction of the motors.)
I do this with a 4S Lipo and without blades.

For a view seconds the motors works well, but then then the Brushless ESC burns!!! (take a look at the attachment)
What’s going wrong?

I ‘ve an second X650 here for testing, so I can change easily the ESC to an new one. What do you think? Was it a defact on the ESC or can I made an error by assambling the electrinocs?
The next test I will do with a 3S-Lipo....

regards
copterfan
QuadcoptersUk is offline Find More Posts by QuadcoptersUk
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 11:16 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2011
78 Posts
new camera mount rigged from simply zipties and four extra arms...

dckiteboards is offline Find More Posts by dckiteboards
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 11:52 AM
winkybone
United Kingdom, England, Lancs
Joined Mar 2007
106 Posts
[QUOTE=TheGunMan;18219482]Hi everyone,

I am new in the business but love to get in

I have radio question - I cant decide between Airtronics SD-10G and Hitec Aurora 9 for X650

I know that aurora has 1 channel less but beside this?

Thank you in advance[/QUOTE

Aurora 9 is very good radio I use myself but hard to get at the moment
winkybone is offline Find More Posts by winkybone
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 11:57 AM
Registered User
Joined May 2011
6 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arley View Post
You might check the screws going through the motor support arms. If you accidentally thread them through two wires at once you can cause a short. Its not hard to do if you're not careful.
Thats a goody Idea! Thanks at flyfpv and Arley!
I will check this...

Meanwhile, I have already installed the new ESC and tested it with 3S and only with the power from the USB port.
I've only give a little throttle.
The first test of the ESC is just burnt out as I have been 3 / 4 throttle.
ESC is still alive...

I will check the motor cables still all.
I love the design of X650, everything is quick to install! Good work XAircraft-team!
copterfan is offline Find More Posts by copterfan
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 11:59 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2011
319 Posts
[QUOTE=winkybone;18233413]
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGunMan View Post
Hi everyone,

I am new in the business but love to get in
what ever radio you decide..it must be reliable and good quality...you can not risk a USD 1500 quad on inferior radio technology..And buy with enough channels 10 to 12 for future expansion
rfsalem is offline Find More Posts by rfsalem
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 12:06 PM
winkybone
United Kingdom, England, Lancs
Joined Mar 2007
106 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delfin000 View Post
Finished Х650. Was with one axis, has altered in two.
Hi we have them alware stand www.xaircraft.co.uk
winkybone is offline Find More Posts by winkybone
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 01:54 PM
Registered User
~>Miha<~'s Avatar
Joined Dec 2009
1,473 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by copterfan View Post
Thats a goody Idea! Thanks at flyfpv and Arley!
The first test of the ESC is just burnt out as I have been 3 / 4 throttle.
ESC is still alive...
3/4 throttle might be already too much when spinning the engines without props (and no resistance therefore). Is like in the car in neutral... you really don't want to give 3/4 throttle there for more than 1-2s... and that engine is much more less responsive and more inert than a brushless motor. Though your car probably has a RPM limiter, but the ESC probably has not.

Miha
~>Miha<~ is offline Find More Posts by ~>Miha<~
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 02:14 PM
Suspended Account
United Kingdom, Swansea
Joined Mar 2011
2,225 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by topgearuk View Post
On your camera I believe it can also shoot in 1080i, I'm sure I heard somewhere that this mode is actually better for video once mounted to a frame. Have you tried that mode yet?
Haven't bothered to try it for the quad as I already know that interlaced is no good for viewing on a pc as fpv found that will cause interalce lines

Hi FPV it was me who put you onto the HX9 and also told you about the self stabilisation of the cam mount, though I was given duff info from the seller, I was led to beleive it could give live video feed out whilst recording, after having to wait for the cable when it arrived I discovered that the camera shuts the video feed off as soon as you hit the record button, it will work for stills though but no good for FPV video
They are talking to Sony techs who may be willing to create a special firmware for me, I'll know more this week

PS
I'll be calling you tomorrow
Just went out to the garage to box up some broken glass, had to move some alloy wheels and one of them fell on my quad , need some landing gear bugga !

May quiz you about the infamous GPS too
TeeJayBee is offline Find More Posts by TeeJayBee
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old May 14, 2011, 02:35 PM
Registered User
RCvertt's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
4,153 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by boxhead916 View Post
That was a qq for later, how to set arm/disarm, because it is set normal...
In that case I'd check that the RC tab shows that the green bar for throttle is lower than it's "Min" setting. If it is then I'm out of ideas.
RCvertt is offline Find More Posts by RCvertt
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Chupacabra sighting !!!
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 02:42 PM
Registered User
Delfin000's Avatar
Russia, Moscow
Joined Jan 2011
308 Posts
Hi, all
Has repaired after falling X650 (4x4), tomorrow we try to try GPS and a compass.
Delfin000 is offline Find More Posts by Delfin000
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2011, 02:44 PM
Registered User
Ironbridge (UK)
Joined Jan 2009
3,966 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delfin000 View Post
Hi, all
Has repaired after falling X650 (4x4), tomorrow we try to try GPS and a compass.
well done
Joshbb is offline Find More Posts by Joshbb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Xaircraft X650 Quad Owners and Testers Thread Z06 Tony Multirotor Talk 459 Feb 07, 2014 02:54 PM
Discussion x650 Technical Documents Translation:XAircraft X650 LED Module infmetry Multirotor Talk 9 Nov 22, 2011 06:03 PM
Discussion WANTED:Test-Pilots for X650&Letter to XAircraft Pilots/The final namelist determined xaircraft Multirotor Talk 35 Jan 11, 2011 07:28 AM
Discussion X650 the new quad from XAircraft to be launched very soon bob.titus Multirotor Talk 558 Nov 20, 2010 11:33 AM
Discussion Official!!!!!! Parrot A.RDrone USA owners thread Quad_Addict Multirotor Talk 59 Oct 27, 2010 11:48 PM