Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 28, 2012, 01:34 PM
Play tetris with my english
DaxFX's Avatar
Puerto Rico, San Juan
Joined May 2008
2,181 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tracknoob View Post
I know with the Stinson, some people who decided to use flaps on take off lived to regret it when they stalled and crashed from forgetting they were on, during the first turn after take off.
never heard of that. i dont use flaps for take off on any of my planes but good to now this so i can pay more attention on my stinson..
DaxFX is online now Find More Posts by DaxFX
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 28, 2012, 02:07 PM
Registered User
Georgetown IN
Joined Jul 2010
943 Posts
Quote:
I will play around with making up a foam spacer!
You can also use a popsicle stick. There is a "shoulder" on each side in the fuse. Trim the stick to fit, put a dab of silicon on each side and drop it in....airflow is not obstructed as the stick is no wider than the battery. The balance was perfect with a G15 and 3S/2200s.
10AE is offline Find More Posts by 10AE
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2012, 02:17 PM
Parkzone junkie
kalmon's Avatar
United States, MI, Grand Traverse
Joined Oct 2008
3,529 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tracknoob View Post
Can't say it's 'typical' but I have 4% down elevator for half flaps and 6% for full flaps, and when I switched them during a flyby, I did not notice any pitch up or pitch down, so it's about right for my plane.

As to need for flaps, I decided to take off and land without them today, and everything was fine (we have a 40 foot wide, 250 foot long grass runway), so it will probably be some time before I get around to fully exploring them just for fun.

I know with the Stinson, some people who decided to use flaps on take off lived to regret it when they stalled and crashed from forgetting they were on, during the first turn after take off.
Takeoff flaps:
In a heavier higher loaded plane they can really shorten the takeoff roll. This Jug, even when stock powered, is ridiculously overpowered. If you go to full throttle the ground roll will be about 15 ft. Basically anywhere it can roll without nosing over you can take off!

I have 4 or 5% of elevator dialed into my flaps. It is not really needed though. I'm just to lazy to take it out. Like was mentioned above it will only balloon if they are deployed at speed. If you are anywhere close to approach speed all it does is momentarily arrest descent rate. Once that stabilizes it resumes a descent just slightly slower.

I find I really love the way this plane lands. I almost always only use half flaps unless it is dead calm. The P-47 has some of the most beautiful wheel landings. Just carry power all the way down. If needed it glides well for a warbird. but deadstick landings just look all wrong on this plane and like a good warbird it'll violently tip stall/spin if it gets to slow.

-Brian
kalmon is offline Find More Posts by kalmon
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2012, 02:53 PM
Registered Crasher
United States, TX, Coppell
Joined Feb 2011
2,200 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tracknoob View Post
Can't say it's 'typical' but I have 4% down elevator for half flaps and 6% for full flaps, and when I switched them during a flyby, I did not notice any pitch up or pitch down, so it's about right for my plane.

As to need for flaps, I decided to take off and land without them today, and everything was fine (we have a 40 foot wide, 250 foot long grass runway), so it will probably be some time before I get around to fully exploring them just for fun.

I know with the Stinson, some people who decided to use flaps on take off lived to regret it when they stalled and crashed from forgetting they were on, during the first turn after take off.
Add me to that list for the P-47. No flaps on takeoff, please!
jtaylor996 is offline Find More Posts by jtaylor996
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2012, 02:55 PM
Registered Crasher
United States, TX, Coppell
Joined Feb 2011
2,200 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10AE View Post
You can also use a popsicle stick. There is a "shoulder" on each side in the fuse. Trim the stick to fit, put a dab of silicon on each side and drop it in....airflow is not obstructed as the stick is no wider than the battery. The balance was perfect with a G15 and 3S/2200s.
That's a good idea. However, I sometimes put in 3300 packs, which balance down in the slot, so I like that I can just pop the spacer out (it's not retained in any way).
jtaylor996 is offline Find More Posts by jtaylor996
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2012, 05:13 PM
Checkertail Clan
325FGP's Avatar
USA, IN, Anderson
Joined Jul 2009
553 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by javier668 View Post
About takeoffs today tried without flaps on dirt track and needed double run space but the take off is a lot more controlled and the left torque twist can countered better with the rudder.
What you think about this?, i think the flaps are very useless on stretch and dirt track.
Other thing about flaps, how much down elevator is a normal setting whit the plane trimed for level cruise at mid throtle, i have the dx7 and dont use program only manual down elevator but some times when the wind is strong is a little twitchy that form.

Regards!
Check in the servo setup for your DX7 and see if there is a setting for servo speed. If there is set your speed to 3-5 seconds which will make the flap deployment nice and smooth instead of snapping to position. That will allow you to compensate for the added lift from the flaps.

I'm also on the no flaps for take off bandwagon.
325FGP is online now Find More Posts by 325FGP
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2012, 05:40 PM
Has Sloped Off
dav3uk's Avatar
Uk South Wales
Joined Aug 2009
2,257 Posts
I used flaps on take off if using a small concrete patch for a runway i sometimes get forced to use because the grass is so long.

I used about 30% and she is off in no time and not at the speed of sound........

But with the G25 and HL prop I can launch her vertical if I want..........lol

Usually off the ground in under 6 feet or so...very unscale but sometimes needs must....oh and it gets the gas guys talking......lol

dave
dav3uk is offline Find More Posts by dav3uk
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2012, 06:09 PM
Registered User
JDMJim's Avatar
United States, IL, Joliet
Joined Jul 2011
2,138 Posts
I haven't been using any mix with my flaps. wheels/flaps down, the plane is perfectly balanced in flight. I just hold the elevator up a tad on roll-out. It looks good and I decrease the elevator as the plane slows....So I can hold the roll-out with the tail up...
JDMJim is offline Find More Posts by JDMJim
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2012, 06:10 PM
Play tetris with my english
DaxFX's Avatar
Puerto Rico, San Juan
Joined May 2008
2,181 Posts
I love to put gas guys to talk in secrete. Jijiji especialy when take off my CarbonZ Yak at full throtle in 3 feet. They dont speak loud but you can notice they are amaze about the power. But just dont whant to accept reality. This days electric setup are a beast
DaxFX is online now Find More Posts by DaxFX
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2012, 06:12 PM
Ack!
md1963's Avatar
Maryland
Joined Feb 2011
84 Posts
Which prop would work best with a P25 1250kv for longer flight times on 3S, the stock or the Extra 300 prop?
md1963 is offline Find More Posts by md1963
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2012, 06:14 PM
Bay Area Prop Buster
Bluhammer's Avatar
Bay Area CA
Joined Jan 2011
3,884 Posts
Congrats on the successful maiden Tracknoob! The Bolt is a really great plane. I never use my flaps anymore as she flies and lands beautifully for me. Into a good breeze it'll almost hover (don't try it too low ).
The best thing I did to mine besides the retracts, was adding a P-15 with an PZ Extra 300 prop.
Have fun!

Blu
Bluhammer is offline Find More Posts by Bluhammer
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2012, 06:14 PM
You can't take the sky from me
copperbricks's Avatar
United States, OH, Cincinnati
Joined Aug 2011
1,083 Posts
The stock prop would be best for longer flight times, as it is less aggressive in pitch, and a bit less in diameter. If i were you, I would get everything from a 10x6 or so to a 10x10, and also the two props you mentioned, and test for amp draw. With the high kv of that motor, pitch speed won't really be an issue, unless you go really low.
copperbricks is offline Find More Posts by copperbricks
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2012, 07:03 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2007
138 Posts
retracts

Do the eflite 15-25 size retracts fit as well without modification?
I'd like to have them more robust compared to the 10-15 size.

Any cheaper retract alternatives than eflite that include the struts?

Thanks
sporn is offline Find More Posts by sporn
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2012, 07:16 PM
Shut up and fly
papabatman's Avatar
United States, CO, Firestone
Joined Jun 2008
10,294 Posts
yes but the prebent struts don't. i like 15-25
papabatman is offline Find More Posts by papabatman
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Big fpv weekend
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2012, 07:20 PM
Registered Crasher
United States, TX, Coppell
Joined Feb 2011
2,200 Posts
I don't mix with the flaps, but I do use the servo slowdown function on my tx.
jtaylor996 is offline Find More Posts by jtaylor996
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion World Models p47 1.20 dards Fuel Warbirds 1 Oct 20, 2010 10:55 AM
Discussion E-Flite P47 or Parkzone Corsair?? Gobstopper Electric Warbirds 13 Dec 02, 2009 09:37 PM
Discussion New Parkzone p51 or Greatplanes P47 casedit Electric Warbirds 5 Sep 01, 2009 09:08 AM