SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 20, 2010, 12:34 PM
Brett
Joined Oct 2010
3 Posts
Question
Krick Borkum kit (First boat build)

Hi,
I have been building and flying RC helicopters for 15 years but have been interested in steam for some time. I just ordered a Krick Borkum open launch kit and would like to ask a few questions regarding the build.
What glues and their brands do you recommend?
What sanding sealer and finishes do you recommend? (brands too please)
Special tools needed? (Something to make a specific job easier?)
Please name the retailer you purchased the item from.

I also have a Regner MIDI boiler engine combination on the way for the kit as well.
I have seen a few folks from Portland area on the threads and would like to mention that I was at the Portland Model Power Boat Association float on the 16th and really enjoyed it. Every one was very friendly.

Thanks
waruaki is offline Find More Posts by waruaki
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 20, 2010, 10:59 PM
United States, CA, Santa Clarita
Joined Dec 2005
1,228 Posts
So far as the kit is conserned I would wait to see what the directions recommend and then ask specific questions if needed.

You should be happy with your Regner engine, I have a few of the Regner live steam locomotives and they run great and are among my favorites.

Steve
steveciambrone is offline Find More Posts by steveciambrone
Old Oct 20, 2010, 11:37 PM
Brett
Joined Oct 2010
3 Posts

Steve,
I've actually reviewed the instructions online and unfortunately the products they mention (glues and finishes) are German. I was just looking to hear what works well that I can buy off the shelf.

Good news about Regner, thanks.
Old Oct 20, 2010, 11:59 PM
Grumpa Tom
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Sep 2003
23,623 Posts
Uhu? If that is what they recommend, I have seen the full line of Uhu products at my local Michael's Craft Store.
Kmot is online now Find More Posts by Kmot
Old Oct 21, 2010, 01:00 AM
Brett