HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 18, 2010, 02:43 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2009
92 Posts
Question
can you use this lipo in a 450

I bought a 11.1v 5000mah 30c win force lipo battery from ebay. It was alot bigger than i thought so i weighed it and it was 400g ! I was wondering if the trex 450 would lift it I dont want to solder connectors to it and find out it wont lift it and be left with a useless battery, I would prefer to sale it if it wont work and buy the right one. thanks in advance
roganjosh1 is offline Find More Posts by roganjosh1
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 18, 2010, 03:03 PM
Resident Skeptican
Barak1001's Avatar
USA, AL, Hanceville
Joined May 2008
4,323 Posts
I'd sell it, you're never going to be able to get the center of gravity right for the chopper with 200 grams of extra weight on the front of it.
Barak1001 is offline Find More Posts by Barak1001
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2010, 11:40 AM
Registered User
vicovaludemero's Avatar
USA, NY, Cedarhurst
Joined Mar 2010
1,008 Posts
Thats way too big...
vicovaludemero is offline Find More Posts by vicovaludemero
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2010, 07:32 PM
Registered User
United States, NJ, Chatham
Joined Mar 2010
302 Posts
It would be interesting to see. You can probably get it flying with somw added weight to the tail boom.
ck986 is online now Find More Posts by ck986
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2010, 07:45 PM
Resident Skeptican
Barak1001's Avatar
USA, AL, Hanceville
Joined May 2008
4,323 Posts
But if he adds 200 grams of weight to the tail boom it defeats the purpose of flying with a larger battery. He'll wind up not gaining much if any flight time because of the added weight.
Barak1001 is offline Find More Posts by Barak1001
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2010, 09:35 PM
Registered User
United States, NJ, Chatham
Joined Mar 2010
302 Posts
That's true my 450 pro is about 200 few heavier than my v2 and its flight time is about 2 min shorter.
ck986 is online now Find More Posts by ck986
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2010, 09:58 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2006
1,237 Posts
it might be packs for the Trex 550
soneebee is offline Find More Posts by soneebee
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2010, 12:06 AM
Registered User
chronic's Avatar
Alberta, canada
Joined Apr 2009
640 Posts
Lol yeah dude, you can't use that. If you strapped it under the body I'm sure you could maybe hover it. But that adds like 20% more weight. Your motor would be angry.
chronic is offline Find More Posts by chronic
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2010, 01:04 PM
RC4Life not just 4 xmas
p4ddy's Avatar
southampton uk
Joined Jun 2006
4,989 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by soneebee View Post
it might be packs for the Trex 550


2 x 3s in series. Not sure if they'd fit on the Trex 550 but that combo would deffo fit in a Logo 500.


I think the Lepton can fly on 3s so it would probably work on that.
p4ddy is offline Find More Posts by p4ddy
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Heed some Help... Can you identify this model? Foamenator Scale Kit/Scratch Built 2 Oct 17, 2010 04:16 PM
Question what is a good 3d foamy that I can use an AXI 2208/34 in? Irg 3D Foamies 2 Oct 14, 2010 09:50 AM
Question Can you use a sensored motor with a sensorless ESC? Mr. Wiz Power Systems 9 Sep 11, 2010 10:39 AM
Discussion Can you use one speed controller with four brushless engines? Coasterfan86 Power Systems 12 Sep 11, 2010 08:59 AM
Discussion to use a s3 1300 mah lipo in series with 2 motors can type Rhondas Power Systems 13 Sep 06, 2010 06:42 AM