SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 15, 2010, 02:04 AM
USA, NM, Hatch
Joined Sep 2010
45 Posts
Discussion
Flyzone J3 cub, new power system, am I doing this right?

From this thread..

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1310151

And then I read some more. I bought the wrong second plane. I haven't even flown it yet, it looks so pretty.

The plane
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXVVX2&P=0

Soooo... Today I went about buying some components that I think will make this heavy slow pig better. To make it worse I live at over 4000ft of elevation, which I know can't help.

I hope this isn't in the wrong forum. I'm a beginner, probably a bit less than a beginner.

I read the power system sticky up top. Reading the battery setup thread closely.

Here is what I did, I think I did it right, I think, though this is new, so I may have messed it all up. BTW, I tried to keep it CHEAP!!

Motor.
Quote:
GWS Brushless Outrunner Motor. High Quality CNC Machined. Great for Craft 20oz or Less. For use with a 4"-8" prop and 2-3 cell Lipo. Our prop of choice is Either a 7x3.5 2 Blade or even better the 6x3 3 Blade both with a 3 cell Lipo. The 2 Blade will run about 20oz thrust on 12 amps and the 3 blade will put out more thrust ~22oz on only 10amps. A 4.5" prop will run 20,000 rpms on 3 Cells. A 8" prop is only recommended for 2 cell lipo. Motor Comes with a back plate mount optional prop saver mount and all mounting hardware.
New speed control. Same place. Same brand, 15 amp.
Quote:
15 amp Weight .6oz 17g 2amp BEC
What the heck does BEC mean? Its a breakout to run the receiver on the same battery????

Prop, GWS again. 6X3X3.

Battery. E-bay. I bought 2 of 'em. It was all I could find that would fit, and dropping the mAh seemed logical going from brushed to brushless.

Quote:
# 3 cell Li-Polymer 900mAh battery pack.
# 10C continuous discharge rate of 9 amps with 12 amp bursts in accordance with our "Real Flight Rating" method.